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Taxable Year
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| PART | — Figuring Your Underpayment

1 Nebraska income tax before credits (line 13, 1997 Form 1120N) (Se€ inStruCtionS) . .. ... ...ttt ittt .. 1
2 Credit for in lieu of intangible tax paid (line 14, Form 1120N) . ............. .. .vuiuon... 2
3 CDAA credit (line 15, FOrm 1120N) .. ..ottt e e 3
4 Form 3800N credit (line 16, FOrm 1120N) . ... ... .ttt 4
5 Form 4136N credit (line 19, Form 1120N) .. ... ...t 5
6 Total credits (total of [ines 2 through 5) . .. .. ..o e 6
7 Subtract line 6 from line 1. If the result is less than $400, do not complete the rest of the form. You do not owe penalty. 7
8 Enter 100% Of IN€ 7 . .. oo 8
9 Enter 1996 income tax (S€e INSrUCtIONS) . . . ...\ v 'ttt 9
10 Enter the lesser of liNe 8 Or INe O . . . . ..ottt ettt e e e e et e e 10
. . (A) (B) © (D)
11 Enter in columns A through D the installment
due dates (the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th,
and 12th months of your tax year) ......... 11
12 Enter 25% of line 10 in columns A through D |12
» Complete lines 13 through 20 for one column before completing the next column
13 Amount paid or credited for each period ....[13
14 Enter amount, if any, from line 20 of
previous column ........... .. ... ... 14
15 Add lines13and 14 .................... 15
16 Add amounts on lines 18 and 19 of the
previous column and enterresult .......... 16
17 Line 15 minus line 16. If less than zero, enter
-0- (in col. A only, enter amount from line 13) | 17
18 Remaining underpayment from previous
period. If the amount on line 17 is zero,
subtract line 15 from line 16 and enter the
result; otherwise, enter -0- ............... 18
19 Underpayment. If line 17 is less than or equal
to line 12, subtract line 17 from line 12 and
enter the result. Then go to the next
column; otherwise, gotoline20 ........... 19
20 Overpayment. If line 12 is less than line 17,
subtract line 12 from line 17 and enter the
result. Then go to the next column ......... 20
PART Il — Figuring the Penalty
21 Amount of underpayment from line 19 . ... .. 21
22 Date of payment or the 15th day of the 3rd
month following the close of the taxable year,
whicheverisearlier ..................... 22
23 Number of days from due date of installment
to date shownonline22 ................. 23
24 Underpayment penalty (9% per year on the
amount on line 21 for the number of days
shownonline23) ...................... 24
25 Total of amounts on line 24. Enter this amount in the bottom margin of Form 1120N as “Underpayment Penalty” and
increase the amount of “Tax Due” or decrease the amount of the “Overpayment” accordingly ......................... 25

A ATTACH THIS FORM TO FORM 1120N
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INSTRUCTIONS

WHO MUST FILE.Corporations required to make estimated regard to net operating loss carryovers or capital loss
tax payments must file a Corporation Underpayment of carrybacks.
Estimated Tax, Form 2220N, when any underpayment is

computed on line 19 of Form 2220N. Large corporations compute line 12 amounts by using the

same procedures that result in the comparable entry on the
Corporations are required to make estimated tax payments iFederal Form 2220.

they reasonably expect their Nebraska income tax to exceei/lETHODS WHICH AVOID PENALTY. A corporation
their allowable credits by $400 or more. The allowable 5y yeduce or eliminate the penalty by using the annualized
credits are: creditforin lieu ofintangible tax paid; nonhighway i, come or adjusted seasonal installment method. To use one
use motor vehicle fuels credit (Form 4136N credit); o poth of these methods to figure one or more required
Community Development Assistance Act credit; and the j,q¢qiments, recalculate and attach the federal Schedule A,
Nebr_aska Employment and Investment credits (Form 3800N“Required Installments Using the Annualized Income
credit). Installment Method and/or the Adjusted Seasonal Installment
If the amount on line 7 is less than $400, do not complete Method Under Section 6655(e)” using Nebraska income and

the rest of the form. You do not owe penalty. other Nebraska amounts.

WHEN AND WHERE TOFILE. Thisformmustbe attached On this form, enter on line 12 of each column, the
to the Nebraska Corporation Income Tax Return, Form 1120N,¢0rresponding amount from the recalculated worksheet.
and filed with that return. OVERPAYMENT. Any overpayment of an installment on
line 20 in excess of all prior underpayments should be applied

PART | — Figuring Your Underpayment as a credit on line 14 against the next installment.

LINE 1. Enter the tax amount from line 13 of the 1997
Form 1120N on line 1 of this form. PART Il — Figuring the Penalty

o ) Ifline 19 shows an underpayment, you mustcomplete Part I,
LINE 9. The entry on this line allows corporations to use the |iyes 21 through 25, in order to determine the penalty amount

tax reported on their prior year’s return less the prior year's¢,. aach underpayment of an installment. The penalty is
allowable credits to determine whether an underpayment.culated at 9% per annum for all installments.

exists. Enter line 18 minus line 19 from 1996 Form 1120N. . . . .
LINE 22. A payment of estimated tax is applied against

(“Large Corporations,” except as noted, cannot use this . , .
calculation.) The prior year's Nebraska return must cover aunderpayments of required instaliments in the order that

period of 12 months and show a tax liability. If this calculation !ns:a::men:s;hare reqUIrfd t?[ pe ?ald’ regardiess of which
does not apply to you, enter your line 8 amount on line 10. instaliment the payment pertains to.

L . o . , Example: A corporation has an underpayment for the
A large corporation is prohibited from using its prior year’s April 15 installment of $1,000. The June 15 installment

tax liability except i_n d_etermining the fir§t inst_alln_went of its requires a payment of $2,000. On June 15, the corporation
tax year. Anyred_ucﬂomnglarge corporatlon’sﬂrstmstallment_ deposits $2,000 for its June 15 installment. However,
as aresult of using the prior year's tax must be recaptured in - ¢1 500 of this payment is considered to be for the April 15
the corporation’s second instaliment. installment. The penalty for the April 15 installment is
Large Corporations. A “large corporation” is one which figured to June 15 (61 days). The payment to be applied to
had, or its predecessor had, federal taxable income of at least the June 15 installment will then be $1,000.

one million dollars for any of the three taxable years If the corporation has made more than one payment for a

immediately preceding the tax year involved. In applying the required installment, attach a separate computation for each
“one million dollar test,” taxable income is computed without payment.



