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The Privacy Act of 1974 says that when we ask you for your social security number we must first tell you our legal right to ask for this information,
why we are asking for it, and how it will be used. We must also tell you what would happen if we do not receive it and whether your response is
voluntary, required to obtain a benefit, or mandatory under the law. Our legal right to ask for the information is Nebraska Revised Statutes section
77-27,119. That law says that you must include your social security number with your return. Your response is mandatory under this section. We
need the social security number so that we can identify you and process your return and other documents.

1997 Nebraska Individual Income Tax
Dear Nebraska Taxpayer:
This year, your individual income tax rates have been cut due to passage of LB 401. The cuts in rates are reflected in the tax tables in this
booklet. In addition, the Nebraska Personal Exemption Credit is increased from what it had originally been by $10 per exemption. The
personal exemption for 1997 for most taxpayers will be $86 per exemption.

Another change you will notice is that your high school district, instead of your elementary district, must be reported this year.
Many taxpayers will report the same information as last year if they reside in a K-12 school district. If you live in an elementary-only
school district, you must report the high school district that the elementary district has affiliated with or joined in a Class 6 district.

You have the option to file your 1997 Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return electronically. This method enables you to file both
your federal and state returns in one step. Advantages include computer filing accuracy and faster refund processing. You can also have
your refund directly deposited into your bank account. Refund, zero balance due, and balance due returns are accepted. You can file a
Nebraska Form 1040NS (short form) or a Nebraska Form 1040N (long form) with Schedules I, II, and III. Contact your tax
preparation professional for information on your eligibility and how you can participate.

This booklet contains the information you will need to make filing your income tax return as easy as possible.  We at the Nebraska
Department of Revenue are ready to assist you in filing your return.

Complete and accurate information on the enclosed forms helps us process your return as quickly as possible. Please:

✓ Include your public high school district county name and district number as of December 31, 1997;
✓ Include your county of residence as of December 31, 1997;
✓ Use the address label provided in the center of this booklet (make any corrections on the label);
✓ Enclose any schedules required and attach supporting documentation;
✓ Staple your Nebraska copies of Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, or 1099-MISC; and
✓ Sign your return.

If you have questions about filing your Nebraska income tax return, contact Taxpayer’s Assistance at one of our offices in Norfolk,
Scottsbluff, North Platte, Grand Island, Omaha, or Lincoln which are listed on the back of this booklet, or by calling toll
free 1-800-742-7474. Lincoln residents must call locally 471-5729 for Taxpayer’s Assistance. Hearing-impaired individuals may call
our toll free TDD number, 1-800-382-9309.

Sincerely,

M. Berri Balka, State Tax Commissioner
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Before you begin, note the following:
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✔ NEW FOR 1997:

■ TAX CUT, INCREASE IN CREDIT.  This year, your
individual income tax rate has been cut due to passage
of LB 401. The cuts in rates are reflected in the tax
tables in this booklet. In addition, the Nebraska Personal
Exemption Credit has been increased to $86.

■ HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT TO BE REPORTED.
This year your high school district, instead of your
elementary school district, must be reported on
Form 1040N or Form 1040NS. Many taxpayers will
report the same information as last year if they live in a
K-12 school district.

■ NEBRASKA SELF-EMPLOYED HEALTH
INSURANCE DEDUCTION. A deduction is now
allowed for health insurance costs for self-employed
taxpayers to the extent not allowed as a deduction or
adjustment on their federal return. Complete the
worksheet on page 12 to determine the deduction
amount and enter the result on line 43 of Nebraska
Schedule I.

FEDERAL/STATE ELECTRONIC
FILING. Most Nebraska filers have
the option to file their 1997 Individual

Income Tax Return electronically. This alternative method
enables you to file both your federal and state returns in one
step. Advantages include computer filing accuracy and faster
refund processing. You can have your refund directly deposited
into your bank account. You can file a Nebraska Form 1040NS
or 1040N. Contact your tax preparation professional for
information on your eligibility and how you can participate.

✔ IF YOU FILED FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ OR USED
THE IRS TELEFILE PROGRAM,  be sure to review
Form 1040NS and the instructions on the back of this form to
see if you can file this short form. It follows page 12 in this
booklet.

✔ PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT DATA is required for
all taxpayers with a permanent place of abode or a domicile in
Nebraska on December 31, 1997. If you reside outside Nebraska
but are still domiciled in Nebraska, this information is still
required. The processing of your return and any refund
may be delayed without this information.

Enter the county name and high school identification number
from the shaded column of public high school districts on
pages 13 through 16 of this booklet. If you reside in an
elementary-only school district, you must report the high school
district you are affiliated or joined with. Do not use any school
identification number not included in the list. If you are
unsure of the district where you reside, you may get the
information from a property tax statement or by contacting the
county assessor or county election officials. If you have property
in more than one high school district, be sure to enter the high
school identification number of the school district where your
home is located.

✔ COMPLETE YOUR FEDERAL RETURN OR TELEFILE
WORKSHEET before starting your Nebraska return so you
will have the federal information needed to figure Nebraska
tax. If you do not have to complete a federal return to report a
federal liability, you may have to file a Nebraska return to
claim a state withholding credit, or because you have $5,000
or more of adjustments increasing income, such as non-
Nebraska state and local bond interest that must be reported to

Nebraska. In either situation, complete your Nebraska return
with the same information you would have had to use if you
did file a federal return. See more information under line 5
instructions.

✔ THE NAME AND ADDRESS LABEL can be found attached
to the return envelope in the center of this booklet. It has been
provided for your convenience and allows your return to be
handled more efficiently. If any label information is in error,
make the correction on the label and place the label over the
name and address area of the return.

If you have someone else prepare your return, take your
label to the preparer to be placed on the return. If you did
not receive a name and address label, type or clearly print your
name and current address in the space provided. Include your
spouse’s social security number.

✔ YOUR NEBRASKA INCOME TAX RETURN  for calendar
year 1997 must be postmarked by April 15, 1998. Mail your
return to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, P.O.
Box 94818, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4818.

✔ TAX ASSISTANCE — See the back cover.

✔ ADDITIONAL FORMS AND SCHEDULES are available
at banks, most federal buildings, including U.S. Post Offices;
the Nebraska Department of Revenue, 301 Centennial Mall
South, Lincoln, Nebraska; and the regional offices shown on
the back cover.

✔ CONFIDENTIAL TAX INFORMATION  will be given only
by return telephone call after the caller’s identity has been
confirmed. A taxpayer’s representative requesting confidential
information must have a power of attorney on file with the
department before any information will be released. An income
tax return signed by the preparer is considered to be a
limited power of attorney authorizing the department to
release only the information contained on that return to the
preparer.

✔ FARMERS OR RANCHERS  deriving at least two-thirds of
their yearly gross income from farming or ranching are to
check the box below the social security number block. This
allows the return to be properly processed.

✔ COUNTY OF RESIDENCE is the place in Nebraska where
you maintain your home. If you did not have a permanent
place of abode or a domicile in this state on December 31,
1997, enter “nonresident” instead of the name of the county. If
you are residing outside Nebraska but still are domiciled in
Nebraska, list the county of your domicile.

✔ ROUND TO WHOLE DOLLARS  the amounts on your
return and schedules. Round any amount from 50 cents through
99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any amount less than
50 cents to the next lower dollar.

✔ SIGN AND DATE YOUR TAX RETURN . Both husband
and wife must sign their joint return. An unsigned return
cannot be processed. If another person signs this return for the
taxpayer, a copy of a power of attorney or court order authorizing
the person to sign the return must be on file with this department
or be attached to the return. Include your daytime phone
number in the space provided in case the department needs to
contact you about your account.

Any person who is paid for preparing a taxpayer’s return must
also sign the return as preparer. If the return is prepared by a
firm or corporation, the return should also be signed in the
name of the firm or corporation.
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You must file a Form 1040N or 1040NS if you are required to file a federal return or use the Federal TeleFile Program
and report a federal liability. You must also file if you have $5,000 or more of Nebraska adjustments to federal adjusted
gross income, including non-Nebraska state and local bond interest income exempt from federal tax.

Residents
FULL-YEAR RESIDENTS  are subject to tax on their entire
federal adjusted gross income, even if some of it may have been
earned for services performed outside Nebraska. A credit is allowed
for tax properly paid to another state. Credit for Tax Paid to Another
State, Nebraska Schedule II, must be completed and attached to the
Form 1040N with a copy of the other state’s return, including all
schedules, to receive the credit.

A resident individual  is a person who is domiciled in Nebraska
or who has maintained a permanent place of abode and spent over
six months in Nebraska.

Permanent place of abode  means a dwelling place permanently
maintained by the taxpayer, whether or not it is owned. It does not
include a vacation camp, cottage, or dwelling place kept only for a
temporary purpose.

EXAMPLE: John and Eileen own a drive-in restaurant
in Grand Island, Nebraska. They operate the restaurant
from April through October each year. They also own a
house in Grand Island and live there during the seven
months the restaurant is open. During the months the
restaurant is closed, John and Eileen return to their home
in Texas. They consider Texas to be their domicile

because they own a home there, they register to vote in
Texas, and they hold Texas driver’s licenses. Even though
John and Eileen do not consider Nebraska to be their
domicile, they are full-year Nebraska residents for
Nebraska income tax purposes since they maintain a
permanent place of abode and spend more than six
months in Nebraska.

Domicile  is the place an individual considers his or her permanent
home, the place to which he or she intends to return after a period
of absence. A domicile, once established, continues until a new,
fixed, and permanent home is acquired. No change in domicile
results from moving to a new location if the individual’s intention
is to remain only for a limited time, even if it is several years. A
person declaring a change in residence must show an intention to
assume a new domicile while physically present in the new location
for other than a temporary purpose.

EXAMPLE: Don and Deb own a home in Gothenburg,
Nebraska. They also rent a townhouse in Richmond,
Virginia. Every year from May 1 to September 1, they go
to Virginia and stay in the townhouse while Deb teaches
at a local university. Don and Deb are full-year residents
of Nebraska for income tax purposes because the yearly
trips to Virginia are only temporary. Their domicile is in
Nebraska.

Partial-Year Residents
PARTIAL-YEAR RESIDENTS OF NEBRASKA  who have
income derived from or connected with Nebraska sources must file
Form 1040N. They cannot file Form 1040NS.

A partial-year resident  is an individual who either establishes
or ends his or her domicile in Nebraska during the tax year or resides
in Nebraska for more than six months during the year. Partial-year
residents are subject to Nebraska income tax on income included in

Items of income, gain, loss, and deduction related to sources in this
state include items directly associated with:

1. The ownership or sale of any interest in real or tangible
personal property in Nebraska.

2. A business, trade, profession, or occupation carried on in
this state.

3. The income from intangible personal property. This
includes annuities, dividends, interest, and gains from the
sale of intangible personal property to the extent that such
income is from property used in a business, trade,
profession, or occupation carried on in Nebraska.

4. Capital gains or losses and net operating losses, determined
solely with respect to income, gains, losses, and deductions
obtained or connected with sources in this state.

5. The income from fiduciary services performed for a
resident estate or trust.

6. Amounts paid to a corporation controlled by a nonresident
for personal services performed by the nonresident.

Nonresident partners, shareholders, or beneficiaries, whose only
connection with this state is the conduct of the business activities of
a partnership, limited liability company, S  corporation, or trust, are
not required to file a Nebraska income tax return if the organization
has properly withheld from the nonresident’s share of the organiza-
tion’s income. All of the withholding will be retained by the state
in satisfaction of the liability. Any nonresident who files an agreement
on Form 12N to avoid withholding must file Form 1040N.

Nonresidents
Tax calculation for nonresidents and partial-year residents is not a
matter of simply determining Nebraska source income and
calculating tax based on that income. Nonresidents and partial-year
residents must calculate a tax based on all income, and then
determine actual tax liability based on the percentage of Nebraska
source income to all income.

NONRESIDENT INDIVIDUALS  who have income derived from
or connected with Nebraska sources must file Form 1040N. They
cannot file Form 1040NS.

A nonresident individual  is a person who is domiciled for the
entire year in a state other than Nebraska, and does not reside in
Nebraska for over six months during the year. Nonresident
individuals are subject to Nebraska income tax on all income
included in federal gross income which is obtained from or connected
with Nebraska sources. This includes wages, salaries, and other
compensation earned in Nebraska. It includes the distributive share
of income and deductions from partnerships, limited liability
companies, S corporations, estates, and trusts. Only deductions
which are related to income received from Nebraska sources are
allowed. Credit for personal exemption is claimed by
nonresidents on line 57, Schedule III, and not on line 18,
Form 1040N. For more information, see instructions on
Computation of Nebraska Tax, Nebraska Schedule III, in this
booklet.

federal gross income which is derived from or connected with
Nebraska sources while either a resident or nonresident of Nebraska.
A partial-year resident will make those adjustments which relate to
income subject to Nebraska tax. A partial-year resident may claim
a Nebraska credit for the elderly or disabled and a Nebraska credit
for child and dependent care expenses on line 56, Nebraska
Schedule III. The credit for personal exemption is claimed on
line 57. Do not claim this credit on line 18, Form 1040N. For more
information, refer to instructions on Schedule III.
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Additional Information for Cer tain Taxpayers
IF YOU FILED FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ OR USED THE
IRS TELEFILE PROGRAM, carefully review lines 4, 5, and 8,
Form 1040NS instructions, or lines 4, 6, and 18, Form1040N
instructions. For Form 1040EZ, you have to determine any standard
deduction portion of your Form 1040EZ, line 5 entry to report the
amount to Nebraska. Any federal personal exemption deduction
allowed is converted to a Nebraska personal exemption credit.
IF YOU HAVE THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE
CALCULATE YOUR FEDERAL INCOME TAX,  you may request
that the Nebraska Department of Revenue calculate your Nebraska
income tax. Your Form 1040N or Form 1040NS must be filed by
April 1  to allow time to calculate and bill you for any tax due.
Interest will be assessed on any amount not paid by April 15, 1998.
Follow these instructions:

Form 1040NS
1. Complete the top portion of Form 1040NS through line 5,

personal exemptions (be sure to complete your Public
High School District Data and County of Residence).

2. Enter your withholding amount on line 10 and attach state
copies of Form W-2 from all employers.

3. Sign and date your return. If married, both husband and
wife must sign.

Form 1040N

1. Be sure to complete your Public High School District
Data and County of Residence.

2. Complete the parts of your return through line 13 that
apply to you. The line-by-line instructions that start on
page 5 explain how to complete your return.

3. Read the instructions for lines 18 through 23, and
lines 26through 28, filling in the lines that apply to you.
Please be sure to complete line 26 for Nebraska income
tax withheld and attach withholding statements, W-2,
W-2G, 1099-R, or 1099-MISC, from all employers or
payors. See the instructions that follow if you want us to
figure your credit for the elderly or the disabled.

PROCESSING OF YOUR RETURN MAY BE DELAYED
WITHOUT THE PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT DATA
COMPLETED. Under the law, all taxpayers must enter their high
school district county and number on their returns. Without this
information, the processing of your return and any refund may be
delayed. See pages 13 through 16 for a list of high school districts.

FEDERAL FORMS W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, and 1099-MISC,
Nebraska copy, must be sent to you by your employer or payor by
February 15. If you have not received the form by that date, you
should immediately contact your employer or payor. Request that
the form be issued to you. If the Form W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, or
1099-MISC is incorrect, obtain a corrected form from the employer
or payor. Such statements should be clearly marked “Corrected by
Employer/Payor.” If a wage and tax statement is lost or destroyed,
request a substitute copy clearly marked “Reissued by Employer.”

THE BALANCE OF THE TAX DUE  to Nebraska must be paid in
full with your return. Make your check or money order payable to
the Nebraska Department of Revenue and type or print your social
security number and the tax year on the face of your payment. An
amount due of less than $2.00 need not be paid unless the amount
is for penalty or interest. Any overpayment of $2.00 or more will be
refunded. Any overpayment must be reported within three years of
the original due date, as extended, or the overpayment will be
denied.

CONSUMER’S USE TAX  is imposed on the storage, use, or
consumption of any tangible personal property purchased by the
final consumer when the proper sales tax has not been paid, such as
with deliveries into Nebraska from an out-of-state seller. Individual
consumer’s use tax is to be reported on Nebraska and City Individual
Consumer’s Use Tax Return, Form 3. Contact the Nebraska
Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 94818, Lincoln, Nebraska
68509-4818 for a copy.

CHANGES IN YOUR FEDERAL INCOME TAX RETURN
OR IN A RETURN FILED WITH ANOTHER STATE made by
an IRS Processing Center, district office, or by the other state must
be reported to the department within 90 days of the change.
Report these changes by filing an Amended Nebraska Individual
Income Tax Return, Form 1040XN, for the tax year involved.
When requesting forms, please specify the tax year being amended.
File any amended return separately from any other return. Include
payment for any additional tax. Any taxpayer, on request by the
department, must furnish a copy of his or her Federal Form 1040
and supporting schedules.

Important Information for All Taxpayers
PENALTY AND INTEREST  may be imposed under the following
conditions:

1. Failure to file a Nebraska income tax return,
2. Failure to file a return and pay the tax due on or before the

due date,
3. Failure to file an amended Nebraska tax return to report

changes made to your federal income tax return,
4. Preparing or filing a fraudulent income tax return, or
5. Understatement of income on an income tax return.

The amounts reported on your Nebraska return, even if taken from
your federal return, will not relieve you from the penalty for an
inaccurate return or for filing a false or fraudulent return. Any
unpaid tax is subject to interest at the statutory rate from the
original due date to the date the tax is paid.

A NEBRASKA EXTENSION OF TIME  to file Forms 1040N or
1040NS may only be obtained by:

1. Attaching an approved copy of Application for
Additional Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual
Income Tax Return, Federal Form 2688, to the Nebraska
return when filed;

2. Attaching a copy of a timely filed Application for
Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual
Income Tax Return, Federal Form 4868, to the Nebraska
return when filed;

3. Filing a Nebraska Application for Extension of Time,
Form 2688N, on or before the due date of the return,
when you need to make a tentative Nebraska payment or
a federal extension is not being requested;

4. Attaching a copy of the statement or letter submitted with
your federal return requesting the automatic extension of
time for a U.S. citizen residing or traveling outside the
U.S. or Puerto Rico, to the Nebraska return when filed; or

5. Attaching information to document a combat zone-related
extension.

Failure to attach the applicable extension document will result in a
late filing penalty. When an extension of time is given, interest is
due on any unpaid tax. An extension of time cannot exceed a total
of seven months after the due date of the return.

You can make a tentative payment to stop interest from accruing. If
such payment is made, Nebraska Application for Extension of
Time, Form 2688N, must also be filed. When filing your Nebraska
Individual Income Tax Return, Form 1040N, claim the tentative
payment on line 27, Form 1040N, as an estimated tax payment.
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Be sure to check the box for active military on Forms 1040N or
1040NS, if you or your spouse are in the active military.

Military pay received by a nonresident service member stationed
in Nebraska is not subject to Nebraska income tax. Other income
derived from Nebraska sources by a service member, such as
income earned from a separate job not connected with the member’s
military service, is subject to Nebraska income tax.

A service member’s spouse living in Nebraska more than six
months is a resident. If the nonresident service member and the
spouse who has become a resident file a joint Nebraska return, the
service member has elected to have the service pay taxed by
Nebraska. More information is contained in the Form 1040N
instructions for line 1 on page 5 and in the Nebraska Department of
Revenue’s information guide titled, “Nebraska Income Tax for
Military Service Members.” Contact the department, or any of the
regional offices listed on the back cover of this booklet, for copies.

DEATH OF TAXPAYER.  If a taxpayer died before filing a return
for 1997, the taxpayer’s spouse or personal representative may have
to file and sign a return for that taxpayer. A personal representative
can be an executor, administrator, or anyone who is in charge of the
deceased taxpayer’s property. If the taxpayer did not have to file a
return but had tax withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund.

The person who files the return must write “DECEASED”  across
the top of the return. The taxpayer’s name and the date of death is
to be noted in the filing status area of the return.

If your spouse died in 1997 and you did not remarry in 1997, you
may file a joint return. You may also file a joint return if your spouse
died in 1998 before filing a 1997 return. A joint return should show
your spouse’s 1997 income before death and your income for all of
1997. Write “filing as surviving spouse” in the area where you sign
the return. If someone else is the personal representative, he or she
must also sign.

CLAIMING A REFUND FOR A DECEASED TAXPAYER . If
you are a surviving spouse filing a joint return with the deceased,
file only the tax return to claim the refund. If you are a court-
appointed representative, file the return and attach a copy of the
certificate that shows your appointment. All other filers requesting
the deceased taxpayer’s refund must file the return and attach
Form 1310N and proof of death.

FISCAL YEAR RETURNS . The taxable year used for Nebraska
must be the same as the year used for federal income tax purposes.
For fiscal years beginning after January 1, 1997, the 1997 Nebraska
Tax Table and Additional Tax Rate Schedule, and Personal
Exemption Credit Table are to be used without adjustment.

The due date for a fiscal year return is the 15th day of the fourth
month of the following taxable year. If the due date falls on a
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you may file your return the first
business day after the 15th day of the fourth month.

Refer to page 8, line 26 instructions for information on claiming
withholding credit by a fiscal year taxpayer with a calendar year
Federal Form W-2.

A FARMER OR RANCHER who files the 1997 Form 1040N and
pays the Nebraska income tax due on or before March 1, 1998, is
not required to make estimated tax payments during 1997; otherwise,
the entire amount of estimated tax must be paid by January 15, 1998.

CREDIT FOR CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE EXPENSES
is available to full-year and partial-year resident individuals and is
equal to 25 percent of the federal credit. Complete the worksheet on
page 7 of these instructions and file Form 1040N.

EMPLOYMENT AND INVESTMENT CREDITS.  Credits are
available for qualifying businesses which make certain increases in
employment and investment. Credits can be used to reduce the
taxpayer’s income tax liability.

For more detailed information on these credits, contact the Nebraska
Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 94818, Lincoln, Nebraska
68509-4818 or call (402) 471-5729 or toll free 1-800-742-7474.

4. Complete any forms or schedules asked for on the lines
you completed. Attach them when you file the return.

5. If you are claiming credit for taxes paid to another state,
attach a complete copy of the income tax return,
including all schedules, for each state for which credit is
claimed. If tax was paid but no return filed for a
subdivision of the other state, attach a W-2 statement
supporting the tax paid.

6. Complete lines 36 and 37, Schedule I, if you have
adjustments increasing Nebraska income such as interest
income from state and local obligations.

7. Complete lines 39 through 44, Schedule I, if you have
U.S. bond interest or other adjustments decreasing
Nebraska income. This includes any Tier I or II benefits
paid by the Railroad Retirement Board included in federal
adjusted gross income.

8. Credit for child and dependent care expenses. If you
qualify to take this federal credit, and you are a full-year
or partial-year resident, use the worksheet on page 7 to
calculate the credit allowed.

9. Credit for the elderly or the disabled. If you qualify to
take this federal credit, and you are a full-year or partial-
year resident, attach a copy of Federal Schedule R or
Federal Schedule 3. If you want the department to
calculate your state credit, supply the same information
as required by the IRS when you ask them to calculate
the federal credit. Refer to line 20 instructions.

10. Sign and date your return. Both husband and wife
must sign if a joint return is being filed.

ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS  must be filed if your Nebraska
income tax can reasonably be expected to exceed allowable
credits by $300 or more. Allowable credits for income tax include,
but are not limited to, those listed on lines 18 through 23 of Form
1040N. Lines 26 through 28 of Form 1040N may also be used to
offset income tax owed.

Payment of estimated tax ordinarily must be made in four equal
installments on or before April 15, June 15, September 15, and
January 15. Nebraska Individual Estimated Income Tax Payment
Voucher, Form 1040N-ES, is to be used to report this tax.

PENALTY FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX .  If
line 25 is more than your total payments on line 29 by $300 or more
and this difference is more than ten percent of your line 25 amount,
you may owe a penalty. If you have underpaid your estimated tax for
any period, you may also owe a penalty. Obtain Form 2210N,
Individual Underpayment of Estimated Tax, from the department to
calculate any possible penalty. Enter any penalty in the space
provided on line 30, include it in the line 30 total, and attach Form
2210N to your Form 1040N. Form 1040NS cannot be filed.

You do not owe Form 2210N penalty if you had no income tax
liability for 1996, you were a U.S. citizen or resident for all of 1996,
and your 1996 return was for 12 full months. Also, if your 1996
federal adjusted gross income was less than $150,000 and the total
of Nebraska tax withheld, line 26, and your estimated payments,
line 27, is at least as much as your 1996 income tax liability, you
will not owe a penalty. See Form 2210N for special instructions.

ESTIMATING YOUR 1998 INCOME TAX . If you need to
estimate 1998 taxes, contact the department and request an estimated
tax booklet. If you filed estimated payments in 1997, a booklet will
automatically be mailed to you.

MILITARY SERVICE PAY  is subject to income tax only by the
state where the service member is a legal resident. The place of legal
residence at the time of entry into the service is presumed to be the
state of legal residence. It remains so until legal residence in another
state is established. The Nebraska income tax is imposed on all the
federal adjusted gross income of a resident who is a member of the
armed forces, regardless of where the income is received.
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Form 1040N Line Instructions
(for Form 1040NS instructions, see back of Form 1040NS)

If one spouse is a resident and the other is a nonresident, and
a separate Nebraska return is being filed, enter the number
of federal exemptions allowable in computing the separate
federal return for Nebraska purposes.

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS
CHECK THE BOX AFTER FEDERAL EXEMPTIONS
only to show that you had no federal liability, had
adjustments increasing Nebraska income of less than
$5,000, and are not reporting a 1997 net operating
loss. If you checked this box, do not complete lines 5
through 16 and 18 through 24. Enter “0” on lines 17 and
25. Complete lines 26 through 35 as they apply. Generally,
taxpayers checking this box are those filing to receive a
refund of Nebraska income tax withholding, not to report
a state tax liability.

EXAMPLE: Chris and Kimberly are married, have
three children, and have adjusted gross income for
1997 of $19,000. Chris’ employer withheld $108 for
Nebraska income tax. Chris and Kimberly filed a fed-
eral return, subtracted their federal standard deduction
($6,900) and five federal exemptions ($13,250), and
found they had no federal taxable income. Chris and
Kimberly have no federal liability. Therefore, Chris
and Kimberly have no Nebraska liability. They will
want to file a Nebraska return to claim a refund of the
income tax withheld by Chris’ employer.
Chris and Kimberly do not complete lines 5 through
16 of Form 1040N. Instead, they check the box after
line 4, enter “0” on lines 17 and 25, and complete lines
26 through 35 as they apply.

If you did not have a federal liability, but have adjustments
such as non-Nebraska tax-exempt state and local bond
interest, see the line 5 instructions which follow.

LINE 5, FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (AGI)  is
the amount reported on the federal return as adjusted gross
income. Enter the amount from the following forms:

Form 1040A ............................... Line 16
Form 1040EZ ............................ Line 4
TeleFile Worksheet ................... Line H
Form 1040.................................. Line 32

If you were not required to file a federal return but must file
a Nebraska return to report state and local bond interest,
enter on line 5 all income which would have been included
in federal adjusted gross income.

EXAMPLE: George is retired and receives a pension
and interest from a savings account which total $5,650 in
1997. He also receives income from tax-exempt state and
local bonds from sources outside Nebraska, totalling
$7,200 that is federally tax exempt. His 1997 income for
federal purposes is $5,650. He is not required to file a
federal return; however, since his income from non-
Nebraska state and local bonds exceeds $5,000, George
is required to file a Nebraska return.

He must include the $5,650 of income on line 5 as if he
had completed a federal return. After completing lines
6 through 11 as they apply, he must enter the $7,200 of
non-Nebraska, tax-exempt state and local bond interest
income on line 12, Form 1040N, and lines 36 and 38 of
Nebraska Schedule I. George completes the remainder of
the return as it applies.

LINE 1, FEDERAL FILING STATUS. Your Nebraska filing
status must be the same as your federal filing status, unless a
joint federal return was filed and the state of residency of the
two spouses is different. Check the box for the filing status
actually used to calculate your Nebraska tax. Different
residencies arise when one spouse is a resident while the
other spouse is a nonresident at the same time. A couple with
different residencies may file either a joint or separate returns
with Nebraska after filing a joint federal return.

The separate return  must be calculated as though a federal
separate return had been filed. The married filing separate
income, deductions, and exemptions must be used. The social
security number and name of your spouse is to be entered on
the married filing separate line of the Nebraska separate
return.

When a joint return  for Nebraska is filed, the couple with
different residencies has made an election for both to be
treated as Nebraska residents while either is a resident. As
residents, the income of both spouses is subject to Nebraska
income tax. Follow the appropriate instructions for either
full-year or partial-year residents. To change this election of
a joint return to separate returns on an amended return, use
Revenue Ruling  22-81-2 procedures. A copy of this ruling
can be obtained by contacting the department.

LINE 2a. Check the following if, during 1997:
Box 1. You were 65 or older.
Box 2. You were blind.
Boxes 1 and 2. You were 65 or older and blind.
Box 3. Your spouse was 65 or older.
Box 4. Your spouse was blind.
Boxes 3 and 4. Your spouse was 65 or older and blind.

LINE 2b.  Check box 5 if someone (such as a parent) can
claim you or your spouse as a dependent.

LINE 3, TYPE OF RETURN BEING FILED.  Resident
taxpayers check box 1. Nonresident and partial-year resident
taxpayers check box 2. Nonresident and partial-year resident
taxpayers must complete and attach Nebraska Schedule III,
even though all income is earned in Nebraska. Partial-year
residents must enter the dates of their Nebraska residency in
the space provided. If one spouse is a full-year resident and
the other is a nonresident or partial-year resident and they
elect to file a joint return, a resident return must be filed and
Schedule III cannot be used.

LINE 4, FEDERAL EXEMPTIONS,  will be the same number
of exemptions claimed on your federal return unless a differ-
ent filing status is used for Nebraska. This includes the
number of exemptions claimed on line 6d, Form 1040 or
Form 1040A. If you filed a Federal Form 1040EZ or used
the Federal TeleFile Program, and you checked the “no”
box on line 5 of the 1040EZ or line B of the TeleFile
Worksheet, enter “1” exemption if you are single, and enter
“2” if married. If you checked the “yes” box on line 5 of the
1040EZ or if you checked either “yes” box on line B of the
TeleFile Worksheet, enter “0” exemptions if you are single
and enter “0” if you are married and both spouses can be
claimed as dependents on another person’s return. Enter “1”
if you are married and only one of you can be claimed as a
dependent on another person’s return. See the instructions
for line 18, personal exemption credit, for information
on claiming the credit for each personal exemption.
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LINE 10. Enter line 6 or 9, whichever is greater.

EXAMPLE: Ellen and Ray claim itemized deductions
of $7,350 on their federal return because this amount is
larger than the federal standard deduction of $6,900 which
is allowed for their filing status of married filing jointly.
Their itemized deductions included $850 of state income
tax. After completing lines 6 through 9, they find that
when they file their Nebraska income tax return, they will
claim the standard deduction because it is larger than
their Nebraska itemized deductions:

Line 6, Federal standard deduction ...................... $6,900
Line 7, Federal itemized deductions .................... $7,350
Line 8, State and local income taxes .................... $ 850
Line 9, Subtract line 8 from line 7 ....................... $6,500
Line 10, Line 6 or line 9, whichever is greater .... $6,900

ADJUSTMENTS TO FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS
INCOME. Adjustments to your federal adjusted gross income
are made for income that may be taxable on your federal
return, but not taxable on the Nebraska return. They are also
made for income that is taxable in Nebraska, but not at the
federal level. Attach Nebraska Schedule I to the return to
report Nebraska adjustments unless you are only reporting a
state income tax refund.

LINE 12, ADJUSTMENTS INCREASING FEDERAL AGI.
You must include all federally exempt state and local
government interest except that issued by Nebraska state
and local subdivisions. See more instructions on page 11.

LINE 13, ADJUSTMENTS DECREASING FEDERAL AGI.
If you have a state income tax refund or had interest from
U.S. obligations, you may have a deduction from federal
adjusted gross income to include on line 13. You should
read the instructions on pages 11 and 12 to see what other
adjustments are allowed.

If line 12 is -0-, and your only adjustment is a state
income tax refund, enter the amount of the refund on
line 13 and check the box below line 13. You do not need
to complete Schedule I.

If you have any other adjustment such as U.S. government
interest, complete Schedule I, Part B, and list the types and
amounts of income claimed as adjustments including any
state income tax refund. Attach the schedule to your return.

LINE 14, NEBRASKA TAX TABLE INCOME.  If you do not
have adjustments to federal adjusted gross income, enter the
line 11 amount on line 14. If you have adjustments, complete
Schedule I, add lines 11 and 12, and subtract any line 13
amount. Enter the result on line 14.

This is your Nebraska tax table income. This is the amount
used to determine your Nebraska income tax. Go to the
1997 Nebraska Tax Table located on pages 17 through
22 of this booklet to determine your tax liability.

LINE 15, NEBRASKA INCOME TAX is taken from the
Nebraska Tax Table on pages 17 through 22. All taxpayers
must use the Nebraska Tax Table to calculate their Nebraska
income tax liability. If federal adjusted gross income is more
than $121,200 ($60,600 if married filing separate), include the
total tax calculated on the Nebraska Tax Worksheet on
page 23 which includes the additional tax calculated using
the Nebraska Additional Tax Rate Schedule on page 23.

Nonresident and partial-year resident taxpayers are
reminded to include their total federal adjusted gross
income on line 5, not merely Nebraska source income.

If you have a Nebraska net operating loss, include any
negative Federal AGI on line 5, and complete the rest of the
form. Use Form NOL to compute the loss to carry back. A
net operating loss carryback from a 1997 loss is not allowed
unless the loss has been reported on a 1997 Form 1040N.

Any taxpayers who include as income on Federal Form 1040
their children’s interest and dividends (elected on Federal
Form 8814) must include that income on line 5, Form 1040N.

LINE 6, FEDERAL STANDARD DEDUCTION . Enter the
allowable amount of your federal standard deduction. To
determine the appropriate amount, read the portion of this
instruction for the federal form you filed. Do not enter the
amount of your federal itemized deductions.

If you filed —

FEDERAL FORM 1040A. Enter the line 19 amount.

FEDERAL FORM 1040EZ.  If you checked “no”  on
Federal Form 1040EZ, line 5, enter $4,150 if single;
or enter $6,900 if married.

If you checked “yes” on line 5, enter the amount from
line E on the worksheet on the back of the Federal
Form 1040EZ.

IRS TELEFILE PROGRAM.  Enter the standard
deduction from line I of the TeleFile Worksheet.

FEDERAL FORM 1040. If you claimed the federal
standard deduction, enter the line 35 federal standard
deduction amount. If you claimed itemized deductions
on line 35 of Federal Form 1040, enter the federal
standard deduction for your filing status:

✓ Single – $4,150

✓ Head of household – $6,050

✓ Married filing jointly or qualifying widow – $6,900
✓ Married filing separately – $3,450

✓ 65 or over, and/or blind – see federal instructions
✓ Claimed as a dependent on another return – see

federal instructions.

HIGHER INCOME TAXPAYERS  with federal
adjusted gross income in excess of $121,200 ($60,600
if married filing separate) must complete the Nebraska
Standard Deduction Worksheet on page 9 of these
instructions to determine their allowable standard
deduction.

LINE 7,  FEDERAL ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS . If you
itemized, enter the line 35 amount from Federal Form 1040.
If your federal adjusted gross income is more than $121,200
($60,600 married filing separate), complete the Nebraska
Itemized Deduction Worksheet on page 10 to determine
your line 7 entry. If you did not claim itemized deductions
on your federal return, skip lines 7 through 9.

LINE 8, STATE AND LOCAL INCOME TAXES.  Enter your
state and local income taxes included on line 5 of Schedule
A, Federal Form 1040 (even if your itemized deductions
have been limited).
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Nonresidents and partial-year residents will enter their tax
calculation taken from line 59, Nebraska Schedule III.

LINE 16, NEBRASKA MINIMUM OR OTHER TAX is the
sum of (1) federal alternative minimum tax, (2) federal
tax on lump-sum distributions of qualified retirement
plans, and (3) federal tax on early distributions of qualified
retirement plans; multiplied by 29.6 percent.

Use the following worksheet to calculate line 16.
Nonresidents and partial-year residents enter worksheet
results on line 60, Nebraska Schedule III.

NEBRASKA MINIMUM OR OTHER TAX WORKSHEET
1. Alternative minimum tax, from Federal Form

6251 recalculated for Nebraska using
Nebraska Revenue Ruling 22-97-1 ................ $ _________

2. Tax on lump-sum distributions (enter federal
tax amount from Federal Form 4972) ........... _________

3. Tax on early distributions (enter lesser of
federal tax amount from Part I , Federal
Form 5329 or line 50 of Federal Form 1040) _________

4. SUBTOTAL (Add lines 1 through 3) ............. _________
 x .296

5. TOTAL  (line 4 multiplied by 29.6%) ..............$ _________

ENTER THIS TOTAL ON LINE 16, FORM 1040N
Attach a copy of your Federal Form 4972, 5329 (1040 if 5329

not required) or recalculated Form 6251 to your return.

A credit for prior year minimum tax  must be calculated
according to Revenue Ruling 22-97-2, and is to be entered
on line 19, together with a notation, “AMT Credit.”
Nonresidents and partial-year residents claim this credit on
line 56, Nebraska Schedule III.

LINE 17. All taxpayers enter the total of lines 15 and 16.

If you had no tax to report on your federal return, and
adjustments increasing income on Schedule I, line 38, of
less than $5,000, enter “0” on lines 17 and 25. Complete
lines 26 through 35 of Form 1040N.

LINE 18, NEBRASKA PERSONAL EXEMPTION CREDIT.
Residents are to claim a $86 credit for each federal exemption
reported on line 4, Form 1040N. Nonresidents and partial-
year residents claim the credit on line 57 of Nebraska
Schedule III, not on line 18.

EXAMPLE: Mr. and Mrs. Bourg, who are Nebraska
residents, have AGI of $25,000 and claim three exemp-
tions on line 4. Their personal exemption credit on line
18 is as follows: $86 x 3 =$258. They enter $258 on line
18 and include it in the line 24 total.

If your federal adjusted gross income is more than $101,000
(married-joint), $61,000 (single), $84,000 (head of
household), or $50,500 (married-separate), use the chart on
page 9 to determine the credit amount you are to claim.

LINE 19, CREDIT FOR TAX PAID TO ANOTHER STATE,
is calculated on line 50 of Nebraska Schedule II. Nebraska
residents claiming credit for income tax paid to another state
or its political subdivisions, or the District of Columbia are
to complete and attach Schedule II. Attach a complete copy
of the return, including schedules and attachments filed with
the other state, or attach a letter or statement from the other
state showing the income reported and tax paid to support
the credit claimed. A separate Schedule II must be
completed for each state in which you paid income tax.

Nebraska law does not allow credit for taxes paid to a
foreign country or its political subdivisions.

If the other state’s return is amended or changed by that
state, an Amended Nebraska Individual Income Tax Return,
Form 1040XN, is to be filed to report the change in the
credit for tax paid to another state. Attach a copy of your
corrected Nebraska Schedule II and a copy of the amended
return filed with the other state or a copy of a letter or
statement from that state showing the corrected tax paid.

LINE 20, CREDIT FOR THE ELDERLY OR THE DISABLED,
is equal to the amount shown on line 41 of Federal
Form 1040 or line 24b of Form 1040A. If the federal
credit has been limited by the amount of your federal
tax liability, use the lesser amount. This credit may be
claimed only by Nebraska full-year or partial-year residents.
Full-year residents should enter the amount of the federal
credit on line 20. Partial-year residents must enter “0” on
line 20; and enter the lesser of the federal credit or the total
Nebraska tax on line 56, Nebraska Schedule III. Attach a
copy of Federal Schedule R, pages 1 and 2, or Federal
Schedule 3 to your Form 1040N.

If you had the IRS calculate your federal credit for the
elderly or disabled, attach a copy of the Schedule R or
Schedule 3 mailed with your federal return to Form 1040N,
and the department will figure this credit.

LINE 21, COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE
ACT CREDIT (CDAA) , is the credit allowable for
contributions to approved projects of community betterment
organizations recognized by the Nebraska Department of
Economic Development. See the instructions on the 1997
Nebraska Community Development Assistance Act Credit
Computation, Form CDN, for more information on this
credit. Form CDN and the green copy of Form 1099NTC
must be attached to the Form 1040N.

LINE 22, FORM 3800N CREDIT, is the credit allowed to
qualified businesses that expand their economic investment
or employment base in Nebraska. Request Nebraska
Employment and Investment Credit Computation,
Form 3800N, or contact the department for more
information.

LINE 23, CREDIT FOR CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE
EXPENSES, is 25 percent of either the amount on line 40
of Federal Form 1040, or line 24a, Form 1040A, if this
amount is less than your federal tax. This credit may be
claimed only by Nebraska full-year or partial-year residents.
If the federal credit has been limited by your federal tax
liability, use the worksheet below. Full-year residents are
to enter on line 23, Form 1040N, 25 percent of the allowed
federal credit. Partial-year residents are to enter on line 56,
Nebraska Schedule III, Form1040N, 25 percent of the allowed
federal credit. Partial-year residents enter “0” on line 23.

Use the worksheet below:

CHILD CARE CREDIT WORKSHEET

1. Enter line 24a, Fed. Form 1040A or line 40,
Fed. Form 1040, whichever applies to you ........... $_______

2. Enter federal tax liability (Form 1040A, line 23, or
Form 1040, lines 39, 48, and 50 ........................... _______

3. Lesser of lines 1 and 2 ........................................... _______

4. Line 3  multiplied by 25% ........................................ _______

Residents enter line 4 result on line 23, Form 1040N;
Partial-year residents use line 4 in line 56 calculation.
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LINE 25. Use the worksheet below to determine if you can
enter your federal liability. Do not complete if you have
adjustments increasing income of $5,000 or more
(Form 1040N, Schedule I, line 38) – you are not entitled to
use this provision.

FEDERAL LIABILITY WORKSHEET
Complete the following worksheet to determine whether Nebraska
tax after nonrefundable credits is larger than your federal tax
liability and should be reduced to the federal tax liability amount.
1. Enter federal tax before credits:

a. Form 1040EZ, line 10 ............................ 1a $ ________
b. IRS TeleFile Worksheet, line J,

column 2 ............................................... 1b _________
c. Form 1040A, line 23 ............................. 1c _________
d. Form 1040 , line 39 ............ _________

Form 1040, line 48 ............. _________
Form 1040, line 50 ............. _________
Total tax–Form 1040 ............................ 1d _________

Total federal tax
(enter tax from 1a, 1b,  1c, or 1d) .............. 1 _________

2. Nebraska Form 1040N, line 17 minus line 24 2 $ ________
Enter the smaller of lines 1 and 2 on line 25, Form 1040N,

and check federal liability box if line 1 is used.

LINE 26, NEBRASKA INCOME TAX WITHHELD. Add the
amounts shown as Nebraska income tax on the state copy of
the Federal Form W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, or 1099-MISC sent
to you by your employer or payor. If you had more than one
employer or payor, attach the state copy of Federal Form W-2,
W-2G, 1099-R, or 1099-MISC from each employer or
payor. Enter the total state withholding on line 26.
A fiscal year taxpayer who has W-2’s issued on a calendar-
year basis must attach the 1997 W-2’s to the 1997
Form 1040N for the fiscal year beginning in 1997. The
1997 calendar year withholding cannot be apportioned
between tax years. If you receive your 1998 W-2 before
filing your 1997 Form 1040N, save it to attach to your 1998
Form 1040N for your fiscal year beginning in 1998.
Nonresidents who had Nebraska income tax withheld from
payments for personal services provided should attach a
copy of the 1099-MISC issued to them by the payor.
Nonresidents claiming credit for Nebraska income tax
withheld by a partnership, limited liability company,
S corporation, estate, or trust are to obtain from their
organization two copies of the Statement of Nebraska Income
Tax Withheld for Nonresident Individual, Form 14N. Enter
the amount withheld and paid to Nebraska on line 26, and
attach the pink copy of Form 14N to Form 1040N in the
space provided for Form W-2. A nonresident who has a tax
year different from the tax year shown on the Form 14N for
his or her organization is to attach the Form 14N with a tax
year ending during the individual’s tax year. A calendar-
year taxpayer is to attach the Form 14N for tax years ending
in 1997 to the 1997 Form 1040N. Apportionment of the
Form 14N withholding between tax years is not allowed.
LINE 27, ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS,  is the sum of the
installment payments made for 1997 plus any 1996
overpayment that you applied to your 1997 estimated tax. If
you made a tentative Nebraska income tax payment on or
before the original due date of your return to stop the
accumulation of interest, also claim this amount on line 27.
LINE 28, NONHIGHWAY USE MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS
CREDIT, is the credit for a portion of the Nebraska tax paid
in this program. See the instructions on Form 4136N for
information about this credit. Attach Form 4136N to
Form 1040N if this credit is claimed. For more information,
contact Motor Fuels Taxpayer’s Assistance toll free at
1-800-554-3835.

LINE 30, AMOUNT YOU OWE,  is the amount owed to the
State of Nebraska, including the applicable underpayment
of estimated tax penalty. Attach a check or money order
payable to the Nebraska Department of Revenue for the
amount on line 30. Please type or print your social security
number on the face of your check or money order. A tax
due amount of less than $2.00 need not be paid.
If the amount you owe is $300 or more, review “Penalty for
Underpayment of Estimated Tax” on page 4, and determine
if you need to file Form 2210N. Contact the department to
obtain Form 2210N.
LINE 32, 1998 ESTIMATED TAX.  Enter on line 32 the
amount of overpayment you want applied to your 1998
estimated tax.

 A CHECK FOR
WILDLIFE

LINE 33, NONGAME AND ENDANGERED SPECIES FUND.
You can contribute $1.00 or more of your refund to this
fund. Your contributions are used by the Nebraska Game and
Parks Commission to protect and manage nearly 500 kinds
of nongame and endangered birds, mammals, amphibians,
fish, and reptiles. The fund will help prevent species from
becoming endangered by protecting their habitat.

If you are not entitled to a refund, you may send a contribution
directly to the Nongame and Endangered Species Conserva-
tion Fund at the following address. Contributions to the fund
are tax deductible on the 1998 federal tax return if you itemize
deductions. For more information on the Nongame and
Endangered Species Program, contact the Nebraska Game
and Parks Commission, Wildlife Division, 2200 North 33rd
Street, Lincoln, NE 68503-0370, or call (402) 471-0641.

LINE 34, NEBRASKA CAMPAIGN FINANCE
CONTRIBUTION. You may voluntarily contribute $2.00 of
your refund (and either $2.00 or $4.00 if married filed
jointly) to the Campaign Finance Limitation Cash Fund.
The purpose of the Campaign Finance Limitation Act is to
lessen the reliance of candidates on contributions from special
interest organizations by providing contributed funds to
assist in financing election campaigns of candidates seeking
statewide offices. Eligible candidates must agree to limit
their total campaign expenditures and meet other criteria to
receive assistance. Candidates for the following offices may
be eligible for assistance: Governor, Lt. Governor, Attorney
General, Auditor of Public Accounts, State Treasurer,
Secretary of State, State Board of Education, Board of
Regents, Public Service Commission, and the State
Legislature.

For more information, contact the Nebraska Accountability
and Disclosure Commission, 11th Floor, State Capitol, P.O.
Box 95086, Lincoln, NE 68509-5086, or call (402) 471-2522.

LINE 35, AMOUNT TO BE REFUNDED. Enter the amount
of overpayment you want refunded to you on line 35 after
subtracting lines 32, 33, and 34 from line 31. No amount
less than $2.00 will be refunded.

If a taxpayer has an existing tax liability of any kind with
the Nebraska Department of Revenue, an overpayment
reflected on this return may be applied to such liability. The
department will then notify the taxpayer.



Nebraska Personal Exemption Credit, Line 18, Form 1040N (Residents)
Nonresidents and partial-year residents use to complete Schedule III , line 57.

Over But not overOver But not overOver But not over

PERSONAL
EXEMPTION

CREDIT

FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME

Use this table to determine the allowable personal credit for your adjusted gross income category. Find your filing status in the
columns; then find the line corresponding to your federal adjusted gross income reported on line 5, Form 1040N. Take the amount
you find and multiply by the number of federal exemptions reported on line 4, Form 1040N.

EXAMPLE:  Earlene and Robert file a married-joint return. Their federal adjusted gross income is $138,450. They look
down the married filing joint column to the line where $136,000-141,000 appears. They look across and see they have a $46
personal exemption credit. Since they have a total of three federal exemptions, they multiply $46 x 3 = $138. The $138
amount is then entered on line 18 of Form 1040N.

9

Single Married Filing Joint Married Filing Separate Head of Household
(including qualifying widow[er])

Over But not over

1 Enter your Federal Adjusted Gross Income for 1997 (line 5, Form 1040N) .................... 1

2 Enter $121,200 (enter $60,600 if married filing separate) ............................................... 2
3 Difference (subtract line 2 from line 1). If less than zero, STOP; you do not have a

limitation on your standard deduction. ............................................................................. 3
4 Enter your 1997 Federal Standard Deduction (Single $4,150, Married-Joint $6,900,

Head of Household $6,050, Married-Separate $3,450). Consult federal instructions
if you have a different standard deduction for your filing status than that listed .............. 4

5 Enter 10% of line 3 .......................................................................................................... 5
6 1997 Nebraska Standard Deduction (subtract line 5 from line 4; if zero or less,

enter 0 on this line). Enter result here and on line 6, Form 1040N. ................................. 6

Nebraska Standard Deduction Worksheet – Line 6, Form 1040N
Use if federal adjusted gross income is more than $121,200 ($60,600 if married filing separate)

STANDARD DEDUCTION WORKSHEET

$ 0 - 61,000 $ 0 - 101,000 $ 0 - 50,500 $ 0 - 84,000 $86

61,000 - 66,000 101,000 - 106,000 50,500 - 53,000 84,000 - 89,000 81

66,000 - 71,000 106,000 - 111,000 53,000 - 55,500 89,000 - 94,000 76

71,000 - 76,000 111,000 - 116,000 55,500 - 58,000 94,000 - 99,000 71

76,000 - 81,000 116,000 - 121,000 58,000 - 60,500 99,000 - 104,000 66

81,000 - 86,000 121,000 - 126,000 60,500 - 63,000 104,000 - 109,000 61

86,000 - 91,000 126,000 - 131,000 63,000 - 65,500 109,000 - 114,000 56

91,000 - 96,000 131,000 - 136,000 65,500 - 68,000 114,000 - 119,000 51

96,000 - 101,000 136,000 - 141,000 68,000 - 70,500 119,000 - 124,000 46

101,000 - 106,000 141,000 - 146,000 70,500 - 73,000 124,000 - 129,000 41

106,000 - 111,000 146,000 - 151,000 73,000 - 75,500 129,000 - 134,000 36

111,000 - 116,000 151,000 - 156,000 75,500 - 78,000 134,000 - 139,000 31

116,000 - 121,000 156,000 - 161,000 78,000 - 80,500 139,000 - 144,000 26

121,000 - 126,000 161,000 - 166,000 80,500 - 83,000 144,000 - 149,000 21

126,000 - 131,000 166,000 - 171,000 83,000 - 85,500 149,000 - 154,000 16

131,000 - 136,000 171,000 - 176,000 85,500 - 88,000 154,000 - 159,000 11

136,000 - 141,000 176,000 - 181,000 88,000 - 90,500 159,000 - 164,000 6

141,000 - 146,000 181,000 - 186,000 90,500 - 93,000 164,000 - 169,000 1

over 146,000 over 186,000 over 93,000 over, 169,000 0
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■■■■■ Interest Income Received from State and Local Bonds
■■■■■ Regulated Investment Company
■■■■■ Federal Net Operating Loss Deduction
■■■■■ S Corporation and LLC Non-Nebraska Loss

INTEREST INCOME RECEIVED FROM STATE
AND LOCAL BONDS

Include on line 36a all of your interest received from state and
local bonds. While this income is exempt for federal tax
purposes, it is an addition to income for Nebraska income tax
purposes.

The interest income to be reported on line 36a includes, but
is not limited to, that which is reported on line 8b of Federal
Form  1040 or 1040A. This amount can be reduced by
expenses not previously deducted which relate to the
production of this income only if you claim federal itemized
deductions.

On line 36b, include interest from those bonds issued by
Nebraska state and local government subdivisions. This
includes bonds such as Nebraska municipal water bonds,

Nebraska Adjustments to Income
Nebraska Schedule  I

Adjustments Increasing Federal AGI (line 12, Form 1040N)
NPPD bonds, NIFA bonds, or local school district bond
obligations.

REGULATED INVESTMENT COMPANY
You must include on line 36a any income from a regulated
investment company (including certain mutual funds) which
invests in state and local obligations. Any part of the fund
dividend attributable to Nebraska source bonds may be
used to reduce the total income amount. Enter such part on
line 36b.

FEDERAL NET OPERATING LOSS DEDUCTION
If you deducted a federal net operating loss carryforward in
computing your federal AGI, you must include this amount as
a positive number on line 37 of Schedule I.

S CORPORATION AND LIMITED LIABILITY
COMPANY (LLC) NON-NEBRASKA LOSS

A loss from an S corporation or LLC that is not from Nebraska
sources increases an individual’s adjusted gross income. The
loss should be entered on line 37, Schedule I, as a positive
number.

ITEMIZED DEDUCTION WORKSHEET

Note: If your Nebraska itemized deductions on line 9, Form 1040N, are less than the federal standard deduction for your
filing status, complete the Nebraska standard deduction worksheet on page 9 to determine the larger of line 6 and line
9, Form 1040N (see instructions).

1 Enter itemized deductions from Federal Schedule A. Include totals from lines 4, 9,
14, 18,  19, 26, and 27 .................................................................................................... 1

2 Add from Federal Schedule A, the amounts on lines 4,13,18,19, plus any gambling
losses included on line 27 ............................................................................................... 2

3 Enter state and local income taxes from line 5, Federal Schedule A (enter on line 8,
Form 1040N) ................................................................................................................... 3

4 Add lines 2 and 3 ............................................................................................................ 4
5 Difference (subtract line 4 from line 1). If the result is zero, STOP; enter the amount

from line 1 above on line 7, Form 1040N ........................................................................ 5

6 Multiply line 5 by 80% (.80) ............................................................................................. 6

7 Enter your federal adjusted gross income (line 5, Form 1040N) ..................................... 7

8 Enter $121,200, or $60,600 if married-separate ............................................................. 8
9 Difference (subtract line 8 from line 7). If the result is zero or less, STOP; enter the

amount from line 1 above on line 7, Form 1040N ........................................................... 9

10 Multiply line 9 by 10% (.10) ............................................................................................. 10

11 Compare line 6 and line 10 and enter the smaller of the two amounts here ................... 11

12 Subtract line 11 from line 5 ............................................................................................. 12

13 Add line 12 and line 4 (enter on line 7, Form 1040N, total itemized deductions) ............ 13

Nebraska Itemized Deduction Worksheet – Lines 7 and 8, Form 1040N
Use if your federal adjusted gross income is more than $121,200

($60,600 if married filing separate)



Adjustments Decreasing Federal AGI (line 13, Form 1040N)
■■■■■ State Income Tax Refund Deduction
■■■■■ U.S. Government Obligations Exempt for State Purposes
■■■■■ Obligations Which Cannot be Deducted for Nebraska Tax

Purposes
■■■■■ Government Money Market or Mutual Funds (page 12)
■■■■■ Repurchase Agreements (page 12)
■■■■■ Railroad Retirement Board Pension Payments (page 12)
■■■■■ Special Capital Gains Deduction (page 12)
■■■■■ Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction (page 12)
■■■■■ S Corporation and Limited Liability Company

Non-Nebraska Income (page 12)
■■■■■ Native American Indian Reservation Income (page 12)
■■■■■ Claim of Right Repayment (page 12)
■■■■■ Nebraska Net Operating Loss Carryforward (page 12)

11

STATE INCOME TAX REFUND DEDUCTION
If you received a refund, credit, or offset of state
or local individual income tax in 1997 that is
included as taxable income on line 10 of your
Federal Form 1040, you may deduct this amount
on line 39 of Nebraska Schedule I.
If this is your only adjustment decreasing or
increasing income, do not file Schedule I. Instead,
check the box on line 13 of Form 1040N and
enter the state income tax refund on line 13.

U.S. GOVERNMENT OBLIGATIONS
EXEMPT FOR STATE PURPOSES

Interest or dividend income included in federal adjusted
gross income from the following sources is deductible
for Nebraska tax purposes. If you have income from one
of these obligations, include the type of bond and the
amount received from each on line 40a of Schedule I.
Attach a schedule, if necessary, listing all the bonds for
which a deduction is claimed. Note: capital gains from
the sale of U.S. obligations are not deductible. Exempt
U.S. government obligations include:

1. U.S. government bonds, such as series HH and EE
(interest is deductible only if the bond has been
issued after March 1, 1942),

2. U.S. Treasury bills (interest is deductible only if the
bill has been issued after March 1, 1942),

3. U.S. government notes,

4. U.S. government certificates,

5. Commodity Credit Corporation,

6. Federal Home Loan Banks,

7. Federal Reserve Banks (dividends are deductible
only if from stock issued after March 1, 1942),

8. Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation,

9. Tennessee Valley Authority securities,

10. Interest on debentures issued to mortgagees of
mortgages foreclosed under the National Housing
Act if insured after February 3, 1938,

11. Postal Service bonds,

12. Retirement bond as provided by I.R.C. section 409
(none issued after April 30, 1982),

13. Farm Credit Bank Consolidated System Wide bonds,

14. Farm Credit System including the following members
unless noted elsewhere:

a. Federal Land Banks and Federal Land Bank
Associations (dividends are deductible only if
from stock issued after March 28, 1942),

b. Federal Intermediate Credit Banks, and

c. Any other institution chartered by and subject
to the supervision of the Farm Credit
Administration unless noted elsewhere,

15. General Service Administration Participation
Certificates,

16. Financing Corporation established by Federal
Housing Finance Board, and

17. Resolution Funding Corporation.

Interest, but not dividend income, included in federal adjusted
gross income from the following sources is deductible for
Nebraska individual income tax purposes:

1. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (F.D.I.C.),

2. Student Loan Marketing Association,

3. Production Credit Association, or

4. Banks for Cooperatives.

OBLIGATIONS WHICH CANNOT BE DEDUCTED
FOR NEBRASKA TAX PURPOSES

Several quasi-governmental organizations issue bonds which
are not considered to be backed by the full faith and credit of
the U.S. government or whose licensing act did not specifically
exempt them from state taxation. These are NOT deductible
for Nebraska purposes:

1. Federal or State Banks,

2. Federal or State Savings and Loan Associations,

3. Building and Loan Associations,

4. Postal Savings Accounts (discontinued in 1966),

5. Export Import Bank bonds,

6. Federal or State Credit Unions,

7. Interest on debentures issued to mortgagees of
mortgages foreclosed under the National Housing
Act if insured before February 3, 1938,

8. Interest on federal income tax refunds,

9. Farmers Home Administration,

10. New Community debentures,

11. Merchant Marine bond,

12. Ship Financing bond,

13. U.S. Merchant Marine Ship notes,

14. U.S. Merchant Marine Offshore Ship Services notes,

15. Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation,

16. World Bank,

17. International Bank for Reconstruction and
Development bonds,

18. Asian Development Bank notes and bonds,

19. Inter-American Development Bank bonds,

20. Interest from U.S. Government Life Insurance (unless
exempted by I.R.C. section 101[d][1][B]),

21. Bankers’ Acceptance,
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22. Certificates of Deposit,

23. Penn Central Transportation certificates,

24. Federal Financing Bank,

25. Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA’s),

26. Government National Mortgage Association
(GNMA’s),

27. Chrysler Corporation secured notes,

28. Lockheed convertible bonds, and

29. Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority
bonds.

GOVERNMENT MONEY MARKET
OR MUTUAL FUNDS

Certain government money market or mutual funds issued
by regulated investment companies claim to be obligations of
the U.S. government.

Nebraska law provides that dividends from a regulated
investment company investing directly in exempt U.S.
government obligations are deductible to the extent they
represent exempt U.S. government obligations. To claim
a deduction on line 40b, the fund must issue to the holder a
statement showing the percent of the dividend which
represents exempt U.S. obligations. If you have received a
dividend from such a fund, you must list on line 40b of
Part B, Schedule I, the name of the fund and the portion of
the dividend representing exempt U.S. government
obligations.

Refer to the list on page 11 on what constitutes a deductible
U.S. government obligation.

REPURCHASE AGREEMENTS
Interest income from repurchase agreements involving U.S.
government obligations is not deductible as U.S. government
interest, and cannot be taken as an adjustment decreasing
federal adjusted gross income on line 13 of Form 1040N.

RAILROAD RETIREMENT BOARD
PENSION PAYMENTS

These payments are deductible on line 41 of Nebraska
Schedule I. They include Tier I and II payments, vested dual
benefits, and supplemental annuities, including sick pay and
unemployment paid by the Railroad Retirement Board that
are included in federal adjusted gross income. Attach a copy
of Forms RRB-1099 and RRB-1099-R to your return.

SPECIAL CAPITAL GAINS DEDUCTION
Nebraska resident individuals may elect to deduct from their
adjusted gross income the gain received from the sale or
exchange of capital stock of a “qualified” corporation acquired
either because of employment by the corporation or while

employed by the “qualified” corporation. Individuals are
entitled to one election during their lifetime for the capital
stock of one “qualified” corporation.

Special Capital Gains Election Computation, Form 4797N,
and a copy of Federal Schedule D must be attached to your
Form 1040N to report your election. The amount of the
deductible capital gain is entered on line 42, Schedule I.

NEBRASKA SELF-EMPLOYED
HEALTH INSURANCE DEDUCTION WORKSHEET

A deduction is allowed for health insurance coverage for self-
employed taxpayers to the extent not allowed as a deduction
or an adjustment on their federal return. Complete the
worksheet below to determine the amount that you can
deduct. Enter the result on line 43 of Nebraska Schedule I.

1. Enter line 1 of Federal Self-Employed
Health Insurance Deduction Worksheet ........ 1. ________

2. Enter line 3 of Federal Self-Employed
Health Insurance Deduction Worksheet ........ 2. ________

3. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 2 ................ 3. ________
4. Enter amount from line 4 of Federal Self-

Employed Health Insurance Deduction
Worksheet ........................................................ 4. ________

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3 ................................ 5. ________
6. If you itemized deductions,  enter line 3 of

Schedule A, Form 1040. If you did not
itemize deductions, enter line 5 from above .. 6. ________

7. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6. This is
your Nebr. self-employed health insurance
deduction. Enter here and on line 43 of
Nebraska Schedule I ...........................................7. ________

S CORPORATION AND LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY
NON-NEBRASKA INCOME

Income from an S corporation or limited liability company
that is not from Nebraska sources is deductible on line 44,
Schedule I. Attach Schedule K-1 received from the S
corporation or limited liability company together with a copy
of the Nebraska apportionment factor of the S corporation or
limited liability company.

NATIVE AMERICAN INDIAN RESERVATION INCOME
Native American Indians  residing on a Nebraska Native
American Indian reservation with income derived from
sources within the boundaries of the reservation may deduct
such income on line 44, Schedule I.

CLAIM OF RIGHT REPAYMENT
A taxpayer who is required on a federal return to take a credit
for a claim of right repayment may deduct the amount of the
repayment on line 44, Schedule I.

NEBRASKA NET OPERATING LOSS
CARRYFORWARD

A Nebraska net operating loss from an earlier year which is
available for carryforward to 1997 is deducted on line 44 of
Schedule I as an adjustment decreasing Federal AGI.
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printed with soy ink on recycled paper
Mail this return and payment to: NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, P.O. BOX 94818, LINCOLN, NE 68509-4818

( ) ( )

4 Federal exemptions (number of exemptions claimed on your 1997 federal return)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

2a Check if YOU were : (1) 65 or older (2) Blind

SPOUSE was: (3) 65 or older (4) Blind

2b Check here if someone (such as your parent) can claim
you or your spouse as a dependent:

(5)

PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT DATA

COUNTY OF RESIDENCE

Check here if you do not wish to receive a booklet next year, but
need only a name and address label for filing your 1998 return

Your Social Security Number Spouse’s Social Security No.

County:

Number:

• Read instructions
before completing

this form

If you entered -0- on Federal Form: 1040A, line 23; 1040EZ, line 10; Federal TeleFile Worksheet , line J;
or 1040, lines 39, 48, and 50, see Special Instructions on page 5, and check this box .

(1) Farmer/Rancher (2) Active Military (3) Deceased (first name & date of death):
Federal Filing Status

(1) Single
(2) Married, filing joint
(3) Married, filing separate – Spouse’s S. S. No.:

and Full Name

1
(4) Head of Household

(5) Widow(er) with dependent children

3 Type of Return: (1) Resident; (2) Part-yr. resident from - ,1997 to - , 1997 (attach Sch. III ); or (2) Nonresident (attach  Sch. III )

P
le

as
e 

T
yp

e 
or

 P
rin

t

sign
here

Keep a copy of
this return for
your records.

ne
dep
of

nebraska
department
of revenue

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that, as taxpayer or preparer, I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

Your Signature Date Signature of Preparer if Other Than Taxpayer Date

Spouse’s Signature (if filing jointly, both must sign) Daytime Phone Address Daytime Phone

8-417-97

First Name(s) and Initial(s) Last Name

Home Address (Number and Street or Rural Route and Box Number)

City, Town, or Post Office State Zip Code

L
A
B
E
L
H
E
R
E

5 Federal adjusted gross income (AGI) (line 16, Form 1040A; or line 4, Form 1040EZ or line H, TeleFile Worksheet; or line 32, Form 1040) 5
6 Federal standard deduction (line 19, Form 1040A; line I, TeleFile Worksheet;

Form 1040, or Form 1040EZ  – see instructions)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total itemized deductions (line 35, Form 1040 – see instructions)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 State and local income taxes (line 5, Schedule A, Form 1040 – see instructions) 8
9 Nebraska itemized deductions (line 7 minus line 8)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 Enter the amount from line 6 or line 9, whichever is greater (see instructions)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Nebraska income before adjustments (line 5 minus line 10)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Adjustments increasing federal AGI (line 38, from attached Nebr. Schedule I)  . . . 12
13 Adjustments decreasing federal AGI (line 45, from attached Nebr. Schedule I)  . . 13

If the amount on line 13 is ONLY for a state income tax refund deduction, check this box: (see instructions)
14 Nebraska tax table income (enter line 11 plus line 12 minus line 13). If less than -0-, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . 14
15 Nebraska income tax (residents use Nebr. Tax Table; others use Nebr. Sch. III )  . . 15
16 Nebraska minimum or other tax (Forms 6251, 4972, or 5329 – see instructions)  . . 16
17 Total Nebraska tax before personal exemption credit (add lines 15 and 16)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17
18 Nebraska personal exemption credit for residents only (line 4 multiplied by $86)

If line 5 is more than $101,000 – married/joint, $61,000 – single, $84,000 – head of household – see page 9
of instructions. Nonresidents & partial-year residents – enter -0-, and complete line 57, Nebr. Schedule III . 18

19 Credit for tax paid to another state (attach Nebr. Sch. II and other state’s return) 19
20 Credit for the elderly or disabled (attach copy of Fed. Sch. R/Sch. 3 — see instr.) 20
21 CDAA Credit (see instructions)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21
22 Form 3800N credit (attach Form 3800N)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22
23 Nebraska dependent/child care credit (from worksheet in instructions)  . . . . . . . . . 23
24 Total nonrefundable credits (add lines 18 through 23)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
25 Subtract line 24 from line 17 (if line 24 is more than line 17, enter -0-). If result is more than your federal tax

liability and line 12 is less than $5,000, see instr. If entering federal tax, check box: , attach federal return copy 25
26 Nebr. income tax withheld (attach 1997 W-2, W-2G, 1099-R, 1099-MISC, or 14N)  . 26
27 1997 estimated tax payments (include 1996 overpayment credited to 1997)  . . . . . 27
28 Form 4136N credit (attach Form 4136N)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Total of lines 26, 27, and 28  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30 AMOUNT YOU OWE (subtract line 29 from line 25 and pay in full with return). If over $300 and

Form 2210N is attached, check here: . Include penalty in line 30 and show here: 99 $ 30
31 If line 29 is more than line 25, subtract line 25 from line 29. This is the amount you OVERPAID  . . . . . . . . . . 31
32 Amount of line 31 you want APPLIED TO YOUR 1998 ESTIMATED TAX  . . . . . . 32
33 Nongame and endangered species fund DONATION of $1.00 or more  . . . . . . . . . 33
34 Nebraska campaign finance CONTRIBUTION of $2.00; $4.00 if married filing joint 34
35 Amount of line 31 you want REFUNDED (line 31 minus lines 32, 33, and 34). Allow 12 weeks for your refund. 35



PART A — Adjustments Increasing Federal AGI

PART B — Adjustments Decreasing Federal AGI — see complete instructions on pages 11-12 of the Nebraska booklet

Nebraska Schedule II — Credit for Tax Paid to Another State for FULL-YEAR RESIDENTS ONLY

• Attach additional pages if necessary
Nebraska Schedule I — Nebraska Adjustments to Income for Nebraska Residents, Nonresidents, & Partial-Year Residents

NEBRASKA SCHEDULE I — Nebraska Adjustments to Income
NEBRASKA SCHEDULE II — Credit for Tax Paid to Another State
NEBRASKA SCHEDULE III — Computation of Nebraska Tax

Name as Shown on Form 1040N Social Security Number

nebraska
department
of revenue • ATTACH THIS PAGE TO FORM 1040N

8-
41

8-
97

39 State income tax refund deduction (enter line 10, Federal Form 1040 — see instructions) .......................... 39
40 a Interest and dividend income from U.S. government obligations (list below or attach sch. — see instr.)

List type(s) and amount: 40 a $
b List fund name, total dividend, and percent of regulated investment company dividend(s)

from U.S. obligations:
Total dividend: $ x % = 40 b $

Enter total of lines 40a and 40b ...................................................................................................................... 40
41 Taxable Tier I or II  benefits paid by the Railroad Retirement Brd. Attach all Form(s) 1099 (see instr.):

List type(s) and amount: Enter line 41 total: ..... 41
42 Special capital gains election (attach Form 4797N and copy of Fed. Schedule D — see instructions) ............ 42
43 Nebraska self-employed health insurance deduction (see instructions) ............................................................ 43
44 Other adjustments decreasing taxable income (see instructions). Do not deduct other state’s income.

List type(s) and amount: 44
45 Total adjustments decreasing income  (total lines 39 through 44). Enter here and on line 13, Form 1040N 45

36 a Total interest income from all state and local obligations (municipal bonds) exempt from federal tax:
List type(s) and total amount: 36 a $

b Exempt interest income from Nebraska obligations (see instructions on page 11 of booklet):
List type(s) and amount: 36 b $
Enter the result of line 36a minus line 36b .....................................................................................................  36

37 Other adjustments increasing income (see instructions) ...................................................................................  37
38 Total adjustments increasing income  (line 36 plus line 37). Enter here and on line 12, Form 1040N ..........  38

1997

FORM 1040N
Sch. I , II , and III

• Complete a separate Schedule II for each state.
• A complete copy of the return filed with another state must be attached.
• If the entire return is not attached, credit for tax paid to another state will not be allowed. Name of state:

Nebraska Schedule III — Computation of Nebraska Tax for NONRESIDENTS AND PARTIAL-YEAR RESIDENTS ONLY

.=

=

• You must complete lines 1 through 14, Form 1040N. If you have state, local, or federal bond interest or other
adjustments, complete Parts A or B of Nebraska Schedule I . Use Schedule III  to calculate your Nebraska tax liability.

51 Income derived from Nebr. sources. Include income from wages, interest, and dividends; business, farming,
partnerships, S corporations, limited liability companies, estates and trusts, gain or loss, rents, and royalties.
If there is no Nebraska income or loss, enter -0-. List type(s) and amount: 51

52 Adjustments as applied to Nebraska income, if any (see instructions on reverse side).
List type(s) and amount: 52

53 Nebraska adjusted gross income (line 51 minus line 52) ..................................................................................  53
54 Ratio — Nebraska’s share of the total income (calculate to 5 decimal places, and round to 4):

54
55 Tax table income (line 14, Form 1040N) ............................................................................................................ 55
56 Tax from Nebraska Tax Table on line 55 income: $                                , plus any additional tax from

Additional Tax Rate Schedule: $                                , minus credits: list type and
amount $                                . See instructions. Enter net result ....................................................................... 56

57 Enter personal exemption credit  (see personal exemption chart on page 9 of instructions) .......................... 57
58 Difference (line 56 minus line 57). If less than 0, enter -0- and apply the unused personal exemption credit

against any minimum taxes on line 60 ............................................................................................................... 58
59 Multiply line 58 by the ratio you computed on line 54. Enter result here and on line 15, Form 1040N .............. 59
60 Minimum and other taxes, see line 16 instructions and complete worksheet on page 7. Worksheet

total, $                                    minus any unused personal exemption credit from line 58                             ,
equals . Multiply this amount by line 54 ratio                               . Enter result here and on
line 16, Form 1040N ........................................................................................................................................... 60

Line 53
Line 5 + Line 12 - Line 13 = Total + -

46 Nebraska income tax (line 17, Form 1040N) ...................................................................................................... 46
47 Adjusted gross income derived from another state (do not enter amount of taxable income from the other state) 47
48

49 Tax due and paid to another state (do not enter amount withheld for the other state) ...................................... 49
50 Maximum tax credit (line 46, 48, or 49, whichever is least). Enter amount here and on line 19, Form 1040N .. 50

Calculated tax credit (see instructions)
Line 47

Line 5 + Line 12 - Line 13 = Total + - 48x Line 46



INSTRUCTIONS
If a husband and wife file separate Nebraska returns but a joint return in
another state, attach a calculation of each spouse’s share of the total tax paid
to the other state. Use the net income of each spouse that is taxed by the other
state in the calculation.

NEBRASKA SCHEDULE  III
Taxpayers filing a nonresident or partial-year resident return are to complete
Nebraska Schedule III, Form 1040N, to determine the tax on their income
derived from or connected with Nebraska sources.
LINE 51. Enter the income derived from Nebraska sources, or attach a
schedule with the source and amount of income and deductions,
characterized as they were on the federal return. Nebraska income for a
partial-year resident includes all items of Nebraska income for a nonresident
plus all of the income earned after becoming a Nebraska resident that is not
taxed by another state. This includes dividends, interest, pension income, the
sale of intangibles, and wages earned outside Nebraska.
Wages, salaries, tips, and commissions  are the same amounts
included in your federal income tax return derived from or connected with
Nebraska sources. If the books and records do not clearly reflect specific
identification of each income item, apportion the income to Nebraska based
on either the days worked in Nebraska to the total days worked, or the volume
of business transacted. Attach an explanation.
Dividends, interest, and other passive income such as gains or
losses from the sale of stock or securities are usually not considered income
from Nebraska for a nonresident unless earned in a business carried on in
Nebraska. Do not include income from U.S. obligations listed on line 40.
Business income  is the amount of net income or loss from a business,
trade, or profession in Nebraska. Activity both within and without Nebraska,
where the income is taxable in another state, must be apportioned in the same
manner as a corporation. Business income is multiplied by an apportionment
factor to determine the amount taxable by Nebraska.
Farming income  is the amount of net income or loss from farming
operations carried on within Nebraska.
Partnership, S corporation, limited liability company, estate or
trust income is the individual’s share of the entity’s income and deductions
derived from Nebraska.
Gain or loss  is the net amount of all capital gains and losses derived in
Nebraska from the sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion of real or
personal tangible or intangible property.
Rent and royalty income  is the net amount of rent and royalty income
derived from or connected with Nebraska sources.
Lottery prizes  are derived from Nebraska sources when awarded in a
lottery game conducted pursuant to the Nebraska Lottery Act.
A net operating loss carryforward may be deducted only if it resulted
from Nebraska sources. (Attach Form NOL)
LINE 52. Include the adjustments reported on lines 23 through 30a of
Federal Form 1040, or line 15 of Federal Form 1040A, that apply to income
from Nebraska sources. Penalty on early savings withdrawal is deductible
only if directly related to Nebraska income reported on line 51. Payments to
an IRA, a self-employed health insurance plan, or a Keogh or SEP plan
attributed to Nebraska income included on line 51 are deductible only to the
extent of the ratio of the payments based on the Nebraska wages or self-
employment income to the total wages or income for which the payments
were made. Identify the adjustment(s). Moving expenses as reported on
Federal Form 3903 or 3903-F may only be deducted by partial-year
residents who moved into Nebraska.
LINE 54. Calculate the factor to at least five decimal places and then round
to four decimals. For example, if the line 54 answer is .12346, round to .1235
(12.35%) before computing line 59. Even if lines 5 and 51 are negative
numbers, the ratio computed in line 54 cannot exceed 100 percent.
LINE 56. Enter, from the Nebraska Tax Table, the Nebraska tax on line 55
income. Also enter any tax from the Additional Tax Rate Schedule if your
federal adjusted gross income is more than $121,200 (see instructions).
Partial-year residents show any Nebraska credit for the elderly or
disabled, credit for child and dependent care expenses, or credit for prior
year minimum tax. Nonresidents show credit for prior year minimum tax.
(Nonresidents are not allowed a Nebraska credit for the elderly or disabled
or a credit for child and dependent care expenses.) See lines 16, 20, or 23
instructions.
Do not enter credit on lines 16, 20, or 23. Line 56 cannot be less than zero.
LINE 57. Enter your personal exemption credit from the personal
exemption chart on page 9 of the instructions. Multiply the credit listed in
the chart by the number of exemptions reported on line 4. Do not enter on
line 18.

NEBRASKA SCHEDULE  I
LINE 36. The amount to be reported on line 36 includes the income
reported on line 8b of Federal Form 1040, or line 8b of Federal
Form 1040A. Review the instructions on page 10 of the Nebraska
Individual Income Tax Booklet. List on line 36a all state and local
government interest income that is federally exempt. On line 36b, list
bonds that were issued by Nebraska or its local subdivisions.
LINE 37. Report any other allowable adjustments increasing federal
adjusted gross income. Taxpayers receiving an S corporation or limited
liability company loss distribution from non-Nebraska sources must enter
the loss amount on line 37. Also include any federal net operating loss
carryforward deducted on the federal return. Enter as a positive number.
LINE 39. Any individual income tax refund, credit, or offsets of state and
local income taxes on line 10, Federal Form 1040, received in 1997 is listed
on line 39. If this is your only Schedule I adjustment, enter this amount
directly on line 13 of Form 1040N. You do not need to file Schedule I.
LINE 40. List interest and dividend income from U.S. government
obligations on line 40a. See the instructions on pages 11-12 of the Nebraska
booklet. List the name of the obligation and the amount of income derived
from each on the lines provided or attach a separate listing. If you have a
dividend from a regulated investment company which includes U.S.
interest, list the name of the fund and the percentage of U.S. interest on
line 40b. Note: Capital gains from the sale of U.S. obligations are not
deductible.
LINE 41. List any federally taxed Tier I or II retirement benefits paid by the
Railroad Retirement Board. This would include any dual vested benefits or
supplemental annuities. Also report any unemployment and sickness
insurance payments issued by the Railroad Retirement Board. Attach a copy
of Forms RRB-1099 and RRB-1099-R from the Railroad Retirement Board.
LINE 42. See instructions on page 12 of the Nebraska Individual Income Tax
Booklet and the Special Capital Gains Election Computation, Form 4797N.
LINE 43. Enter the Nebraska self-employed health insurance deduction
from the worksheet you completed on page 12.
LINE 44. Enter any other allowable adjustments decreasing federal adjusted
gross income. See instructions on page 12. Allowable deductions may
include, but are not limited to:

1. Any amount repaid by taxpayer for which a federal credit was
received because of a claim of right repayment;

2. An S corporation shareholder’s or limited liability company
member’s income from non-Nebraska sources;

3. A Native American Indian’s income derived from a Nebraska
Indian reservation, if residing on the reservation; or

4. A Nebraska net operating loss carryforward.
NEBRASKA SCHEDULE  II

Complete Credit for Tax Paid to Another State, Nebraska Schedule II, if you
were a Nebraska resident the entire year and are claiming credit for income
tax paid to another state, political subdivision, or the District of Columbia.
Partial-year residents, even though having established residency as of
December  31, 1997, must use Nebraska Schedule III.
Prepare a separate Schedule II to compute the allowable credit for each state
in which you paid income tax. However, if some income is subject to an
income tax of both another state and a city in that state, complete only one
Schedule II and combine the city and state taxes paid. The total credits cannot
exceed the tax liability.
Attach a copy of the complete income tax return, including schedules and
attachments filed with the state or city for which the credit is claimed. Or,
attach a copy of a letter or statement from the other state or city showing the
income and the tax paid. If not attached to Schedule II, the credit will not
be allowed. If you are claiming credit for income tax paid to a state’s
political subdivision not requiring the filing of an annual income tax return,
attach a Form W-2 which shows the subdivision’s tax withheld.
LINE 47. Enter the amount shown on the return filed with the other state as
adjusted gross income, or gross income derived from sources within that
state. Do not include any income from S corporations or limited liability
companies reported on line 44 or income which is not included in federal
adjusted gross income after Nebraska adjustments from lines 12 and 13,
Form 1040N.
LINE 48. Calculate the factors to at least five decimal places, and then round
to four decimals. If your division result is .12346, round to .1235 (12.35%).
LINE 49.  Enter the amount actually paid to the other state. It is shown on the
attached return of the other state after subtracting the other state’s
nonrefundable credits. The total of the other state’s tax withheld on the
wage and tax statement is not to be claimed on this line, except for a
political subdivision of another state that does not require the filing of an
annual income tax return.


