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Section N — Motor Vehicle, Diesel, Aircraft, and  
Compressed Fuels Taxes

Basic Provisions and Tax Base
Motor Fuels Tax – Motor Vehicle Fuels and Diesel Fuels

Motor vehicle fuels and undyed diesel fuels are subject to an excise tax imposed on the motor fuels received, 
imported, produced, refined, manufactured, compounded, or blended in the State of Nebraska for use, distribution, 
sale, or delivery in Nebraska. Motor vehicle fuels include all products commonly or commercially known as 
gasoline, gasohol, ethanol, casing head gasoline, and natural gasoline. Products such as naphtha, methanol, 
benzine, and benzol, although not defined as motor vehicle fuels, are subject to tax if placed directly into a 
licensed motor vehicle or blended into gasoline at a point in the distribution chain after the refinery. Diesel fuels 
include all combustible liquids suitable for use in diesel-powered motor vehicles including biodiesel blends. It 
does not include kerosene which is subject to tax if it is blended with undyed diesel fuel.

Dyed diesel fuel placed in licensed motor vehicles by governmental agencies is also subject to motor fuels tax. 
Governmental agencies placing dyed diesel fuel in a licensed motor vehicle must remit motor fuels use tax by 
filing the Nebraska Motor Fuels Use Tax Return, Form 74. 

Businesses licensed as producers, suppliers, distributors, wholesalers, importers, or exporters report and remit the 
motor fuels tax. Retailers, while licensed, are not required to file returns. Instead, they are subject to field record 
reviews or audits. Liquid fuel carrier licenses and terminal operator licenses are required for businesses involved 
in the movement of motor fuels in the State of Nebraska. The proper license may be obtained by completing a 
Nebraska Motor Fuels License Application, Form 20MF.

The motor fuels tax is subject to change each January 1 and July 1, and consists of a fixed portion, a variable 
excise tax rate, and a variable wholesale component. The fixed portion excise tax is 10.3 cents per gallon. The 
variable excise tax rate is set to meet appropriations. The variable wholesale component is 5% of the average 
wholesale price of gasoline for the previous six months. The total motor fuels tax per gallon for the first half of 
2013 was 24.6 cents. For the second half of 2013, it was 26.3 cents. For the first half of 2014, it was 26.4 cents. 
For the second half of 2014, it is 26.4 cents.

The business producing, importing, or removing motor fuels from a Nebraska fuel pipeline terminal has the 
option to remit the tax or to pass the liability on to a customer who is a licensed supplier, distributor, exporter, 
or wholesaler. If the tax liability is passed on to the customer, the customer must remit the tax to Nebraska, and 
cannot subsequently sell that fuel tax-free unless a qualified exemption applies. 

Qualified exemptions for motor vehicle fuels are: 
•	 exports with sales or use in a state other than Nebraska; 
•	 sales to the U.S. or its agencies, and federal corporations wholly owned by the U.S.; 
•	 sales to a metropolitan transit authority; 
•	 natural gasoline purchased by ethanol producers for use as a denaturant; or 
•	 sales in Indian country, as defined by federal law, to a Native American Indian residing in  

Indian country.1

1Under the authority of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 66-741, agreements are in effect with the Winnebago Tribe, the Santee Sioux Tribe, and the 
Omaha Tribe, which eliminate this exemption on their reservations. These agreements provide that the tribes will collect a tribal tax 
equivalent to the Nebraska motor fuels tax on all reservation retail pump sales. It further provides that the tribes and the State of Nebraska 
share the motor fuels tax revenue in accordance with the negotiated apportionment. These agreements extend to all products subject to 
the Nebraska motor fuels tax.    

http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/fuels/fill-in/f_20mf.pdf
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-741
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While natural gasoline purchased for use as a denaturant in the production of ethanol is exempted from the motor 
fuels tax, it is subject to an excise tax reported and remitted by licensed ethanol producers. The tax of 1.25 cents 
per gallon is deposited into the Agricultural Alcohol Fuel Tax Fund (AAFTF). 

Qualified exemptions for diesel fuels are: 
•	 exports with sales or use in a state other than Nebraska; 
•	 sales to the U.S. or its agencies, and federal corporations wholly owned by the U.S.; 
•	 sales to a metropolitan transit authority; 
•	 sales in Indian country to a Native American Indian residing in Indian country1; and 
•	 sales of 50 gallons or less for use in a temperature control unit (reefer) or power-take-off unit. The 

consumer of the reefer fuel must submit an approved exemption certificate to the retailer and must 
also pay applicable sales tax.

A refund of the motor fuels tax paid on gallons used in unlicensed equipment may be claimed by completing a 
Nebraska Non-Ag Use Motor Fuels Tax Refund Claim, Form 84, or a Nebraska Ag Use Motor Fuels Tax Refund 
Claim, Form 84AG. Claims may be submitted whenever the motor fuels tax claimed exceeds $25 within a 
calendar year. The minimum must be met within a calendar year for each fuel type claimed.

Aircraft Fuels Tax
Aircraft fuels are subject to an excise tax imposed upon aircraft fuels purchased for and used in aircraft within 
the State of Nebraska. Aircraft fuels include aviation gasoline, jet fuel, or any other fuel used and consumed 
exclusively for the purpose of propelling aircraft. Aviation gasoline is taxed at five cents per gallon, and aviation 
jet fuel is taxed at three cents per gallon.

Reporting and remitting of the aircraft fuels tax is done by businesses licensed as a supplier, distributor, wholesaler, 
importer, or exporter. Retailers, while licensed, are not required to file reports. Instead, they are subject to field 
record reviews. Liquid fuel carrier licenses and terminal operator licenses are required for businesses involved 
in the movement of aircraft fuels in the State of Nebraska. The proper license may be obtained by completing a 
Nebraska Motor Fuels License Application, Form 20MF.

The aircraft fuels tax is administered in the same manner as the tax on motor vehicle fuels with regard to the point 
of taxation and exemptions.

Compressed Fuel Tax
The Nebraska compressed fuel tax is an excise tax imposed on retail sales of compressed fuel being placed in 
a licensed motor vehicle, or to an end user who intends to use the fuel by placing it in a licensed motor vehicle. 
Compressed fuel includes compressed natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural gas, and any other 
compressed fuel used to power a motor vehicle. Persons required to be licensed as compressed fuel retailers are 
those who are engaged in the business of selling or otherwise providing compressed fuel to consumers of the 
fuel for use in a motor vehicle. A retailer who has equipment capable of dispensing compressed fuel into a motor 
vehicle must also be licensed as a compressed fuel retailer. Application for the required license is completed by 
submitting a Nebraska Motor Fuels License Application, Form 20MF.

Compressed fuel is taxed at the same rate as motor vehicle and diesel fuels. Purchases of compressed fuel to be 
placed in licensed motor vehicles by the U.S. Government, and purchases made on a Nebraska Indian reservation 
by a Native American that resides on a Nebraska Indian reservation, are exempt from the compressed fuel tax.1

1Under the authority of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 66-741, agreements are in effect with the Winnebago Tribe, the Santee Sioux Tribe, and the 
Omaha Tribe, which eliminate this exemption on their reservations. These agreements provide that the tribes will collect a tribal tax 
equivalent to the Nebraska motor fuels tax on all reservation retail pump sales. It further provides that the tribes and the State of Nebraska 
share the motor fuels tax revenue in accordance with the negotiated apportionment. These agreements extend to all products subject to 
the Nebraska motor fuels tax.   
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http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/fuels/fill-in/f_84.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/fuels/fill-in/f_84ag.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/fuels/fill-in/f_84ag.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/fuels/fill-in/f_20mf.pdf
http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/fuels/fill-in/f_20mf.pdf
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-741
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		  Estimated Tax
Statutory Reference	 Expenditure Cost
and Description	 (NA = Not Available)

Exemptions

Section 14-1810
Motor vehicle, compressed, and diesel fuels sold to and used in the operations of a	 $270,000
metropolitan transit authority are exempt from tax.

Sections 66-4,103 and 66-4,116
Exempts foreign or interstate commerce from motor fuels tax.	 NA
		  (State taxation
		   prohibited)

Section 66-489
Natural gasoline purchased by producers for use as denaturant.	 $9,550,000

Section 66-489	
Federal law prohibits the state from taxing the U.S. or its agencies on their motor 	 $330,000
fuel purchases.	 (State taxation
		  prohibited)

Section 66-495	
Undyed diesel fuel used in the operation of temperature control units or power	 $120,000
take-off units may be purchased tax-free, if the fuel is purchased in quantities of  
50 gallons or less, and placed directly into the supply tank of an engine not  
connected to the main supply tank of a licensed motor vehicle. The consumer of the  
fuel must submit an approved exemption certificate to the retailer and must also pay  
applicable sales tax.

Deductions

Section 66-486
A motor vehicle fuel producer, supplier, distributor, wholesaler, or importer can 	 $5,670,000
deduct a commission of 5% of the first $5,000 of tax, and 2.5% of all amounts over $5,000  
of tax remitted each month.

Sections 66-486, 3-148, and 3-149
An aircraft fuel supplier, distributor, wholesaler, or importer can deduct a commission	 $50,000
of 5% of the first $5,000 of tax, and 2.5% of all amounts over $5,000 of tax remitted  
each month.

Section 66-486
A diesel fuel producer, supplier, distributor, wholesaler, or importer can deduct a 	 $650,000
commission of 2% of the first $5,000 of tax, and 0.5% of all amounts over $5,000 of tax  
remitted each month.

Section 66-6,113
A compressed fuel retailer can deduct a commission of 2% of the first $5,000 of tax, 	 $6,000
and 0.5% of all amounts over $5,000 of tax remitted each tax period.	
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http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=14-1810
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-4,103
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-4,116
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-489
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-489
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-495
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-486
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-486
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=3-148
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=3-149
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-486
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=66-6,113
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Credits and Refunds
Section 66-489
Motor fuels sold and used in buses equipped to carry more than seven persons for hire and 	 $490,000
engaged entirely in the transportation of passengers for hire within municipalities or within  
a radius of six miles.

Sections 66-489 and 66-741
Diesel, compressed, and motor vehicle fuels sold in Indian country, as defined by federal law,	 Minimal
to a Native American Indian residing in Indian country. This exemption does not apply to  
retail pump sales made on the Winnebago, Santee Sioux, and Omaha Reservations per  
agreements between the tribes and Nebraska (see footnote 1 of Section N, page 1).

Section 66-726
Refund of motor fuels tax which was paid on fuel:

Destroyed	 Minimal
Sold in a state outside Nebraska	 $9,000
Agricultural, quarrying, industrial, or other non-highway use	 $1,950,000

Section 66-726
Refund of aircraft fuels tax which was paid on fuel:

Destroyed	 Minimal
Sold in a state outside Nebraska	 Minimal

Section 3-150
Any person who buys and uses aviation fuels for use in an FAA approved air school	 Minimal
is entitled to a refund of the amount of tax paid.

Preferential Tax Rates
Section 3-148
Aviation gasoline is subject to a tax of five cents per gallon; aviation jet fuel is subject	 $1,440,000
to a tax of three cents per gallon.
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