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BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE OF THE 
NEBRASKA WASTE REDUCTION AND 

RECYCLING INCENTIVE ACT
 The Nebraska Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive Act imposes a fee of one dollar on each tire of every 
new motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer sold at retail and registered in Nebraska. The fee is collected by the 
county treasurer at the time of registration and is remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Waste 
Reduction and Recycling Incentive Fund. This Fund is administered by the Nebraska Department of Environmental 
Quality.

 In addition, a fee of one dollar is imposed on every new tire for a motor vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer, or farm 
tractor sold at retail. The fee is collected by the retailer in the same manner as sales tax and is remitted to the 
Department of Revenue for deposit in the Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive Fund.

 Effective for tax periods starting July 1, 1999, an annual waste reduction and recycling fee is imposed on all 
businesses with retail sales of tangible personal property, which is subject to the tax imposed by the Nebraska 
Revenue Act of 1967. The fee is $25 for each Nebraska location with retail sales of tangible personal property of  
$50,000 or more. This fee is collected in the same manner as the litter fee. The fee is collected by the Department 
of Revenue for deposit in the Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive Fund.

 The State Tax Commissioner deducts and withholds from the above fees a collection fee to reimburse the 
Nebraska Department of Revenue for the actual cost of collecting and administering the above fees and deposits the 
collection fees in the Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive Fees Collection Fund. The Legislature appropriates 
money from this collection fund for the Department of Revenue to cover the actual costs of administering the 
program.  

WASTE REDUCTION AND RECYCLING FEES
  Estimated Tax
 Statutory Reference Expenditure Cost
 and Description NA = Not Available

EXEMPTIONS

Section T 
Waste Reduction and Recycling Fee

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
A qualified tire does not include: any new tire sold specifically for use on off-road vehicles, 
such as bicycles, golf carts, riding lawnmowers, and farm implements (plows, disks, wagons, 
etc., but includes farm tractor tires, which are taxable). Any recapped or re-grooved tire, regard- 
less of the intended use.

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
Qualified tires sold for resale purposes.

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
Qualified tires sold and delivered to another state.

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
Qualified tires sold to the federal government and its agencies.

Sections 81-15,159 through 81-15,165
Qualified tires sold to Native American Indians if the Native American Indian resides on a 
Nebraska reservation, holds a Nebraska tax exemption identification card and delivery of the 
tire(s) takes place on the reservation.

$755,400

$460,600

$34,230

$2,150

(Included 
in above)



2006 Nebraska Tax Expenditure Report — Section T, Page 2

DEDUCTION
The State Tax Commissioner shall deduct and withhold from the fees collected pursuant to 
sections 81-15,162 and 81-15,163 (fees on tires and the annual waste reduction and recycling fee) 
a fee sufficient to reimburse himself or herself for the actual cost of collecting and administering 
such fees and shall credit such collection fee to the Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive 
Fees Collection Fund. The Legislature shall appropriate money from the fund to the Department 
of Revenue to cover the actual costs of the department in administering sections 81-15,159 to 
81-15,165.

RECOMMENDATIONS

 The Nebraska Department of Revenue has no recommendations.

$72,050


