
NAME AND LOCATION ADDRESS NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS

sign
here

THIS RETURN IS DUE ON OR BEFORE THE 25TH DAY OF THE MONTH FOLLOWING THE TAX PERIOD INDICATED ABOVE

Tax PeriodTax Cat.

FORM

10

	 Under penalties of law, I declare that as taxpayer or preparer I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and 
statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

Please Do Not Write In This Space

		
		
	Authorized Signature	 Daytime Phone	 Signature of Preparer Other Than Taxpayer	 Daytime Phone

	Title	 Date	 Address	 Date

 		   E-Mail Address

(       )(       )

Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return
•  If applicable, complete Schedule I on reverse side

Check this box if your payment is being made by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).

Mail this return and payment to: NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, P.O. BOX 98923, LINCOLN, NE 68509-8923

	 1	Gross sales and services (as reported on Nebraska Schedule III).................................................... 	 1	 $	 00

	 2	Net taxable sales (as reported on Nebraska Schedule III)................................................................. 	 2	 	 00

	 3	Nebraska sales tax (line 2 multiplied by              )................................................................... 	 3

	 4	Nebraska consumer’s use tax (as reported on Nebraska Schedule III)........	 4

	 5	Local consumer’s use tax from line 1, Nebraska Schedule I (on back).........	 5

	 6	Local sales tax from line 2, Nebraska Schedule I (on back)............................................................... 	 6

	 7	Total Nebraska and local sales tax (line 3 plus line 6)......................................................................... 	 7

	 8	Sales tax collection fee (line 7 multiplied by .025; if the result is $75.00 or more, enter $75.00)........ 	 8

	 9	Sales tax due (line 7 minus line 8)...................................................................................................... 	 9

	10	Total Nebraska and local consumer’s use tax (line 4 plus line 5)........................................................ 	10
	
11	Total Nebraska and local sales and use tax due (line 9 plus line 10).................................................. 	11
	12	Previous balance with applicable interest at
		                 % per year and payments received through	 	12

	13	BALANCE DUE (line 11 plus or minus line 12). Pay in full with return................................................ 	13 $

  Complete Nebraska Schedule I (on back) prior to completing lines 5 & 6

INTERNET FILERS — DO NOT SEND IN A PAPER RETURN. VISIT:  www.revenue.ne.gov

• Name, address, or ownership changes? See instructions.

For tax assistance, contact your regional office or call 1-800-742-7474 (toll free in NE & IA) or 1-402-471-5729.

Check the box if your business has permanently closed, has been sold to someone else, or your permit is no longer needed.
New owners must apply for their own sales tax permit.

 Nebr. I.D. Number Rpt. Code

Due Date:

•  Complete and return Schedule III

Jo.Voelker
Text Box
Use this form for tax period 10/01/2009-12/31/2009 only.



	Ainsworth	 52-003	 .015

	Albion	 81-004	 .015

	Alliance	 27-008	 .015

	Alma	 82-009	 .01

	Arapahoe	 157-016	 .01

	Arnold	 152-019	 .01

	Ashland	 50-021	 .01

	Atkinson	 88-023	 .01

	Auburn	 57-025	 .01

	Aurora	 170-026	 .01

	Bassett	 99-035	 .01

	Bayard	 44-037	 .01

	Beatrice	 17-039	 .015

	Beaver City	 141-040	 .01

	Bellevue	 3-046	 .015

	Benkelman	 176-050	 .015

	Bennett	 147-051	 .01

	Bennington	 42-052	 .01

	Bertrand	 118-053	 .01	

	Big Springs	 100-055	 .01

	Blair	 53-057	 .015

	Bloomfield	 83-058	 .01

	Blue Hill	 71-060	 .01

	Bridgeport	 32-068	 .01

	Broken Bow	 66-072	 .015

	Burwell	 132-081	 .01

	Cambridge	 145-087	 .01

	Cedar Rapids	 114-092	 .01

	Central City	 78-094	 .01

	Ceresco	 25-095	 .015

	Chadron	 13-096	 .015

	Chambers	 177-097	 .01

	Chappell	 12-099	 .01

	Chester	 178-100	 .01

	Clarks	 158-101	 .01

	Columbus	 60-110	 .015

	Cortland	 119-116	 .01

	Cozad	 26-119	 .015

	Crawford	 20-122	 .015

	Creighton	 61-123	 .01

	Crete	 18-125	 .01

	Crofton	 179-126	 .01

	Curtis	 51-129	 .005

	Dannebrog	 153-134	 .01

	David City	 101-138	 .01

	Daykin	 180-140	 .01

	DeWeese	 173-144	 .01

	Diller	 67-147	 .01

	Dodge	 148-150	 .01

	Doniphan	 181-151	 .01

	 •  Attach to Form 10
	 •  County Sales Tax is on Page 2
	 •  Nebraska Schedule I-MVL is on Page 2 

	 	 	 	 COLUMN  A	 COLUMN  B
	  City	 Code	 Rate	 Use Tax	 Sales Tax

NEBRASKA SCHEDULE I — Local Sales and Use Tax

	City of Douglas	 43-153	 .015

	Duncan	 135-156	 .01

	Eagle	 23-159	 .01

	Edgar	 102-161	 .01

	Elgin	 142-164	 .01

	Elm Creek	 159-167	 .01

	Elmwood	 105-168	 .005

	Eustis	 106-176	 .01

	Exeter	 171-178	 .015

	Fairbury	 36-179	 .015

	Falls City	 79-182	 .015

	Farnam	 143-183	 .01

	Fremont	 62-191	 .015

	Friend	 124-192	 .01

	Fullerton	 30-193	 .01

	Geneva	 136-198	 .015

	Genoa	 120-199	 .01

	Gering	 37-200	 .015

	Gibbon	 72-201	 .01

	Gordon	 8-206	 .01

	Gothenburg	 21-207	 .015

	Grand Island	 34-210	 .015

	Greenwood	 160-213	 .01

	Gresham	 125-214	 .005

	Gretna	 161-215	 .015

	Guide Rock	 126-217	 .01

	Harrison	 49-227	 .01

	Hartington	 167-228	 .01

	Harvard	 162-229	 .01

	Hastings	 33-230	 .01

	Hay Springs	 68-231	 .01

	Hebron	 127-235	 .01

	Hemingford	 48-236	 .015

	Henderson	 112-237	 .015

	Hildreth	 89-243	 .01

	Holdrege	 54-245	 .015

	Hooper	 144-248	 .01

	
Humphrey

	
146-255

	 .01

	
Hubbell

	
45-253

	 .01

	Hyannis	 154-257	 .01

	 Imperial	 163-258	 .01

	Jackson	 164-263	 .015

	Jansen	 111-264	 .01

	Kearney	 38-269	 .015

	Kimball	 9-273	 .015

	LaVista	 14-274	 .015

	Lewellen	 5-281	 .01

	Lexington	 29-283	 .015

	Lincoln	 2-285	 .015

	Loomis	 149-291	 .01

FORM

6-383-2000 Rev. 10-2009 Supersedes 6-383-2000 Rev. 4-2009

    Name as Shown on Form 10	 Nebraska I.D. Number	 Tax Period

	 	 	 	 COLUMN  A	 COLUMN  B
	  City	 Code	 Rate	 Use Tax	 Sales Tax

Page 1
10

  MUST age 2	ON	Reverse Side

	 A	 Total the amounts in Column A, Page 1 (enter here and on line D, Column A, Page 2)....................................... 	 A

	 B	 Total the amounts in Column B, Page 1 (enter here and on line D, Column B, Page 2)........................................................................	 B			 



	Louisville	 107-293	 .015

	Loup City	 90-294	 .015

	Lyons	 108-298	 .015

	Madison	 113-299	 .015

	Malcolm	 150-302	 .01

	McCook	 103-312	 .015

	McCool Junction	 133-313	 .015

	Milford	 63-322	 .01

	Minden	 55-327	 .01	

	Mitchell	 69-328	 .015

	Monroe	 182-330	 .015

	Morrill	 137-332	 .01

	Mullen	 183-334	 .01

	Nebraska City	 16-339	 .015

	Neligh	 91-341	 .01

	Nelson	 80-342	 .01

	Newman Grove	 98-346	 .015

	Niobrara	 73-349	 .01

	Norfolk	 15-351	 .015

	North Bend	 92-353	 .015

	North Platte	 4-355	 .015

	Oakland	 35-358	 .01

	Oconto	 172-360	 .01

	Odell	 59-362	 .01

	Ogallala	 6-363	 .015

	Omaha	 1-365	 .015

	O’Neill	 39-366	 .01

	Ord	 115-369	 .015

	Osceola	 131-371	 .01

	Oshkosh	 10-372	 .015

	Osmond	 117-373	 .01

	Oxford	 84-376	 .01

	Palmyra	 138-380	 .01

	Papillion	 28-382	 .015

	Pawnee City	 168-383	 .015

	Paxton	 128-384	 .01

	Pender	 174-385	 .01

	Peru	 93-386	 .01

	Petersburg	 130-387	 .01

	Pierce	 139-390	 .01

	Plainview	 46-392	 .015

	Plattsmouth	 121-394	 .01

	Plymouth	 47-397	 .01

	Ralston	 151-407	 .015

	Ravenna	 85-409	 .01

•  Attach to Form 10

	 	 	 	 COLUMN  A	 COLUMN  B
	  City	 Code	 Rate	 Use Tax	 Sales Tax

NEBRASKA SCHEDULE I — Local Sales and Use Tax
FORM

    Name as Shown on Form 10	 Nebraska I.D. Number	 Tax Period

10
Page 2

	 C	 Total the amounts of Column A and Column B, Page 2........................................................................................ 	 C

	 D	 Enter the total amounts of Column A and Column B from Page 1........................................................................ 	 D

	 1	 Total local use tax to report (Column A, line C plus line D), enter here and on line 5, Form 10........................... 	 1

	 2	 Total local sales tax to report (Column B, line C plus line D), enter here and on line 6, Form 10	 ....................................................	 2

	Red Cloud	 74-411	 .015

	Republican City	 64-412	 .01

	Rushville	 11-425	 .01

	St. Edward	 175-452	 .01

	St. Paul	 104-454	 .01

	Sargent	 155-428	 .01

	Schuyler	 75-430	 .015

	Scottsbluff	 22-432	 .015

	Seward	 129-435	 .01

	Shelton	 165-437	 .01

	Sidney	 7-441	 .015

	Silver Creek	 116-442	 .01

	South Sioux City	 40-446	 .015

	Spencer	 109-448	 .01

	Springview	 166-451	 .01

	Stuart	 110-468	 .01

	Superior	 65-470	 .01

	Sutton	 94-473	 .015

	Syracuse	 122-475	 .01

	Tecumseh	 86-481	 .015

	Tekamah	 87-482	 .015	

	Terrytown	 24-483	 .01

	Tilden	 56-487	 .015

	Uehling	 70-491	 .01

	Valentine	 156-497	 .015

	Valley	 41-498	 .015

	Verdigre	 76-502	 .01

	Wahoo	 95-506	 .015

	Wakefield	 169-507	 .01

	Waterloo	 19-512	 .015

	Wausa	 123-514	 .01

	Wayne	 58-516	 .01

	Weeping Water	 140-517	 .01

	West Point	 184-519	 .01

	Wilber	 96-523	 .01

	Wymore	 77-534	 .015

	York	 97-536	 .015

	

	 	 	 	 COLUMN  A	 COLUMN  B
	  COUNTY	 Code	 Rate	 Use Tax	 Sales Tax

Dakota County	 134-922	 .005

	 	 	 	 COLUMN  A	 COLUMN  B
	  City	 Code	 Rate	 Use Tax	 Sales Tax

NEBRASKA SCHEDULE I - MVL  —  Motor Vehicle Leases for Periods of More Than 31 Days
•  Only to be completed by those who are leasing motor vehicles to others for periods of more than 31 days

	 1	Enter the amount of state tax included on Form 10, line 3, that was reported on long-term 
		  leases (more than 31 days) of motor vehicles (see instructions).....................(Code 600-600).	 1	 $



COMPUTATION OF NET TAXABLE SALES

INSTRUCTIONS FOR NEBRASKA SCHEDULE III
• Information Guides are available on our Web site for the following items.

	 1	 Gross sales and services (enter on line 1 of Form 10)............................................................................................................... 	 1

	 2	 Nontaxable services....................................................................................................................	 2

	 3	 Sales to licensed purchasers for resale......................................................................................	 3

	 4	 Deliveries or shipments to purchasers outside Nebraska...........................................................	 4

	 5	 Sales to qualified exempt organizations......................................................................................	 5

	 6	 Sales to qualified exempt common or contract carriers...............................................................	 6

	 7	 Sales to qualified governmental agencies...................................................................................	 7

	 8	 Sales of qualified prescription items sold for human use............................................................	 8

	 9	 Sales of exempt agricultural feed, seed, chemicals, and fertilizer...............................................	 9

	10	 Sales of motor vehicles, motorboats, and trailers........................................................................	 10

	11	 Sales of exempt food or food ingredients....................................................................................	 11

	 12	 Sales of exempt agricultural machinery & equipment................................................................................. 	 12

	13	 Other allowable deductions (explain)..........................................................................................	 13

	14	 Total allowable deductions (total of lines 2 through 13)............................................................................................................... 	 14

	15	 Net taxable sales (line 1 minus line 14).  Round to nearest dollar and enter on line 2 of Form 10............................................. 	 15

	16	 Cost of items and applicable services purchased for use on which Nebraska sales and use tax has not been paid................. 	 16

	17	 Cost of items withdrawn from inventory for personal or business use........................................................................................ 	 17

	18	 Total amount subject to Nebraska consumer’s use tax (line 16 plus line 17).............................................................................. 	 18

	19	 Nebraska consumer’s use tax (line 18 multiplied by the rate identified on line 3 of Form 10)..................................................... 	 19

	20	 Credit for tax paid to other states on items in line 18 (see instructions)...................................................................................... 	 20

	21	 Nebraska consumer’s use tax due (line 19 minus line 20).  Enter on line 4 of Form 10.............................................................. 	 21

LINE 9. Enter the gross receipts from sales of agricultural feed, feed 
supplements, seed, chemicals, fertilizer, and compatibility agents 
which are not subject to Nebraska sales tax.
LINE 10. Enter the gross receipts from sales of motor vehicles, 
motorboats, and trailers. Submit the green copies of Nebraska Sales/
Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales, 
Form 6, and Nebraska Sales and Use Tax Statement for Motorboat 
Sales, Form 6MB, with this return.
LINE 11. Enter the gross receipts from sales of exempt food or food 
ingredients.
LINE 12. Enter the gross receipts from all sales of qualified 
agricultural machinery or equipment. You must have a properly 
completed exempt sale certificate from each purchaser.
LINE 13. Enter the amount of other allowable deductions. An 
explanation for each deduction claimed must be written in the space 
provided or on an attached schedule if additional space is required.

COMPUTATION OF
NEBRASKA CONSUMER’S USE TAX

LINE 16. Enter the cost of all items and applicable services purchased 
without payment of Nebraska sales or use tax and consumed or used 
by you or your company.
LINE 17. Enter the cost of inventory items purchased without 
payment of Nebraska sales or use tax which were subsequently 
withdrawn from inventory and consumed or used.
LINE 20. If you have paid tax in another state on an item included 
on line 18, you may take a credit for such tax. The maximum 
credit allowed will be the amount of Nebraska and applicable local 
consumer’s use tax that would apply to each item on which a sales 
or use tax has been paid to another state. The invoices or tax returns 
showing the payment of sales or use tax to another state must be 
retained with your records.

COMPUTATION OF NET TAXABLE SALES

LINE 1. Enter the total dollar amount of ALL sales, leases, rentals, and 
services made by your business. Record both taxable and exempt total 
gross receipts rounded to the nearest dollar. Out-of-state retailers enter 
only Nebraska gross receipts. Do not include the amount of sales tax 
collected.
LINE 2. Enter the gross receipts received during the taxable period 
from services which were not subject to Nebraska sales tax.
LINE 3. Enter the gross receipts received from sales to licensed 
purchasers for resale. You must have a properly completed resale 
certificate from each purchaser for which a deduction is claimed.
LINE 4. Enter the gross receipts from deliveries or shipments to 
purchasers outside Nebraska. Out-of-state retailers do not use this 
line.
LINE 5. Enter the gross receipts from sales to organizations exempt 
from Nebraska sales and use tax. You must have a properly completed 
exempt sale certificate from each qualified organization for which a 
deduction is claimed.
LINE 6. Enter the gross receipts from sales to Nebraska licensed 
common or contract carriers for which you have a properly completed 
and valid exempt sale certificate.
LINE 7. Enter the gross receipts from sales to the federal government 
or Nebraska governmental units for which you have a properly 
completed exempt sale certificate or proof of federal payment. 
Purchases by governmental units for use in the business of furnishing 
gas, water, electricity, or heat, are not exempt.
LINE 8. Enter the gross receipts from the sale of insulin and 
prescription drugs, oxygen, prosthetic devices, durable medical 
equipment, mobility enhancing equipment, and home medical 
supplies for human use.

NEBRASKA SCHEDULE III — Computation of Net Taxable Sales and  
                      Nebraska Consumer’s Use Tax FORM

10
Name as Shown on Form 10 Nebraska I.D. Number Tax Period

6-476-2008

	 •  Complete Schedule III first
	 •  Print your name, I.D. number, and tax period on this schedule

	 •  Return this schedule with Form 10

COMPUTATION OF NEBRASKA CONSUMER’S USE TAX



INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM 10

taxes, a word, statement, number (including zero), or figure must be 
entered on the appropriate lines. Failure to do so will extend the statute 
of limitations for audit and collection purposes to five years.
Complete Nebraska Schedule III to assist in completing Form 10, 
lines 1 through 4.
LINE 1. Enter the total dollar amount of ALL sales, leases, rentals, 
and services made by your business. Record both taxable and exempt 
gross revenue rounded to the nearest dollar. Out-of-state retailers enter 
only Nebraska gross revenue. DO NOT include the amount of sales tax 
collected.
LINE 2. Enter the net taxable sales from Form 10, Nebraska Schedule III 
rounded to the nearest whole dollar. Refer to the Nebraska Schedule III 
instructions for allowable deductions.
LINES 4 and 5, CONSUMER’S USE TAX LIABILITY. The 
consumer’s use tax is a tax on items and applicable services purchased 
in Nebraska when there has been no payment of the sales tax. The 
consumer’s use tax also applies to items purchased outside Nebraska 
and brought into Nebraska for use, storage, or consumption on which 
a sales or use tax has not been paid to Nebraska or any other state. The 
consumer’s use tax is imposed upon the following transactions:
1.	 Items purchased for resale which are withdrawn from inventory and 

used for personal or business use.
2.	 Property and applicable services purchased from a vendor who was 

not required or failed to collect the sales tax.
LINE 8. A collection fee is allowed as a reimbursement for collecting 
the Nebraska and local sales tax.
LINE 12. A balance due resulting from a partial payment, mathematical 
or clerical errors, penalty, or interest relating to prior returns will be 
entered on this line. The amount of interest includes interest on unpaid 
tax through the due date of this return. If the amount due is paid before 
the due date, the interest will be recomputed and a credit will be given on 
your next return. If the amount entered has been satisfied by a previous 
remittance, it should be disregarded when computing the amount to remit 
on line 13. A credit will be indicated by the word “subtract” and can be 
subtracted from the amount due on line 11.
LINE 13. If not required to remit payment via EFT, attach a check or 
money order payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue for the 
amount reported on line 13.
SIGNATURES. This return must be signed by the taxpayer, partner, 
corporate officer, or member of a LLC. If the taxpayer authorizes another 
person to sign this return, there must be a power of attorney on file with the 
Nebraska Department of Revenue. Any person who is paid for preparing 
a taxpayer’s return must also sign the return as preparer.

NEBRASKA SCHEDULE I
LINE 1, LOCAL USE TAX. Total the amounts reported in Column A 
and enter on line 1, Nebraska Schedule I and on line 5, Form 10.
LINE 2, LOCAL SALES TAX. Total the amounts reported in Column B 
and enter on line 2, Nebraska Schedule I and on line 6, Form 10.
If you collected a local sales tax or need to remit a local use tax for 
a local taxing jurisdiction that is not listed on Nebraska Schedule I, 
write the name of the local taxing jurisdiction, the amount of use 
tax, and the amount of sales tax in the space provided at the bottom 
of Nebraska Schedule I. Any jurisdiction that you write in will 
be preidentified on your next return. You can find listings of the 
local taxing jurisdictions and the sales tax rates on our Web site at  
www.revenue.ne.gov.

NEBRASKA SCHEDULE I - MVL

Enter the portion of state sales tax (reported on Form 10, line 3) that is 
from the lease of motor vehicles to others for periods of more than 31 
days. Motor vehicles include automobiles, trucks, trailers, semitrailers, 
and truck tractors which are not classified as transportation equipment. 
See our Leased Motor Vehicles Information Guide.

HOW TO GET LICENSED. You must complete a Nebraska Tax 
Application, Form 20, to apply for a sales and use tax permit. After the 
application has been processed, you will receive your sales and use tax 
Nebraska identification number. Returns will be mailed to you by this 
department based on the filing frequency you are assigned. 
WHO MUST FILE. Every person making taxable sales in Nebraska 
is required to hold a Nebraska sales and use tax permit and must file a 
Nebraska and Local Sales and Use Tax Return, Form 10, on or before 
the due date. Out-of-state retailers shall report only Nebraska sales on 
this return.
WHEN AND WHERE TO FILE. This return, properly signed and 
accompanied by a check or money order payable to the Nebraska 
Department of Revenue, or EFT payment, will be considered timely 
filed if U.S. postmarked on or before the twenty-fifth day of the month 
following the tax period covered by the return. A return is required even 
if there have been no taxable sales. Mail to the Nebraska Department of 
Revenue, P.O. Box 98923, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8923. Make a copy 
of this return and all schedules for your records.
ELECTRONIC FILING QUESTIONS. If you have questions about 
EFT, Telefile, Internet filing or payment options, visit our Web site at 
www.revenue.ne.gov or call 1-800-433-8631.
PREIDENTIFIED RETURN. This return is to be used only by the 
retailer whose name is printed on it. If you have not received a return 
for the tax period, request a duplicate from the department. Do not file 
returns which are photocopies, are for another tax period, or have not 
been preidentified.
NAME, ADDRESS, OWNERSHIP CHANGES. If the business name 
has changed and is a name change only (i.e., the ownership or federal 
identification number has not changed), mark through the previous name 
and plainly print the new name and write “name change only.”  If you 
file electronically, via Internet, or Telefile, these changes should be made 
on a Nebraska Change Request, Form 22. A change in ownership or type 
of ownership (individual to a partnership, partnership to a corporation, 
etc.) will require you to cancel your permit by checking the box. The new 
owner(s) of the business should not file their return using the previous 
owner’s preidentified sales and use tax returns. The new owner(s) must 
complete a Nebraska Tax Application, Form 20, to obtain their own sales 
and use tax permit.
If there is a change or correction in the name or address, mark through 
the incorrect information and plainly print the correct information. If 
this is the result of a relocation of your business, indicate this by writing 
“relocated” on the return. Reminder: A sales tax permit is required for 
each location. If there is an additional location opened, you need to 
apply for another sales tax permit by filing a Nebraska Tax Application, 
Form 20.
CREDIT RETURNS. If line 11 is a credit amount, documentation 
must be sent with the return supporting the credit. This documentation 
must include a copy of the Form 10, Nebraska Schedule III, a letter of 
explanation, invoices, or credit memos issued to customers. If a credit is 
shown, it may be applied to current tax liability. If the credit cannot be 
used in a reasonable amount of time, a Claim for Overpayment of Sales 
and Use Tax, Form 7, may be filed. The statute of limitations for filing 
the Form 7 is three (3) years from the due date following the end of the 
period for which the credit was created.
PENALTY AND INTEREST. If the return is not filed by the due date, 
a penalty will be assessed in the amount of 10 percent of the tax due or 
$25, whichever is greater. Interest on the unpaid tax will be assessed at 
the rate printed on line 12 from the due date until payment is received.
VERIFICATION AND AUDIT. Records to substantiate this return must 
be retained and be available for a period of at least three years following 
the date of filing the return.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS
For more information, see “Information Guides” under “Sales 

and Use Tax” on our Web site.
Each return provides for reporting of both sales and use tax. Entries for 
each tax remain separate. If the retailer intends to file a return for both 
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