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SECTION G — Cigarette Tax
BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE

The Nebraska cigarette tax is a special privilege tax paid by every person engaged in distributing or selling 
cigarettes at wholesale in Nebraska. Each wholesale dealer who obtains an annual Nebraska Wholesale Cigarette 
Dealer’s License must pay an application fee of $500, which is placed in the State General Fund. On packages 
containing 20 or fewer cigarettes, a tax of 64  cents per package is paid. On packages containing more than  
20 cigarettes, a tax of 64 cents for the first 20 cigarettes plus a tax of 1/20 of 64 cents on each cigarette in excess 
of 20 cigarettes is paid, in addition to all other taxes. A cigarette tax stamp is placed on each package of cigarettes 
as proof of cigarette tax paid.

The distribution of Nebraska cigarette tax revenues can be found on the Department of Revenue’s website  
www.revenue.ne.gov under Research Reports. The Nebraska Tax Rate Chronologies are updated quarterly.

		  Estimated Tax
Statutory Reference	 Expenditure Cost
and Description	 (NA = Not Available)

EXEMPTIONS
Section 77-2607
The portion of the wholesale dealer’s stock of cigarettes which is not intended to be sold or	 NA
given away in Nebraska is exempt from the tax, unless the stock is not out of the dealer’s  
possession within 30 days of receipt.

4 U.S.C. 107
Federal law prohibits state taxation of cigarettes sold to the U.S. government or any of	 $0
its agencies.

DEDUCTIONS
Section 77-2608
The Tax Commissioner sells the cigarette tax stamps only to licensed wholesale dealers. The	 $1,146,000
sale of cigarette tax stamps to licensed wholesale dealers in Nebraska or outside of Nebraska  
is authorized at a discount of 1.85% of the face value of the cigarette tax as a commission for  
affixing and canceling the cigarette tax stamps.

CREDITS
Section 77-2610
Any unused or spoiled stamps are redeemed by the Tax Commissioner and a refund is made	 $55,182 
in the amount of the stamps less the commission for affixing the stamps.
4 U.S.C. 109, et al.
Federal statutes and treaties prohibit state taxation of cigarettes sold to Native American	 $255,151
Indians on Indian reservation land within Nebraska. A credit is allowed by the state to licensed  
cigarette wholesale dealers for the amount of tax credited by them to retailers who make	 (State taxation 
exempt sales of cigarettes to Native American Indians.	 prohibited)  
Source: U.S. Census; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National  Survey of  
Drug Use and Health 

RECOMMENDATIONS
The Nebraska Department of Revenue has no recommendations.

http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2607
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2608
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2610



