Section N — Motor Vehicle, Diesel, Aircraft, and
Compressed Fuels Taxes

Basic Provisions and Tax Base

Motor Fuels Tax — Motor Vehicle Fuels and Diesel Fuels

Motor vehicle fuels and undyed diesel fuels are subject to an excise tax imposed on the motor fuels
received, imported, produced, refined, manufactured, compounded, or blended in the State of Nebraska
for use, distribution, sale, or delivery in Nebraska. Motor vehicle fuels include all products commonly or
commercially known as gasoline, gasohol, ethanol, casing head gasoline, and natural gasoline. Products
such as naphtha, methanol, benzine, and benzol, although not defined as motor vehicle fuels, are subject
to tax if placed directly into a licensed motor vehicle or blended into gasoline at a point in the distribution
chain after the refinery. Diesel fuels include all combustible liquids suitable for use in diesel-powered motor
vehicles including biodiesel blends. It does not include kerosene which is subject to tax if it is blended with
undyed diesel fuel.

Dyed diesel fuel placed in licensed motor vehicles by governmental agencies is also subject to motor fuels
tax. Governmental agencies placing dyed diesel fuel in a licensed motor vehicle must remit motor fuels use
tax by filing the Nebraska Motor Fuels Use Tax Return, Form 74.

Businesses licensed as producers, suppliers, distributors, wholesalers, importers, or exporters report and
remit the motor fuels tax. Retailers, while licensed, are not required to file returns. Instead, they are subject
to field record reviews or audits. Liquid fuel carrier licenses and terminal operator licenses are required for
businesses involved in the movement of motor fuels in the State of Nebraska. The proper license may be
obtained by completing a Nebraska Motor Fuels License Application, Form 20MFE.

The motor fuels tax is subject to change each January 1 and July 1, and consists of a fixed portion, a
variable excise tax rate, and a variable wholesale component. The fixed portion excise tax was 10.3 cents per
gallon through December 31, 2015. The fixed portion increased to 11.8 cents per gallon on January 1, 2016,
and will be increased by an additional 1.5 cents per gallon each January 1 through 2019. The variable excise
tax rate is set to meet appropriations. The variable wholesale component is 5% of the average wholesale
price of gasoline for the previous six months. The total motor fuels tax per gallon for the first half of 2015
was 25.6 cents. For the second half of 2015, it was 26.1 cents. For the first half of 2016, it was 26.8 cents.
For the second half of 2016, it is 25.8 cents.

The business producing, importing, or removing motor fuels from a Nebraska fuel pipeline terminal has
the option to remit the tax or to pass the liability on to a customer who is a licensed supplier, distributor,
exporter, or wholesaler. If the tax liability is passed on to the customer, the customer must remit the tax to
Nebraska, and cannot subsequently sell that fuel tax-free unless a qualified exemption applies.

Qualified exemptions for motor vehicle fuels are:
* exports with sales or use in a state other than Nebraska;
» sales to the U.S. or its agencies, and federal corporations wholly owned by the U.S;
+ sales to a metropolitan transit authority;
* natural gasoline purchased by ethanol producers for use as a denaturant; or

* sales in Indian country, as defined by federal law, to a Native American Indian residing in
Indian country.'

Under the authority of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 66-741, agreements are in effect with the Winnebago Tribe, the Santee Sioux Tribe, and
the Omaha Tribe, which eliminate this exemption on their reservations. These agreements provide that the tribes will collect a tribal
tax equivalent to the Nebraska motor fuels tax on all reservation retail pump sales. It further provides that the tribes and the State of
Nebraska share the motor fuels tax revenue in accordance with the negotiated apportionment. These agreements extend to all products
subject to the Nebraska motor fuels tax.
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While natural gasoline purchased for use as a denaturant in the production of ethanol is exempted from the
motor fuels tax, it is subject to an excise tax reported and remitted by licensed ethanol producers. The tax
of 1.25 cents per gallon is deposited into the Agricultural Alcohol Fuel Tax Fund (AAFTF).

Qualified exemptions for diesel fuels are:

» exports with sales or use in a state other than Nebraska;

» sales to the U.S. or its agencies, and federal corporations wholly owned by the U.S.;

* sales to a metropolitan transit authority;

+ sales in Indian country to a Native American Indian residing in Indian country'; and

* sales of 50 gallons or less for use in a temperature control unit (reefer) or power-take-off unit.
The consumer of the reefer fuel must submit an approved exemption certificate to the retailer
and must also pay applicable sales tax.

A refund of the motor fuels tax paid on gallons used in unlicensed equipment may be claimed by completing
a Nebraska Non-Ag Use Motor Fuels Tax Refund Claim, Form 84, or a Nebraska Ag Use Motor Fuels
Tax Refund Claim, Form 84AG. Claims may be submitted whenever the motor fuels tax claimed exceeds
$25 within a calendar year. The minimum must be met within a calendar year for each fuel type claimed.

Aircraft Fuels Tax

Aircraft fuels are subject to an excise tax imposed upon aircraft fuels purchased for and used in aircraft
within the State of Nebraska. Aircraft fuels include aviation gasoline, jet fuel, or any other fuel used and
consumed exclusively for the purpose of propelling aircraft. Aviation gasoline is taxed at five cents per
gallon, and aviation jet fuel is taxed at three cents per gallon.

Reporting and remitting of the aircraft fuels tax is done by businesses licensed as a supplier, distributor,
wholesaler, importer, or exporter. Retailers, while licensed, are not required to file reports. Instead, they are
subject to field record reviews. Liquid fuel carrier licenses and terminal operator licenses are required for
businesses involved in the movement of aircraft fuels in the State of Nebraska. The proper license may be
obtained by completing a Nebraska Motor Fuels License Application, Form 20MFE.

The aircraft fuels tax is administered in the same manner as the tax on motor vehicle fuels with regard to
the point of taxation and exemptions.

Compressed Fuel Tax

The Nebraska compressed fuel tax is an excise tax imposed on retail sales of compressed fuel being placed
in a licensed motor vehicle, or to an end user who intends to use the fuel by placing it in a licensed motor
vehicle. Compressed fuel includes compressed natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural gas,
and any other compressed fuel used to power a motor vehicle. Persons required to be licensed as compressed
fuel retailers are those who are engaged in the business of selling or otherwise providing compressed fuel
to consumers of the fuel for use in a motor vehicle. A retailer who has equipment capable of dispensing
compressed fuel into a motor vehicle must also be licensed as a compressed fuel retailer. Application for
the required license is completed by submitting a Nebraska Motor Fuels License Application, Form 20MFE.

Compressed fuel is taxed at the same rate as motor vehicle and diesel fuels. Purchases of compressed fuel
to be placed in licensed motor vehicles by the U.S. government, and purchases made on a Nebraska Indian
reservation by a Native American that resides on a Nebraska Indian reservation, are exempt from the
compressed fuel tax.!

"Under the authority of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 66-741, agreements are in effect with the Winnebago Tribe, the Santee Sioux Tribe, and
the Omaha Tribe, which eliminate this exemption on their reservations. These agreements provide that the tribes will collect a tribal
tax equivalent to the Nebraska motor fuels tax on all reservation retail pump sales. It further provides that the tribes and the State of
Nebraska share the motor fuels tax revenue in accordance with the negotiated apportionment. These agreements extend to all products
subject to the Nebraska motor fuels tax.
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Statutory Reference
and Description

Exemptions

Section 14-1810
Motor vehicle, compressed, and diesel fuels sold to and used in the operations of a
metropolitan transit authority are exempt from tax.

Sections 66-4,103 and 66-4,116
Exempts foreign or interstate commerce from motor fuels tax.

Section 66-489
Natural gasoline purchased by producers for use as denaturant.

Section 66-489
Federal law prohibits the state from taxing the U.S. or its agencies on their motor
fuel purchases.

Section 66-495

Undyed diesel fuel used in the operation of temperature control units or power take-off
units may be purchased tax-free, if the fuel is purchased in quantities of 50 gallons or less,
and placed directly into the supply tank of an engine not connected to the main supply tank
of a licensed motor vehicle. The consumer of the fuel must submit an approved exemption
certificate to the retailer and must also pay applicable sales tax.

Deductions

Section 66-486

A motor vehicle fuel producer, supplier, distributor, wholesaler, or importer can deduct a
commission of 5% of the first $5,000 of tax, and 2.5% of all amounts over $5,000 of tax
remitted each month.

Sections 66-486, 3-148, and 3-149
An aircraft fuel supplier, distributor, wholesaler, or importer can deduct a commission of 5% of
the first $5,000 of tax, and 2.5% of all amounts over $5,000 of tax remitted each month.

Section 66-486
A diesel fuel producer, supplier, distributor, wholesaler, or importer can deduct a commission

of 2% of the first $5,000 of tax, and 0.5% of all amounts over $5,000 of tax remitted each month.

Section 66-6,113
A compressed fuel retailer can deduct a commission of 2% of the first $5,000 of tax, and 0.5% of
all amounts over $5,000 of tax remitted each tax period.

Credits and Refunds

Section 66-489

Motor fuels sold and used in buses equipped to carry more than seven persons for hire and
engaged entirely in the transportation of passengers for hire within municipalities or within a
radius of six miles.

Sections 66-489 and 66-741

Diesel, compressed, and motor vehicle fuels sold in Indian country, as defined by federal law,
to a Native American Indian residing in Indian country. This exemption does not apply to
retail pump sales made on the Winnebago, Santee Sioux, and Omaha Reservations per
agreements between the tribes and Nebraska (see footnote 1 of Section N, page 1).

Estimated Tax
Expenditure Cost
(NA = Not Available)

$230,000

NA
(State taxation
prohibited)

$10,420,000

$360,000
(State taxation
prohibited)

$180,000

$6,010,000

$50,000

$670,000

$9,000

$110,000

Minimal
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Section 66-726
Refund of motor fuels tax which was paid on fuel:
Destroyed
Sold in a state outside Nebraska
Agricultural, quarrying, industrial, or other non-highway use

Section 66-726

Refund of aircraft fuels tax which was paid on fuel:
Destroyed
Sold in a state outside Nebraska

Section 3-150
Any person who buys and uses aviation fuels for use in an FAA approved air school
is entitled to a refund of the amount of tax paid.

Preferential Tax Rates

Section 3-148
Aviation gasoline is subject to a tax of five cents per gallon; aviation jet fuel is subject
to a tax of three cents per gallon.

Minimal
Minimal
$1,800,000

Minimal
Minimal

Minimal

$1,410,000
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