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Section P
Motor Vehicle Registration and Licensing Fees

BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE
	 Motor vehicles, trailers, semi-trailers, or cabin trailers operated on Nebraska highways must be 
registered and pay specified fees as set out under Nebraska statutes. Every snowmobile operated 
in the state must also be registered.

	 The Highway Trust Fund is credited with:
	 1.	 All registration fees collected by county treasurers except as provided in  
		  sections 60-3,156, 39-2215(3), and 60-3,141;
	 2.	 Seventy percent of all registration fees collected for apportioned vehicles 
		  (section 60-3,202);
	 3.	 Up to $3.50 per plate fee as set by the Department of Motor Vehicles 
		  (section 60-3,102);
	 4.	 Amount of unladen weight registration fees (section 60-3,198[10]); and 
	 5.	 All film vehicle fees collected by the Department of Motor Vehicles (section 60-383).

The Highway Cash Fund is credited with the amount of registration fees collected from:
	 1.	 Trip permits issued by carrier enforcement (section 60-3,198 [11]);
	 2.	 Permanent trailer plate fees for apportioned vehicles (section 60-3,203);
	 3.	 Grain hauling permits (section 60-3,112);
	 4.	 Nonresident carnival operator permits (section 60-384); and
	 5.	 Local trucks operating beyond their specified limits for the purpose of equipping, 		

modifying, or servicing the truck (section 60-3,110).

	 The Department of Motor Vehicles Cash Fund is credited $1.50 from each registration issued, 
fees collected from the sale of personalized message plates, and a portion of the fees collected from 
the sale of spirit plates. Twenty-five percent of the net registration fees obtained from snowmobile 
registrations are credited to the State General Fund. The Nebraska Snowmobile Trail Cash Fund is 
credited with 75 percent of the net registration fees obtained from snowmobile registrations.

	 The International Registration Plan Distributive Fund is credited with fees obtained from 
owners operating fleets of apportionable commercial motor vehicles in Nebraska for interstate 
commerce who, in lieu of general registration, register and license their fleet under the prorate 
provision contained in the statutes.

	 Effective July 1, 1996, LB1218 transferred responsibility for the International Fuel Tax 
Agreement (IFTA) program to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Division of Motor Carrier 
Services. Effective January 1, 1997, the Interstate Motor Carrier (IMC) jurisdictions joined IFTA, 
resulting in the termination of the IMC program.

	 Beginning January 1, 1998, under Chapter 60, Article 30 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes, 
motor vehicle fees are collected by county officials and administered by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles. 
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EXEMPTIONS
Section 60-339		
The following are not included in the definition of motor vehicles and are	 NA 
therefore exempted from registration fees: mopeds; farm tractors; self- 
propelled equipment designed and used exclusively to carry and apply 
fertilizer, chemicals, or related products to agricultural soil and crops; 
other implements of husbandry designed for and used primarily for tilling 
the soil, harvesting crops, or feeding livestock; vehicles which run only on rails
or tracks; off-road designed vehicles including, but not limited to, golf carts, 
go-carts, riding lawn mowers, garden tractors, all terrain vehicles, snowmobiles, 
mini bikes; road, general purpose construction, and maintenance machinery not 
designed or used primarily for the transportation of persons or property 
including, but not limited to, ditch digging apparatus, asphalt spreaders, 
bucket loaders, leveling graders, earth moving carryalls, power shovels, 
earth moving equipment, crawler tractors; self-propelled invalid chairs;
electric personal assistive mobility devices; and low speed vehicles.

Sections 60-366 and 60-367		
A nonresident owner operating a foreign vehicle in Nebraska is not required 	 NA
to register such vehicle or pay any fees, if the car has been properly registered 
in the foreign state and the number plates are displayed while in operation. 
However, any nonresident owner whose passenger car is operated in this state 
for thirty or more days shall register such car in the same manner as a Nebraska 
resident, unless the state of his or her residence grants immunity from such 
requirements to residents of this state operating a passenger car in that state.

Section 60-373		
Each licensed dealer in motor vehicles or dealer in trailers doing business in 	 NA
this state, in lieu of registering each motor vehicle or trailer which such dealer 
owns of a type otherwise required to be registered, or any employee of such 
dealer, may (a) operate or move the same upon the streets and highways of 
this state solely for purposes of transporting, testing, demonstrating, or use in 
the ordinary course and conduct of his or her business as a motor vehicle or 
trailer dealer, including the personal or private use of such dealer, and including 
the personal or private use of any bona fide employee, or for transporting 
industrial equipment held by the licensee for purposes of demonstration, sale, 
rental, or delivery, or (b) sell the same without registering each such motor 
vehicle or trailer if dealer number plates are displayed on the vehicle.
Each licensed manufacturer which actually manufacturers or		  NA
assembles motor vehicles, motorcycles, or trailers, in lieu of the 
registering of each motor vehicle or trailer which such manufacturer
owns of a type otherwise required to be registered, or any employee 
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of such manufacturer, may operate or move the same upon the streets 
and highways of this state solely for purposes of transporting, testing, 
demonstrating to prospective customers, or use in the ordinary course 
and conduct of business as a motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer 
manufacturer, upon the condition that the dealer number plates be 
displayed on the vehicle.

Finance companies licensed to do business in Nebraska may, in lieu of		  NA
registering each motor vehicle or trailer repossessed, make an application for 
a repossession certificate and one repossession plate, for a fee of ten dollars.

Any transporter doing business in this state may, in lieu of registering		  NA
each motor vehicle or trailer which such transporter is transporting, make 
an application to the Department of Motor Vehicles for a transporter’s 
certificate and one transporter number plate, for a fee of ten dollars.
	
Section 60-368		
Nonresidents, certified by the Department of Labor as being engaged in 		  NA
temporary agricultural employment within Nebraska, are exempt from 
licensing passenger vehicles for 60 days, provided the vehicle is duly 
licensed in their state of residence.

Section 60-3,160		
No registration fee is collected on any motor vehicle owned by any city 		  $734,634
or village of Nebraska used in connection with police, street, public 
transportation, park, library, or fire prevention activity, fire trucks owned 
and used by any rural fire protection district, and motor vehicles owned 
and operated by the Civil Air Patrol, nor any motor vehicle owned and 
used by any public school district, county, state, or United States 
government, municipal public body, or authority used in operating 
a public passenger transportation system.

Section 60-3,185		
In addition to the registration fees provided by Chapter 60, article 3, and the  	 NA
motor vehicle fee imposed in section 60-3,190, a motor vehicle tax is imposed
on motor vehicles registered for operation upon the highways of this state except:
(1) Motor vehicles exempt from the registration fee in section 60-3,160;
(2) One motor vehicle owned and used for his or her personal transportation by
a disabled or blind honorably discharged veteran of the United States Armed 
Forces as defined in section 77-202.23 whose disability or blindness is recognized
by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs if an application for the 
exemption has been approved under subsection (1) of section 60-3,189;
 
(3) Motor vehicles owned by Indians as defined in 25 U.S.C. 479;
(4) Motor vehicles owned by a member of the United States Armed Forces 
serving in this state in compliance with military or naval orders if such person 
is a resident of a state other than Nebraska;
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(5) Motor vehicles owned by the state and its governmental subdivisions and 
exempt as provided in subdivision (1)(a) of section 77-202;
(6) Motor vehicles owned and used exclusively by an organization or society 
qualified for a tax exemption provided in subdivision (1)(b) or (1)(c) of 
section 77-202 if an application for the exemption provided in this subdivision 
has been approved under subsection (2) of section 60-3,189.

Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act (77-1242.01)	
This federal act allows nonresident military personnel stationed at		  NA
a military base in Nebraska or in one of the various recruiting		  (Federal law 
services to obtain tax-free license plates. Only the motor vehicle tax  		  prohibits state 
is exempt; the license fee and sales tax must be paid.		  taxation)

DEDUCTIONS

Section 60-3,142		
The county treasurers, acting as agents for the Department of Motor Vehicles 	 NA
in collection of registration fees from nonresident grain hauling permits, are 
allowed to retain five percent of each fee collected.

Section 60-6,217		
The county treasurers are allowed to deduct and retain 25 cents for each snow-	 $162
mobile registration fee they collect as agent for the Department of Motor Vehicles.

CREDITS

Section 60-398		
A nonresident may, if he applies within 90 days from his original registration 	 NA
date and surrenders the registration certificate and the license which were 
assigned to him, receive a refund in the amount of 50 percent of the original 
license fee, except no refund shall be made on any license surrender after the 
ninth month of the registration period for which the vehicle was registered.

Section 3,198(8)		
A Nebraska-based fleet owner may file an application with the Department of	 NA
Motor Vehicles to delete a registered motor vehicle from a fleet of registered 
motor vehicles because the vehicle is disabled and has been removed from 
service, and return the registration certificate or certificates and receive a 
credit for that portion of the registration fee deposited in the Highway Trust 
Fund based upon the number of unexpired months remaining in the 
registration year.

Section 60-3,200		
Whenever a motor vehicle has been registered by the owner under the provisions 	 NA
of section 60-362 and the motor vehicle taxes imposed in section 77-1240.01 
have been paid on that motor vehicle for the registration period and then the 
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motor vehicle is registered under the prorate provisions of section 60-3,198, 
the Department of Motor Vehicles, upon application of the owner of the motor 
vehicle, is to certify that the motor vehicle owner is entitled to receive the refund 
of the unused registration fees and personal property taxes for the 
registration period.

Section 60-393		
An owner who has two or more vehicles required to be registered under the 	 NA
statutes may elect to register all such vehicles on calendar year or annual basis 
for the same registration period beginning in a month chosen by the owner.  
The owner, when electing to establish the same registration date for all such 
vehicles, pays the registration fees and motor vehicle tax on each vehicle for 
the number of months necessary to extend its current registration period to 
the registration period under which all such vehicles will be registered.  
Credit is to be given for registration paid on each vehicle when the vehicle 
has a later expiration date than that chosen by the owner.

Section 60-395		
The registered owner of a motor vehicle or cabin trailer which is sold or lost 	 NA
due to fire, theft, dismantlement, junking, or when a salvage certificate of 
title is issued, may, or whenever a type or class of motor vehicle previously  
registered is subsequently declared by legislative act or court decision to be
illegal or ineligible to be operated on the public roads and no longer subject
to registration fees or taxes, or in case of a change in the tax situs of a motor
vehicle to a location outside of the state, may, by returning the registration
certificate, the number plates and renewal tabs, and after making an affidavit
to the county treasurer of such transfer of loss, receive a refund of that part of
the unused fees on passenger vehicles, trucks, and cabin trailers based on the 
number of unexpired months remaining in the registration period. The registered
owner must make claim for refund or credit within 60 days from the date of the 
event. The date of the event shall be the date of the transfer or loss, the date of          
registration in another state, the effective date of the legislative act or the date 
the court decision is rendered.

Section 60-396		
Whenever the registered owner files an application with his county treasurer 	 NA
showing that a motor vehicle is disabled and has been removed from service, 
the registered owner may, by returning the registration certificate and number 
plates and, when appropriate, the renewal tabs, or in the case of the 
unavailability of such certificate or certificates, number plates or tabs, then by 
making an affidavit to the treasurer of such disablement and removal from 
service, receive a credit for a portion of the registration fee from the fee 
deposited with the State Treasurer at the time of registration based upon the 
number of unexpired months remaining in the registration year.
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PREFERENTIAL TAX RATES

Section 60-3,198		
Any owner engaged in operating a fleet of apportionable vehicles in this state	 NA
in interstate commerce may, in lieu of registration of such vehicles under the 
general provisions of sections 60-301 to 60-3,220, register and license such
fleet for operation in this state by filing a sworn statement and the application
required by section 60-3,203 with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Upon
receipt of such statement and application, the Department shall determine the
total fee payment which shall be equal to the amount of fees due pursuant to
section 60-3,203 and the amount obtained by applying the proportion of 
in-state fleet miles to total fleet miles, as reported in such states, to a fee of 
$32 per ton based upon gross vehicle weight of the empty weights of any trailer, 
semi-trailer, or combination thereof with which it is to be operated in combination 
at any one time, plus the weight of the maximum load to be carried thereon at 
any one time. The vehicles so registered shall be exempt from all further 
registration and license fees under sections 60-301 to 60-3,220 for movement or 
operation in the State of Nebraska, except as provided in section 60-3,203.

Section 60-3,145		
Local vehicles operated solely within a ten-mile radius of an incorporated 	 $262,378
city or village’s corporate limits pay a registration fee of 30 percent of 
the regular commercial registration, never less than $18.

Section 60-3,146		
For farm trucks, except for farm trucks or combinations of trucks or truck-	 $28,064,925 
tractors and trailers or semi-trailers having a gross vehicle weight exceeding
sixteen tons, the registration fee shall be $18 for up to and including five tons 
gross vehicle weight, and in excess of five tons, the fee shall be $22. For a 
truck or a combination of truck or truck-tractor and trailer or semi-trailer the 
registration fees are: for a gross weight in excess of sixteen tons up to and 
including twenty tons, $40 plus five dollars for each ton of gross weight over 
seventeen tons; and for gross weight exceeding twenty tons, $65 plus ten dollars 
for each ton of gross weight over twenty tons. Fees are based on the combined 
gross weight as provided in 60-3,147, but at a reduced rate.

Section 60-3,147(4)(6)		
Commercial trucks used exclusively for the transportation of livestock, 		  NA
unprocessed milk, poultry, grain, sugar beets, potatoes, and hay, pay fees 
at a rate of ten percent less than other commercial trucks.

Section 60-3,149		
Trucks, truck-tractors, trailers, or semi-trailers which are not for hire and 	 $106,529
owned by those engaged in soil and water conservation work and used 
for the purpose of transporting pipe and equipment used exclusively by 
such contractors, pay registration fees at one-half of the commercial truck 
fee rate, but in no case less than the minimum fee of $18.
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Section 60-3,111		
Special 30-day farm permits at one-twelfth of the commercial truck fee, 		  Minimal
never less than $25, can be used by farmers or ranchers for trucks used 
exclusively to carry their own supplies, farm equipment, and household 
goods to and from the owner’s farm and ranch and used to carry the owner’s 
agricultural products, livestock, and produce to or from storage or market.

Section 60-3,151		
Trailers in Nebraska are registered and pay differing fees depending upon 	 NA
their classification:

Utility trailer - $1 per 1,000 pounds of gross weight	
up to 9,000 pounds	

Farm trailer - $1 regardless of weight	

Fertilizer trailer - $1 regardless of weight or $3 per ton
when the registration weight is to a separate unit.	

Commercial trailer or semi-trailer - $1 regardless of weight	

Pole and cable reel trailer - $2 per 1,000 pounds of	
gross weight up to 16,000 pounds

Section 60-3,151	
Recreational vehicles are registered and pay differing fees depending		  NA
upon their classification:

Self-propelled mobile home -  
	 8,000 pounds or less	 = $18
	 8,001-11,999 pounds	 = $30
	 12,000 over	 = $42

Cabin trailers without motive power -
	 1,000 pounds or less	 = $  9
 	 1,001-1,999 pounds	 = $12
 	 2,000 over	 = $15

Section 60-3155		
Well-boring apparatus pay a registration fee of one-twelfth of the regular 	 $350,718
commercial registration fee.

 

RECOMMENDATIONS

	 The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles has no recommendations.
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