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FORM 1040NS

1997
Nebraska Resident Income Tax Return for

Single and Joint Filers with No Dependents
for the taxable year January 1, 1997  through December 31, 1997

PLEASE DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE

8-536-97printed with soy ink on recycled paper

Mail this return and payment to: NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, P.O. BOX 94818, LINCOLN, NE 68509-4818

• Read instructions on
reverse side

before completing

PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT DATA

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that, as taxpayer or preparer, I have examined this return and to the best of
my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.
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1 Filing Status

(1) Single (2)

Please  print
numbers

carefully as
shown:

DO NOT TYPE YOUR NUMBERS OR
LETTERS. DO NOT USE DOLLAR SIGNS.

Spouse’s
Social Security

Number

CHECK THE BOX HERE IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO RECEIVE
A BOOKLET NEXT YEAR, BUT NEED ONLY A NAME AND

ADDRESS LABEL FOR FILING YOUR 1998 RETURN:

DOLLARS CENTS

If you entered -0- on Federal Form 1040EZ,
line 10, or line J of the IRS TeleFile W orksheet,

skip lines 3 through 8 below. Enter (-0-) on line 9
below, and complete lines 10 through 15. Check box:

L
A
B
E
L
H
E
R
E

First Name(s) and Initial(s) Last Name

Current Home Address (Number and Street or Rural Route and Box Number)

City, Town, or Post Office State Zip Code

Married
filing
joint

3 Federal adjusted gross income (AGI) from line 4, Federal Form 1040EZ or line H of TeleFile Worksheet  . 3
4 If you answered No on line 2 above, singles If you answered Yes on line 2 above: Federal Form 1040EZ

enter 4,150.00, married filers enter 6,900.00. filers enter amount from line E of the federal worksheet on
the back of  the 1040EZ. TeleFilers enter the standard
deduction from line I of the Federal TeleFile Worksheet  . . . . . . . 4

5 Number of personal exemptions. If you If you answered Yes on line 2: singles enter “0”; married filers
answered No on line 2 above, singles enter enter “0”, if both “You” and the “Spouse”  boxes on line 2 are
“1” and married filers enter  “2”. checked and enter “1” if only one of these boxes is checked  . . . 5

6 Nebraska tax table income (line 3 minus line 4)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Nebraska income tax (use the amount on line 6 to find your tax in the Nebraska Tax Table on

pages 17-22 of the Nebraska Individual Income Tax Booklet). Enter tax on this line . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Nebraska personal exemption credit (line 5 multiplied by 86.00; if line 5 is -0-, enter -0-)  . . . . . . . . . 8

9 TAX (subtract line 8 from line 7. If line 8 is more than line 7, enter -0-)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 Nebraska income tax withheld (attach state copy of Form[s] W-2)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 If line 9 is greater than line 10, subtract line 10 from line 9. This is the AMOUNT YOU OWE.

Pay in full with return  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

12 If line 10 is greater than line 9, subtract line 9 from line 10. This is the amount you OVERPAID  . . 12

13 Nongame and Endangered Species Fund donation of $1.00 or more  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 Nebraska Campaign Finance voluntary contribution of $2.00 if single; either $2.00 or $4.00 if

married  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
15 Amount of line 12 to be REFUNDED (line 12 minus total of lines 13 and 14). Allow 12 weeks for

your refund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
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INSTRUCTIONS
WHO CAN FILE THE 1997 FORM 1040NS?  You can file
Form 1040NS only if you filed the 1997 Federal Form 1040EZ
or used the IRS TeleFile Program and none of the following
applies to you (or your spouse if married):

1. You received interest from a United States Savings Bond
or other United States government obligation or from a
tax-exempt bond or obligation issued by another state or
by a city or other entity not in Nebraska.

2. You were not a full-year Nebraska resident in 1997 (your
home was not located in Nebraska or you moved into or
out of Nebraska in 1997).

3. You are married but are not filing a joint return with your
spouse to report Nebraska income tax.

4. You are claiming a credit other than the personal
exemption credit or Nebraska income tax withheld on your
W-2. These credits include, but are not limited to: a credit
for tax paid to another state, a credit for estimated tax
payments, or a credit for an overpayment of tax from the
previous year’s return.

5. You are required to file a Schedule I, II, or III
(Form 1040N) to compute your Nebraska income tax
liability. (See the instructions for these schedules in the
Nebraska Individual Income Tax Booklet.)

If any of the five situations listed above apply to you (or your
spouse if married), you must file a Nebraska Form 1040N even
if you filed a Federal Form 1040EZ or used the IRS TeleFile
Program. If you filed a 1997 Federal Form 1040 or Form 1040A,
you must also file Nebraska Form 1040N.

NAME/ADDRESS/SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER.  Use the
mailing label sent with your booklet. If any label information is
in error, make the correction on the label and carefully place
the label over the name/address area of the return.

PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT DATA IS REQUIRED
OF ALL NEBRASKA RESIDENTS.  Enter the county name
and high school identification number from the listing of districts
on pages 13 to 16 of the Nebraska Individual Income Tax
Booklet. Also enter your county of residence.

ACTIVE MILITARY.  Check the box for active military if you
or your spouse is in the active military. See page 4 of the
Nebraska Individual Income Tax Booklet for additional
information.

DECEASED TAXPAYER.  Check the box for deceased
taxpayer if the return is being filed for a deceased taxpayer and
enter the name of the deceased and the date of death. See page
4 of the Nebraska Individual Income Tax Booklet for additional
information.

DUE DATE. Form 1040NS must be postmarked by April 15,
1998.

ROUNDING TO WHOLE DOLLARS. You can round down
all amounts less than 50 cents, and round up all amounts of 50
through 99 cents.

LINE 1, FILING STATUS. Check the box which matches your
marital status.

LINE 2, CAN YOUR PARENTS (OR SOMEONE ELSE)
CLAIM YOU OR YOUR SPOUSE ON THEIR RETURN?
If you checked the “Yes” box on line 5, Federal Form 1040EZ,
or you checked either “Yes” box on line B of the Federal TeleFile
Worksheet, answer “Yes” on line 2 and then check the
appropriate box to indicate that you and/or your spouse can be
claimed by someone else. Otherwise answer “No” and do not
check either box.

IF YOU ENTERED -0- ON FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ,
LINE 10. If you calculated no federal tax on line 10 of Federal
Form 1040EZ or line J of Federal TeleFile Worksheet, check
the box provided. Do not complete lines 3 through 8. Enter zero

(-0-) on line 9 and complete lines 10 through 15. Caution: If
you qualified to file a Federal Form 1040EZ or use the Federal
TeleFile Program  and had no federal liability, but you had
adjustments increasing or decreasing taxable income such as
income from tax-exempt municipal bonds, you cannot file a
Form 1040NS. Instead, you must file a Form 1040N.
LINE 4, STANDARD DEDUCTION. If you answered “No”
on line 2 and did not check either box, then enter 4,150.00 if
you are single and 6,900.00 if you are married. If you answered
“Yes” on line 2, and you filed a 1040EZ, enter the amount from
line E of the federal worksheet on the back of the 1040EZ. If
you answered “Yes” on line 2, and telefiled your federal return,
enter the standard deduction from line I of the Federal TeleFile
Worksheet.
LINE 5, PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS. If no one else can claim
you (or your spouse) as a dependent, and you answered “No”
on line 2, enter “1” if you are single and enter “2” if married.
If someone claims you as a dependent, you are single, and you
answered “Yes” on line 2, enter “0”. If you are married, and
you answered “Yes” on line 2, enter “0” if both the “You” and
the “Spouse” boxes on line 2 are checked and enter “1” if only
one of these boxes is checked.
LINE 7, NEBRASKA INCOME TAX.  Use your filing status
from line 1, and the amount on line 6 to find your Nebraska
income tax in the Nebraska Tax Table found on pages 17-22 of
the Nebraska Individual Income Tax Booklet. Enter the amount
of tax from the Nebraska Tax Table.
LINE 8, NEBRASKA EXEMPTION CREDIT.  If “0” is
entered on  line 5, enter “0” on line 8. If “1” is entered on line 5,
enter “86.00” on line 8. If “2” is entered on line 5, enter “172.00”
on line 8.
LINE 9, TAX. Your Nebraska tax is determined by subtracting
line 8 from line 7. If line 8 is larger than line 7, enter -0- on
line 9.
LINE 10, INCOME TAX WITHHELD. Add the amounts
shown as Nebraska income tax withheld on the Forms W-2 from
your employer. Attach the state copies to the front of the
Form1040NS.
LINE 11, AMOUNT YOU OWE. Attach a check or money
order payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue for the
amount you owe. Type or print your social security number on
any payment sent to the department. A tax due amount of less
than $2.00 need not be paid.
LINE 13, NONGAME AND ENDANGERED SPECIES
FUND. You can make a voluntary donation of part of your
line 12 overpayment to this fund. This fund helps protect and
conserve over 500 nongame species. For more information on
the Nongame and Endangered Species Program, contact the
Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, Wildlife Division, 2200
North 33rd Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68503-0370, or call
(402) 471-0641.
LINE 14, NEBRASKA CAMPAIGN FINANCE CONTRI-
BUTION. You may voluntarily contribute $2.00 of your
overpayment, if single, and either $2.00 or $4.00, if married, to
the Campaign Finance Limitation Cash Fund. The purpose of
the Campaign Finance Limitation Act is to lessen the reliance
of candidates on contributions from special interest organiza-
tions by providing contributed funds to assist in financing
election campaigns.  For more information on the Campaign
Finance Limitation Act, contact the Nebraska Accountability
and Disclosure Commission, 11th Floor, State Capitol, P.O.
Box 95086, Lincoln, NE 68509-5086, or call (402) 471-2522.
LINE 15. An amount less than $2.00 will not be refunded. If a
taxpayer has an existing tax liability of any kind with the
Nebraska Department of Revenue, the department may apply
an overpayment reflected on this return to such liability and
notify the taxpayer of this action.


