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Section O — Motor Vehicle Registration  
and Licensing Fees

Basic Provisions and Tax Base

Motor vehicles, trailers, semi-trailers, or cabin trailers operated on Nebraska highways must be registered 
and have specified fees paid as directed by the Nebraska statutes. Every snowmobile operated in Nebraska 
must also be registered.

The Highway Trust Fund is credited with:
	 1.	 All registration fees collected by county treasurers, except as provided in §§ 60-3,156,  

39-2215(3), and 60-3,141;
	 2.	 70% of all registration fees collected for apportioned vehicles (§ 60-3,202);
	 3.	 Up to $3.50 per plate fee as set by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)  

(§ 60-3,102);
	 4.	 The amount of unladen weight registration fees (§ 60-3,198[10]); 
	 5.	 All film vehicle fees collected by the DMV (§ 60-383);
	 6.	 A portion of all personalized message plate fees (§ 60-3,119);
	 7.	 A portion of all Nebraska Cornhusker Spirit Plate fees (§ 60-3,128); and
	 8.	 A portion of all organizational license plate fees (§ 60-3,104.01).

The Highway Cash Fund is credited with the amount of registration fees collected from:
	 1.	 Trip permits issued via the DMV online permit system (§ 60-3,198 [11]);
	 2.	 Permanent plate fees for apportioned vehicles (§ 60-3,203);
	 3.	 Grain hauling permits (§ 60-3,112);
	 4.	 Nonresident carnival operator permits (§ 60-384); and
	 5.	 Local trucks operating beyond their specified limits for the purpose of equipping, modifying,  

or servicing the truck (§ 60-3,110).

The DMV Cash Fund is credited with $2 from each registration issued; a portion of the fees collected from 
the sale of personalized message plates, Nebraska Cornhusker Spirit plates, Gold Star Family message 
plates, special interest motor vehicle license plates, organizational plates, and Nebraska 150 Sesquicentennial 
license plates. Twenty-five percent of the net registration fees obtained from snowmobile registrations is 
credited to the State General Fund. The Nebraska Snowmobile Trail Cash Fund is credited with 75% of 
the net registration fees obtained from snowmobile registrations.

The International Registration Plan Distributive Fund is credited with fees obtained from owners operating 
fleets of apportionable commercial motor vehicles in Nebraska for interstate commerce who, in lieu of 
general registration, register and license their fleet under the prorate provision contained in the statutes.
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		  Actual or
		  Estimated Tax
Statutory Reference	 Expenditure Cost
and Description	 (NA = Not Available)

Exemptions
Section 60-339		
The following are not included in the definition of motor vehicles and are therefore exempted	 NA 
from registration fees: 

•	 mopeds; 
•	 farm tractors; 
•	 self-propelled equipment designed and used exclusively to carry and apply  
	 fertilizer, chemicals, or related products to agricultural soil and crops; 
•	 other implements of husbandry designed for and used primarily for tilling the soil,  
	 harvesting crops, or feeding livestock; 
•	 vehicles which run only on rails or tracks; 
•	 off-road designed vehicles including, but not limited to, golf  carts, go-carts, riding
	 lawn mowers, garden tractors, all terrain vehicles, utility-type vehicles, snowmobiles,  
	 and mini bikes; 
•	 road, general purpose construction, and maintenance machinery not designed or used 
	 primarily for the transportation of persons or property including, but not limited to,  
	 ditch digging apparatus, asphalt spreaders, bucket loaders, leveling graders, earth  
	 moving carryalls, power shovels, earth moving equipment, and crawler tractors; 
•	 self-propelled chairs used by persons who are disabled; 
•	 electric personal assistive mobility devices; and
•	 bicycles.

Sections 60-366 and 60-367		
A nonresident owner operating a foreign vehicle in Nebraska is not required to register this	 NA
vehicle or pay any fees if  the car has been properly registered in the foreign state and the  
number plates are displayed while in operation. However, any nonresident owner whose  
passenger car is operated in Nebraska for 30 or more days will register this car in the same  
manner as a Nebraska resident, unless the state of his or her residence grants immunity from  
these requirements to residents of Nebraska operating a passenger car in that state.

Section 60-373		
Each licensed dealer in motor vehicles or dealer in trailers doing business in Nebraska, 
instead of registering each motor vehicle or trailer which the dealer owns that is a type  
otherwise required to be registered, or any employee of such dealer, may: (a) operate or  
move the same upon the streets and highways of Nebraska solely for purposes of  
transporting, testing, demonstrating, or use in the ordinary course and conduct of his or her  
business as a motor vehicle or trailer dealer, including the personal or private use of the  
dealer, and including the personal or private use of any bona fide employee, or for  
transporting industrial equipment held by the licensee for purposes of demonstration, sale,  
rental, or delivery; or (b) sell the same without registering each motor vehicle or trailer if   
dealer number plates are displayed on the vehicle.

Each licensed manufacturer who manufactures or assembles motor vehicles, motorcycles, or	 NA
trailers, in lieu of the registering of each motor vehicle or trailer which the manufacturer  
owns which is a type otherwise required to be registered, or any employee of the manufacturer,  
may operate or move the same upon the streets and highways of Nebraska solely for purposes  
of transporting, testing, demonstrating to prospective customers, or use in the ordinary course  
and conduct of business as a motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer manufacturer, upon the  
condition that the dealer number plates be displayed on the vehicle.

Finance companies licensed to do business in Nebraska may, in lieu of registering each motor	 NA
vehicle or trailer repossessed, make an application for a repossession certificate and one  
repossession plate for a fee of $10.
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Any transporter doing business in Nebraska may, in lieu of registering each motor vehicle or 	 NA
trailer which the transporter is transporting, make an application to the DMV for a  
transporter’s certificate and one transporter number plate for a fee of $10.

Section 60-368		
Nonresidents, certified by the Nebraska Department of Labor as being engaged in temporary	 NA
agricultural employment within Nebraska, are exempt from licensing passenger vehicles for  
60 days, provided the vehicle is duly licensed in their state of residence.

Section 60-3,160		
No registration fee is collected on any motor vehicle owned by any city or village of Nebraska	 $848,556
used in connection with police, street, public transportation, park, library, or fire prevention  
activity, fire trucks owned and used by any rural fire protection district, and motor vehicles  
owned and operated by the Civil Air Patrol; nor any motor vehicle owned and used by any  
public school district, county, state, or U.S. government, municipal public body, or authority  
used in operating a public passenger transportation system.

Section 60-3,185		
In addition to the registration fees provided by Chapter 60, article 3, and the motor vehicle fee	 NA
imposed in section 60-3,190, a motor vehicle tax is imposed on motor vehicles registered for  
operation upon the highways of Nebraska except: (1) Motor vehicles exempt from the  
registration fee in section 60-3,160; (2) One motor vehicle owned and used for his or her  
personal transportation by a disabled or blind honorably discharged veteran of the U.S. Armed  
Forces as defined in section 77-202.23 whose disability or blindness is recognized by the  
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs if  an application for the exemption has been approved  
under subsection (1) of section 60-3,189; (3) Motor vehicles owned by Indians as defined in  
25 U.S.C. 479; (4) Motor vehicles owned by a member of the U.S. Armed Forces serving in  
Nebraska in compliance with military or naval orders if  this person is a resident of a state  
other than Nebraska; (5) Motor vehicles owned by the state and its governmental subdivisions  
and exempt as provided in subdivision (1)(a) of section 77-202; and (6) Motor vehicles owned  
and used exclusively by an organization or society qualified for a tax exemption provided in  
subdivision (1)(b) or (1)(c) of section 77-202 if  an application for the exemption provided in  
this subdivision has been approved under subsection (2) of section 60-3,189.

Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act (section 60-3,185[4])	
This federal act allows nonresident military personnel stationed at a military base in Nebraska, 	 NA
or in one of the various recruiting services, to obtain tax-free license plates. Only the motor	 (Federal law 
vehicle tax is exempt; the license fee and sales tax must be paid.		  prohibits state 
			   taxation)

Credits
Section 60-398		
A nonresident may, if  he or she applies within 90 days from the original registration date and	 NA
surrenders the registration certificate and the license which were assigned, receive a refund in  
the amount of 50% of the original license fee; except no refund will be made on any license  
surrendered after the ninth month of the registration period for which the vehicle was registered.

Section 60-3,198(8)		
A Nebraska-based fleet owner may file an application with the DMV to delete a registered	 NA
motor vehicle from a fleet of registered motor vehicles because the vehicle is disabled and  
has been removed from service, and return the registration certificate or certificates. The fleet  
owner receives a credit for that portion of the registration fee deposited in the Highway Trust  
Fund based upon the number of unexpired months remaining in the registration year.

Section 60-3,200		
Whenever a motor vehicle has been registered by the owner under the provisions of § 60-362, the	 NA
motor vehicle taxes imposed in § 60-3,185,and the motor vehicle fee imposed in § 60-3,190 have 
been paid on that motor vehicle for the registration period, and the motor vehicle is registered  
under the prorate provisions of § 60-3,198, the DMV, upon application of the owner of the motor  
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vehicle, is to certify that the motor vehicle owner is entitled to receive the refund of the unused  
registration fees, motor vehicle taxes, and motor vehicle fees for the registration period.

Section 60-395		
The registered owner of a motor vehicle or cabin trailer which is sold or lost due to fire, theft,	 NA
dismantlement, junking, or when a salvage certificate of title is issued, may, or whenever a type  
or class of motor vehicle previously registered is subsequently declared by legislative act or  
court decision to be illegal or ineligible to be operated on the public roads and no longer  
subject to registration fees or taxes, or in case of a change in the tax situs of a motor vehicle  
to a location outside of Nebraska, may, by returning the registration certificate, the number  
plates and renewal tabs, and after making an affidavit to the county treasurer of such transfer  
of loss, receive a refund of that part of the unused fees on passenger vehicles, trucks, and  
cabin trailers based on the number of unexpired months remaining in the registration period.  
The registered owner must make claim for refund or credit within 60 days from the date of the  
event. The date of the event will be the date of the transfer or loss, the date of registration in  
another state, the effective date of the legislative act, or the date the court decision is rendered.

Section 60-396		
Whenever the registered owner files an application with his or her county treasurer showing	 NA
that a motor vehicle is disabled and has been removed from service, the registered owner may, 
by returning the registration certificate, number plates, and when appropriate, the renewal tabs,  
or in the case of the unavailability of these certificates, number plates or tabs, then by making  
an affidavit to the treasurer of such disablement and removal from service, receive a credit for  
a portion of the registration fee from the fee deposited with the State Treasurer at the time of  
registration based upon the number of unexpired months remaining in the registration year.

Preferential Tax Rates
Section 60-3,198		
Any owner engaged in operating a fleet of apportionable vehicles in Nebraska in interstate,	 NA
commerce may, in lieu of registration of these vehicles under the general provisions of  
sections 60-301 to 60-3,220, register and license this fleet for operation in Nebraska by filing  
a sworn statement and the application required by section 60-3,203 with the DMV. Upon  
receipt of this statement and application, the DMV shall determine the total fee payment  
which shall be equal to the amount of fees due pursuant to section 60-3,203 and the amount  
obtained by applying the proportion of in-state fleet miles to total fleet miles, as reported in  
these states, to a fee of $32 per ton based upon gross vehicle weight of the empty weights of  
any trailer, semi-trailer, or combination thereof with which it is to be operated in  
combination at any one time, plus the weight of the maximum load to be carried thereon at  
any one time. The registered vehicles shall be exempt from all further registration and  
license fees under sections 60-301 to 60-3,220 for movement or operation in the State of  
Nebraska, except as provided in section 60-3,203.

Section 60-3,145		
Local vehicles operated solely within a ten-mile radius of an incorporated city or village’s	 $141,085
corporate limits must pay a registration fee of 30% of the regular commercial registration,  
but never less than $18.

Section 60-3,146		
For farm trucks, except for farm trucks or combinations of trucks or truck-tractors and		 $34,554,750 
trailers or semi-trailers having a gross vehicle weight exceeding 16 tons, the registration  
fee is $18 for up to and including five tons gross vehicle weight. In excess of five tons,  
the fee is $22. For a truck or a combination of truck or truck-tractor and trailer or  
semi-trailer, the registration fees are: for a gross weight in excess of 16 tons up to and  
including 20 tons, $40 plus five dollars for each ton of gross weight over 17 tons; and  
for gross weight exceeding 20 tons, $65 plus $10 for each ton of gross weight over  
20 tons. Fees are based on the combined gross weight as provided in section 60-3,147,  
but at a reduced rate.

Section O, Page 4

http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-395
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-396
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,198
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,203
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,203
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,203
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,145
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,146
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-3,147
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/search_range_statute.php?begin_section=60-301&end_section=60-3%2C220
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/search_range_statute.php?begin_section=60-301&end_section=60-3%2C220


2016 Nebraska Tax Expenditure Report

Section 60-3,147(4)(6)		
Commercial trucks used exclusively for the transportation of livestock, unprocessed milk, poultry, 	 NA
grain, sugar beets, potatoes, and hay, must pay fees at a rate of 10% less than other  
commercial trucks.

Section 60-3,149		
Trucks, truck-tractors, trailers, or semi-trailers which are not for hire, owned by those engaged in	 $88,391
soil and water conservation work, and used for the purpose of transporting pipe and equipment  
used exclusively by these contractors, must pay registration fees at one-half  of the commercial  
truck fee rate, but in no case less than the minimum fee of $18.

Section 60-3,111		
Special 30-day farm permits at one-twelfth of the commercial truck fee, but never less than $25, 	 Minimal
can be used by farmers or ranchers for trucks used exclusively to carry their own supplies,  
farm equipment, and household goods to and from the owner’s farm and ranch, and used to  
carry the owner’s agricultural products, livestock, and produce to or from storage or market.

Section 60-3,151		
Trailers in Nebraska are registered and pay differing fees depending upon their classification:	 NA

Utility trailer - $1 per 1,000 pounds of gross weight up to 9,000 pounds;	

Farm trailer - $1 regardless of weight;

Fertilizer trailer - $1 regardless of weight, or $3 per ton when the registration weight  
is to a separate unit;	

Commercial trailer or semi-trailer - $1 regardless of weight; and

Pole and cable reel trailer - $2 per 1,000 pounds of gross weight up to 16,000 pounds.

Section 60-3,151	
Recreational vehicles are registered and pay differing fees depending upon their classification:	 NA

Self-propelled mobile home -  
	 8,000 pounds or less	 = $18
	 8,001-11,999 pounds	 = $30
	 12,000 pounds and over	 = $42

Cabin trailers without motive power -
	 1,000 pounds or less	 = $  9
 	 1,001-1,999 pounds	 = $12
 	 2,000 pounds and over	 = $15

Section 60-3,155		
Well-boring apparatus pay a registration fee of one-twelfth of the regular commercial 		  $440,873
registration fee.
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