BASIC PROVISIONS AND TAX BASE OF THE
NEBRASKA MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS,
AIRCRAFT FUELS, DIESEL FUEL, AND

COMPRESSED FUEL TAX LAWS

Motor Vehicle Fuds Tax

The Nebraska Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax is an excise tax imposed upon the importing, producing,
refining, manufacturing, compounding, or blending of motor vehicle fues in the State of Nebraska
for use, didribution, sde, or ddivery in this date. Motor vehicle fuds include al products
commonly or commercidly known as gasoline, gasohol, ethanol, casing head gasoline, and naturd
gasoline. Products such as ngphtha, methanol, benzine, and benzol, dthough not defined as motor
vehicle fuds, will be reported and tax remitted, if placed directly into a licensed motor vehicle or
blended into gasoline & a point in the digribution chain after the refinery.

Reporting and remittance of the motor vehicle fuels tax is accomplished by businesses licensed
as ether a supplier, digributor, wholesder, importer, or exporter. Retaler's, while licensed, no
longer are required to file returns.  Instead, they are subject to field record reviews. Liquid fud
carier licenses and termina operator licenses are required by businesses involved in the movement
of motor vehicle fuds in the State of Nebraska. The proper license may be obtained by completion
of the Nebraska Motor Fues License Application (Form 20MF) and remitting the applicable fee.
The fees are deposited in the Highway Cash Fund.

The tax rate is the total of the excise tax rate of 12.5 cents per gdlon plus a varigble excise tax
rate set to meet gppropriations, based upon the statewide average cost of motor vehicle fuels and
diesd fuels purchased by the state. The rate is subject to change on a cdendar semiannud basis. The
total motor vehicle fuels tax rates per galon for 1998 were: 22.8 cents for the first semiannud period
and 24.1 for the second semiannual period. For tax year 2000, the rate remains at 23.9 cents for the
entire year.

The business importing or removing motor vehicle fuels from a Nebraska fud pipdine termind
has the option to remit the tax or to pass the liddility to a customer who is a licensed supplier,
digtributor, or wholesder. If the tax ligbility is passed on to the customer, the cusomer must remit
the tax to the dtate, and cannot subsequently sdll that fuel tax free unless a qudified exemption
applies. Qualified exemptions are sales in a date other than Nebraska, sdes to the United States
government or its agencies, and federd corporations wholly owned by the United States
government, metropolitan trandt authority, or sdes on a Nebraska Indian reservation to a Native
American resding on a Nebraska Indian reservetion.

Unblended ethanol is subject to motor vehicle fuds tax when blended with gasoline, placed

directly into a licensed motor vehicle, or sold to someone who is not licensed in Nebraska to engage
in tax-free fud transactions.
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Persons licensed with a permit to purchase Nebraska Nonhighway Use Motor Vehicle Fuels may
goply for a refundable income tax credit of the tax paid on those galons used for nonhighway
purposes. An gpplication for a permit must be made on a Nebraska Permit Application to Purchase
Nonhighway Use Motor Vehicle Fuds, Form 83. The gpplication fee is ten dollars. The credit is
clamed by completing a Nebraska Nonhighway Use Motor Vehicle Fuels Credit Computation,
Form 4136N, with the Nebraska income tax return.

Aircraft Fuds Tax

The Nebraska Aircraft Fuds Tax is an excise tax imposed when importing, producing, refining,
manufacturing, or compounding of aircraft fuels in the State of Nebraska for use, digribution, sde
or ddivery in this date. Aircraft fuels incdludes arcraft gasoline, jet fud, or any other fue used and
consumed exclusvely for the purpose of propdling arcraft. Aviation gasoline is taxed a five cents
per gdlon and aviation jet fud is taxed a three cents per gdlon.

Reporting and remittance of the aircraft fuels tax is accomplished by businesses licensed as a
supplier, digributor, wholesder, importer, exporter, or retaler. Liquid fud carier licenses and
termina operator licenses are required by busnesses involved in the movement of arcraft fuels in
the State of Nebraska. The proper license may be obtained by completion of the Nebraska Motor
Fuels License Application (Form 20MF) and remitting the gpplicable fee. The fees are deposited in
the Highway Cash Fund.

Diesal Fuel Tax

The Nebraska Diesd Fud Tax is an excise tax imposed on of undyed diesdl recelved, imported,
produced, refined,manufactured, blended, or compounded within the state of Nebraska, and on dyed
diesd placed in licensed motor vehicles by governmentd agencies. Governmental agencies placing
dyed diesd in a licensed motor vehide mus remit diesdl fud consumer’s use tax by filing the
Nebraska Motor Fuels Consumer's Use Tax Return, Form 74. Diesd fud includes al combustible
liquids suitable for use in diesd-powered motor vehicles. It does not include kerosene. Kerosene is
subject to diesd tax if it is blended with undyed diesd for use in a licensed motor vehicle.

Reporting and remittance of the diesd fud tax is accomplished by businesses licensed as a
supplier, digributor, wholesder, importer, exporter, or retaler. Liquid fud carier licenses and
termina operator licenses are required by businesses involved in the movement of diesd fud in the
State of Nebraska. The proper license may be obtained by completion of the Nebraska Motor Fuels
License Application (Form 20MF) and remitting the gpplicable fee. The fees are depodited in the
Highway Cash Fund.

The Nebraska diesd fud tax rate is the same as the fud tax rate on motor vehicle fuds.

The busness importing into Nebraska or removing undyed diesd fud from a Nebraska fud
pipeline termina has the option to remit the tax or to pass the ligbility to a customer who is a licensed
supplier, digributor, or wholesder. If the tax is passed on to the customer, the customer must remit
the tax to the date, and cannot subsequently sdll that fud tax free unless a qudified exemption

applies.

0-2



Qualified exemptions are exports with sales or use in a date other than Nebraska, sdes to the
United States government, its agencies, and federa corporations wholly owned by the United States
government, metropolitan trandt authority, sdes on a Nebraska Indian reservation to a Native
American residing on a Nebraska Indian reservation, and sales of fifty galons or less for use in a
temperature control unit (reefers) or power-take-off unit.

Diesd fud tax paid on the purchase of undyed diesd is subject to refund if there is a nonhighway
use or use in a motor vehicle not subject to licenang. Refunds are gpplied for by completing the
Nebraska Motor Fuels Tax Refund Claim (Form 84), or the Nebraska Diesdl Fud Tax Refund Claim
for Agricultura Production Use Only (Form 84AG).

Compressed Fud Tax

The Nebraska Compressed Fudl Tax is an excise tax imposed on retail sales of compressed fuel
being placed in a licensed motor vehicle or to an end user who intends to use the fue by placing it
in a licensed motor vehicle. Compressed fud includes compressed naturd gas, liquified petroleum
gas, liquefied naturd gas, and any other compressed fuel used to power a motor vehicle. Persons
required to be licensed as a compressed fud retailer are those who are engaged in the business of
sling or otherwise providing compressed fud to consumers of the fud for use in a motor vehicle.
A retaller who has equipment capable of dipensing compressed fuel into a motor vehicle must aso
be licensed as a compressed fued retaller.  Application for the required license is completed by
submitting a Nebraska Motor Fuels License Application (Form 20MF).

The Nebraska Compressed Fud Tax Rate is the same as the fud tax rate on motor vehicle fuds
or diesdl fuel. Purchases of compressed fuel to be placed in licensed motor vehicles by the Federd
government or on a Nebraska Indian reservation by a native American that resides on the reservation,
are exempt from the compressed fud tax.

Interstate Motor Carrier’s Fue Tax (IMC)

Effective July 1, 1996, LB 1218 transferred responshility for the IFTA program to the
Department of Motor Vehicles, Divison of Motor Carier Services.

Effective January 1, 1997, the IMC jurisdictions joined the Internationd Fud Tax Agreement
(IFTA), resulting in the termination of the IMC program.
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS, AIRCRAFT FUELS,
DIESEL FUEL, AND COMPRESSED FUEL TAX

Estimated Tax
Statutory Reference Expenditure Cost
and Description NA = Not Available
EXEMPTIONS
Section 14-1810
Motor vehicle, compressed, and diesdl fuels sold to and used in the $319,500
operations of a metropolitan trandt authority are exempt from tax.
Sections 66-4,103 and 66-4,116
Exempts foreign or intersate commerce from motor vehicle NA
fuds tax. (State taxation
prohibited)
Section 66-668
Sold one time only to another licensed diesd fue distributor 24,180,000
or wholesder for resde purposes.
Section 66-668 NA
Diesd fuel that has been dyed at the termind rack and sold for
nonhighway use is not taxed.
Section 66-672
Federd law prohibits the gate from taxing the U.S. government $310,000
or its agencies on their diesd fue purchases. (State taxation
prohibited)
66-673
Undyed diesdl fud used in the operation of temperature control units NA
or power take-off units may be purchased tax freg, if the fud is purchased in
quantities of 50 galons or less and placed directly into the supply tank of an
engine not connected to the main supply tank of a licensed motor vehicle,
The consumer of the fud must submit an gpproved exemption certificate to
the retailer and must dso pay gpplicable saes tax.
DEDUCTIONS
Section 66-486
A motor vehicle fud distributor, wholesder, or importer can deduct a $5,400,000

commission of five percent of the first $5,000 and two and one-haf
percent upon al amounts above $5,000, which is remitted each month.
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Sections 66-486 and 3-148

An arcraft fud distributor, wholesder, or importer can deduct a
commission of five percent of the first $5,000 and two and one-half
percent upon al amounts above $5,000, which is remitted each month.

Section 66-678

A diesd fud digributor, wholesder, or importer can deduct a commisson
of two percent of the first $5,000 and one-haf of one percent upon Al
amounts above $5,000, which is remitted monthly.

Section 66-6,113

A compressed fud retailler can deduct a commisson of two percent of the first
$5,000 and one-haf of one percent upon dl amounts above $5,000 remitted
each tax period.

CREDITSAND REFUNDS
Section 66-672
(@ Undyed diesd fud used for agriculture, quarrying, indugtrid,
or other nonhighway use is refundable.
(b) Buses equipped to carry more than seven persons for hire and
engaged entirely in the trangportation of passengers for hire within
municipaities or within a radius of Sx miles thereof.

Section 66-726

Diesd, compressed and motor vehicle fuels sold on a Nebraska
Native American Indian reservation to a Native American Indian
resding on a Nebraska Native American Indian reservation.

Section 66-726
Refund of motor vehide fuds tax is pad on fud:
DESIIOYEA ... Minimal
Consumed by the United States Government
(0 Q1 S0 = 01 [ $151,800
Sold in a state outside Nebraska..........ccceevevereneneneniereneenn, None
On which there was an overpayment of taxes..........ccc........ $10,500

Sections 66-726
Refund of arcraft fud tax is paid on fud:

DS (0)V/= o [ SOTRSR None
Consumed by the United States Government

OF ITSAJENCIES ...ocuvenieieeeete ettt $385
Sold in a state outside Nebraska.........ccoceeveevieieenenienee e None
On which there was an overpayment of taxes..........cccccevveeneee. None
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Section 66-726
Refund of died fud tax is pad on fud:

D=5 1007/ o [ Minimal
On which there was an overpayment of taX..........ccoceeeveenee. Minimal
Section 66-726
Sold in a state outside Nebraska. ..o None
Section 3-150
Any person who buys and uses aviation fuds for use in an FAA Minimal

goproved ar school is entitled to a credit for the amount of tax paid.

Section 66-1344 (1)& (2)

Each producer of ethanol shdl recelve a non-refundable credit $20,000,000
pursuant to this section of 20 cents per galon of ethanol produced

in Nebraska, which credit shal be in the form of a transferable

motor vehicle fuds tax credit certificate. The credit shal be given only
for ethanol produced at a plant in Nebraska a which al fermentation,
digtillation, and dehydration take places. Not less than 2,000,000
gdlons and not more than 25,000,000 gdlons of ethanol produced
annudly a an ethanal facility shdl be digible for the credit,

and the credit may only be claimed by a producer for the period
specified in subsection (2), (3), or (4) of this section.

After duly 1, 1994, no such credit shdl be given for ethanol
produced a an ethanal facility which was in production on or
before January 1, 1992, unless on or before July 1, 1994, the
name plate design capacity for the production of ethanol, before
denaturing, at the facility has been expanded to equd at least two
times the name plate design capacity for production of ethanal,
before denaturing, existing at the facility as of January 1, 1992.
This program ends on December 31, 2000.

Section 66-1344 (3)

Beginning June 1, 2000, during which period as funds remain in the NA
Ethanol Production Incentive Cash Fund, any ethanol facility shdl

receive a credit of saven and one-half cents per galon of ethanal,

before denaturing, for new production for a period not to exceed

thirty-sx consecutive  months.

This program ends on or before December 31, 2003.
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Section 66-1346

Through December 31, 2000, each producer of Nebraska NA
produced ethyl tertiary butyl ether shdl receive a non-refundable (See income
credit of 50 cents per gallon for each gallon of Nebraska-produced tax section)

ethyl tertiary butyl ether sold for delivery outsde the State of
Nebraska, which credit shal be in the form of a trandferable
income tax credit certificate which may be gpplied only to the
income tax liability of the producer, its parent, or a subsdiary
thereof. A credit certificate may not be gpplied to income tax
ligbility incurred prior to the year the credit certificate was
earned. Not more than 2,500,000 gallons of ethyl tertiary butyl
ether produced annudly a a plant shdl be digible for such
credit. The credit shdl be given only for ethyl tertiary butyl
ether produced a a plant in Nebraska a which dl fermentation,
digtillation, and dehydration takes place. The credit shdl be
reduced by the amount of any producer’s credit earned pursuant
to section 66-1344 by the producer of the E.T.B.E. on ethanol
used to produce E.T.B.E. and shall be clamed no later than the due
date, including extensons of the tax return filed for the taxable
year of the clamant ending not more than 36 months after the
taxable year of the damant in which the certificate is issued.
Section 66-1344 became operdtive for tax years beginning or
deemed to begin on or after January 1, 1992.

Section 77-2734.03(2) and Sections 66-4,118, through 66-4,134

A corporate, individua, or fiduciary holder of a permit to buy nonhighway NA
use gasoline who purchases such fud for agriculturd, quarrying, indudrid, (See income
or other nonhighway use is entitled to a refundable credit againgt the tax section)

purchaser’s Nebraska income tax liability for the amount of tax paid during
the year, less two and one-fourth cents per gdlon, from which one and
one-fourth cents per gdlon is transferred to the Agricultura

Alcohol Fud Tax Fund.

PREFERENTIAL TAXRATES

Section 3-148
Aviation gasoline is subject to a tax of five cents per gdlon; $1,115,000
aviation jet fud is subject to a tax of three cents per gdlon.

This would not necessarily be a true tax expenditure, since the tax is eventudly paid.
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS, AIRCRAFT FUELS,
DIESEL FUEL, AND COMPRESSED FUEL TAX
RECOMMENDATIONS

The Nebraska Department of Revenue has no recommendations.
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