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| PART | — Figuring Your Underpayme

1 Nebraska income tax before credits (line 13, 1998 Form 1120N) (See inStruCtions) ... ... ... .. .e it i ettt 1
2 Credit for in lieu of intangible tax paid (line 14, Form 1120N) . .............. i, 2
3 CDAA credit (line 15, FOrm 1120N) . .. ..ot e e 3
4 Form 3800N credit (line 16, FOrm 1120N) ... ...ttt e e 4
5 Form 4136N credit (line 19, FOrm 1120N) . ... ..ottt e e 5
6 Total credits (total of lines 2 through 5) . . . . ... o 6
7 Subtract line 6 from line 1. If the result is less than $400, do not complete the rest of the form. You do not owe penalty. ....... 7
8 Enter 100% Of lIN@ 7 . . .. o 8
9 Enter 1997 income tax (SEe iNStrUCtiONS) . . . .. ..ttt 9
10 Enterthe lesser of [INe 8 Or INe O . . ... o ettt et ettt et e et e 10
. _ » ®) © (D)
11 Enter in columns A through D the installment
due dates (the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th,
and 12th months of your taxyear) ......... 11
12 Enter 25% of line 10 in columns A through D 12
« Complete lines 13 through 20 for one column before completing the next column
13 Amount paid or credited for each period . .. .. 13
14 Enter amount, if any, from line 20 of
previous column ................ ... 14
15 Addlines13and14 ..................... 15
16 Add amounts on lines 18 and 19 of the
previous column and enterresult . ......... 16
17 Line 15 minus line 16. If less than zero, enter
-0- (in col. A only, enter amount from line 13) 17
18 Remaining underpayment from previous
period. If the amount on line 17 Is zero,
subtract line 15 from line 16 and enter the
result; otherwise, enter-0- ............... 18
19 Underpayment. If line 17 is less than or equal
to line 12, subtract line 17 from line 12 and
enter the result. Then go to the next
column; otherwise, gotoline20 ........... 19
20 Overpayment. If line 12 is less than line 17,
subtract line 12 from line 17 and enter the
result. Then go to the nextcolumn ......... 20
PART Il — Figuring the Penalty
21 Amount of underpayment from line 19 ...... 21
22 Date of payment or the 15th day of the 3rd
month following the close of the taxable year,
whicheverisearlier ..................... 22
23 Number of days from due date of installment
to date shownonline22 ................. 23
24 Underpayment penalty (9% per year on the
amount on line 21 for the number of days
shownonline23) ...................... 24
25 Total of amounts on line 24. Enter this amount in the bottom margin of Form 1120N as “Underpayment Penalty” and
increase the amount of “Tax Due” or decrease the amount of the “Overpayment” accordingly .............. .. .. ... .. .... 25
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INSTRUCTIONS

WHO MUST FILE. Corporationsrequiredto makeestimated
tax payments must file a Corporation Underpayment of
Estimated Tax, Form 2220N, when any underpayment is
computed on line 19 of Form 2220N.

Corporations are required to make estimated tax payments
if they reasonably expect their Nebraska income tax to
exceedtheir allowablecreditsby $400 or more. Theallowable
credits are: credit for in lieu of intangible tax paid;
nonhighway use motor vehicle fuels credit (Form 4136N
credit); Community Development Assistance Act credit;
andtheNebraskaEmployment and I nvestment credits(Form
3800N credit).

If theamount on line 7 islessthan $400, do not complete
therest of theform. You do not owe penalty.

WHEN AND WHERE TO FILE. This form must be
attached to the Nebraska Corporation Income Tax Return,
Form 1120N, and filed with that return.

PART | — Figuring Your Underpayment
LINE 1. Enter the tax amount from line 13 of the 1998
Form 1120N on line 1 of this form.

LINE 9. Theentry onthislineallowscorporationsto usethe
tax reported on their prior year’ sreturn lessthe prior year’s
allowable credits to determine whether an underpayment
exists. Enter line 18 minus line 19 from 1997 Form 1120N.
(“Large Corporations,” except as noted, cannot use this
calculation.) The prior year’ s Nebraska return must cover a
period of 12 monthsand show atax liability. If thiscalculation
does not apply to you, enter your line 8 amount on line 10.

A largecor poration isprohibited fromusingitsprior year’s
tax liability except in determining thefirst installment of its
tax year. Any reduction in a large corporation’s first
installment as aresult of using the prior year’stax must be
recaptured in the corporation’ s second installment.

Large Corporations. A “large corporation” isonewhich
had, or itspredecessor had, federal taxableincomeof at | east
one million dollars for any of the three taxable years
immediately preceding the tax year involved. In applying
the “one million dollar test,” taxable income is computed

without regard to net operating loss carryovers or capital
loss carrybacks.

Large corporations compute line 12 amounts by using the
same procedures that result in the comparable entry on the
Federal Form 2220.

METHODS WHICH AVOID PENALTY. A corporation
may reduceor eliminatethe penalty by using theannualized
incomeor adjusted seasonal installment method. Touseone
or both of these methods to figure one or more required
installments, recal culate and attach the federal Schedule A,
“Required Installments Using the Annualized Income
I nstallment M ethod and/or the Adjusted Seasonal | nstallment
Method Under Section 6655(€)” using Nebraska income
and other Nebraska amounts.

On this form, enter on line 12 of each column, the
corresponding amount from the recal culated worksheet.

OVERPAYMENT. Any overpayment of an installment on
line 20 in excess of al prior underpayments should be
applied as a credit on line 14 against the next installment.

PART Il — Figuring the Penalty
If line 19 shows an underpayment, you must complete
Part 11, lines21 through 25, in order to determinethe penalty
amount for each underpayment of an installment. The
penalty is calculated at 9% per annum for all installments.

LINE 22. A payment of estimated tax is applied against
underpayments of required installments in the order that
installments are required to be paid, regardless of which
installment the payment pertains to.

Example: A corporation has an underpayment for the
April 15 installment of $1,000. The June 15 installment
requiresapayment of $2,000. On June 15, thecorporation
deposits $2,000 for its June 15 installment. However,
$1,000 of this payment is considered to be for the April
15 installment. The penalty for the April 15 installment
isfiguredto June 15 (61 days). Thepayment to beapplied
to the June 15 installment will then be $1,000.

If the corporation has made more than one payment for a
requiredinstallment, attach aseparate computation for each
payment.



