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	 Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this return, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

	1	 Gross receipts from charges for hotel occupancies........................................................................... 	 1		  00
	2	 Receipts from occupancies furnished for periods of 30 continuous
		  days or longer to the same occupant ......................................................... 	 2	 00
	3	 Receipts from exempt organizations........................................................... 	 3	 00
	4	 Receipts from exempt governmental agencies........................................... 	 4	 00
	5	 Total allowable deductions (total of lines 2 through 4)......................................................................... 	 5			  00
	6	 Net taxable receipts (line 1 minus line 5)............................................................................................ 	 6			  00
	7	 Nebraska 1% and county                 % lodging tax (line 6 multiplied by                                          )........ 	 7
	8	 Collection fee (line 7 multiplied by .025; if the result is $75 or more, enter $75)................................. 	 8
	 9	 Total Nebraska and county lodging tax due (line 7 minus line 8)....................................................... 	 9
	10	 Previous balance with applicable interest at
		       % per year and payment received through		  10

		  Check this box if payment is being made electronically.				  
	11	 Balance Due (total of lines 9 and 10). Pay in full with return............................................................. 	 11

 Authorized Signature	 Phone Number	  Signature of Tax Preparer Other Than Permitholder	 Phone Number

Title	 Date	 Address	 Date

Email Address

This return is due on or before the 25th day of the month following the tax period indicated above.
Mail this return and payment to: Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509-4818.

Nebraska and County Lodging Tax Return

Check this box if you have discontinued your business.

revenue.nebraska.gov, 800-742-7474 (NE and IA), 402-471-5729

Hotel means any commercial, nonprofit, or state-owned facility in which the public may, for consideration, obtain sleeping 
accommodations. It includes any hotel, motel, bed and breakfast, campground, court, lodging house, or inn. Hotel does 
not include any hospital, nursing home, dormitory, or facility regularly used to house students operated by an educational 
institution established under Chapter 79 or 85 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes. Regulations, information guides, and 
additional information are available at revenue.nebraska.gov.
Who Must File. Every person operating a hotel in Nebraska must obtain a Nebraska Lodging Tax Permit and file a 
Nebraska and County Lodging Tax Return, Form 64, for each tax period. For additional information see the Nebraska and 
Local Taxes on Lodging Information Guide.
How to Get Licensed. A Nebraska Lodging Tax Permit is obtained by filing a Nebraska Tax Application, Form 20, with 
the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department). A lodging tax permit is required for each place of business in the state. 
After issuing your permit, the Department will mail preidentified returns to you for each tax period. The location name 
should be the actual (dba) name and location of the hotel, and not just the hotel ownership name.

Instructions

5-139-1980 Rev. 5-2015 Supersedes 5-139-1980 Rev. 4-2014

http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/browse-chapters.php?chapter=79
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/browse-chapters.php?chapter=85
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/info/5-141.pdf
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/info/5-141.pdf
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_20.pdf
http://revenue.nebraska.gov/


When and Where to File. This return and payment are due the 25th of the month following the tax period covered by the 
return. The return must be received by the Department or postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service on or before the due date 
to be considered timely filed. A return is required even if there is no tax due. Mail this return to the Nebraska Department of 
Revenue, PO Box 94818, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509‑4818. Retain a copy of this return for your records.
Electronic payments may be made using any of the following options:
	 •	 Nebraska e-pay – State withdraws funds from your bank account based on the information you provide;
	 • 	 ACH Credit – You work with your bank to deposit funds into the State’s bank account; 
	 •	 Nebraska Tele-pay (Phone 800-232-0057); and 
	 • 	 Credit card payments.
For more information on electronic payment options, go to the Department’s website at revenue.nebraska.gov and click on 
the “Make a Payment” button under “For Businesses.” Businesses may attach a check or money order for the amount on 
line 11, made payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.
Preidentified Return. This return should be used only by the permitholder whose name is printed on it. If the business 
name, location, or mailing address is not correct, mark through the incorrect information and plainly print the correct 
information. If you are licensed and have not received a return for the tax period, visit our website to print a Form 64. 
County Where Hotel is Located. Verify that the county name printed on this return is the county where the hotel is 
actually located. This is very important because the tax rate is based on the county in which the hotel is located. If an incorrect 
county is listed, write the correct county name on the return. 
Penalty and Interest. If the return is not filed by the due date, a penalty will be assessed in the amount of $25 or 10% of 
the tax due, whichever is greater. Interest on the unpaid tax will be assessed at the rate printed on line 10 for the time period 
from the due date until payment is received.

Specific Instructions
Line 1. Enter the gross receipts from charges for hotel occupancies. Gross receipts include any city‑imposed occupation 
tax on the hotel operator that are passed on to the occupant. Gross receipts also include any amounts charged for additional 
people, beds, or bedding.
Lines 2, 3, and 4. Enter amounts for each type of exemption. Note: Most nonprofit organizations are not exempt from 
paying sales, use, and/or lodging taxes. See Regulations: 1-072, United States Government and Federal Corporations; 
1-090, Nonprofit Organizations; 1-091, Religious Organizations; 1-092, Educational Institutions; and 1-093, Governmental 
Units for a specific list of exempt entities. Employees of exempt entities must pay the sales and lodging taxes when they 
personally pay for accommodations, even if they are reimbursed by the entity. Nonprofit organizations, churches, schools, 
and governments from other states or countries are not exempt from paying tax unless they have a specific exemption or have 
been issued a Nebraska Certificate of Exemption. 
Credit or Debit Card Payments (Charge Card). Any purchases made with a charge card are taxable unless the charge 
card is one of the cards specifically identified below. Purchases made by governmental or exempt entities using any of the 
cards identified below are considered a "direct payment" from the exempt entity. Purchases made with any other cards are 
not considered to be paid directly by the exempt entity. Tax must be collected if the exempt entity makes payment via any 
other charge card, even if a Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate for Sales Tax Exemption, Form 13 is provided. 

Federal Purchases. Purchases by the U.S. Government or its agencies must be supported with either a federal 
certificate of exemption or payment with a U.S. Treasury warrant. For purchases made with federal government 
issued charge cards, see the Nebraska Sales Tax Guide for Charge Card Purchases by United States (Federal) 
Government Employees. 
State of Nebraska Purchases. Purchases by the State of Nebraska must be supported with a Form 13, and paid by 
an electronic direct payment or with a warrant from the State of Nebraska. For purchases made with a state government 
charge card, see the Nebraska Sales Tax Guide for Charge Card Purchases by the Nebraska State Government and 
Its Employees. 
Exempt Organization, Educational Institution, or Local Nebraska Governmental Unit (Exempt Entity). 
An exempt entity may make exempt purchases when supported by a Form 13 and payment is made directly by the 
exempt entity. To exempt a purchase using the exempt entity’s credit or debit card, a copy of a properly completed 
Form 13 and a copy of the Exemption Permit for Use of Credit or Debit Cards that matches the credit or debit card used 
must be provided to the hotel. The exempt entity must submit to the Department an Exemption Permit Application for 
Use of Credit or Debit Cards by Sales Tax Exempt Entities, Form 13CCE, to obtain an Exemption Permit for Use of 
Credit or Debit Cards. 

Line 7. Compute the Nebraska and county lodging tax by multiplying line 6 by the rate entered on line 7. The rate entered 
on line 7 includes the 1% Nebraska lodging tax rate plus any county lodging tax rate in effect at the hotel’s location. 
Line 10. A balance due or credit resulting from a partial payment, mathematical or clerical error, penalty, or interest relating 
to prior returns will be entered in this space by the Department. If the amount entered has already been paid, it should be 
disregarded when computing the amount to remit on line 11. If the amount due is paid before the due date, interest will be 
recomputed and credited on your next return. If a credit is shown, it may be applied to current tax liability. If the credit cannot 
be used in a reasonable amount of time, a written request for a refund should be sent to the Department.
Signatures. This return must be signed by the taxpayer, a partner, member, or corporate officer. If the taxpayer authorizes 
another person to sign this return, there must be a power of attorney on file with the Department.
Any person who is paid for preparing a taxpayer’s return must also sign the return as the tax preparer.

http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#072
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#090
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#091
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#092
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#093
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/info/6-494.pdf
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_33.pdf
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/legal/regs/slstaxregs.html#093
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/info/6-502.pdf
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_13cce.pdf
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_13.pdf
http://www.revenue.ne.gov/tax/current/fill-in/f_13cce.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/info/6-494.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/info/6-502.pdf
http://revenue.nebraska.gov/info/occupation_tax.html
http://revenue.nebraska.gov/info/occupation_tax.html
http://revenue.nebraska.gov/
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