
Nebraska
Marijuana
and Controlled
Substances Tax

The purpose of this information 
guide is to answer questions 
concerning Nebraska Marijuana 
and Controlled Substances Tax, 
and to enable law enforcement 
agencies to become more famil-
iar with the law and its effect on 
persons illegally in possession  
of drugs.
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I N F O R M A T I O N

G U I D E

Who owes this tax?
A dealer, who is any person that illegally manufactures, produces, 
transports, or imports into Nebraska, or in any manner acquires or 
possesses:
■ Six or more ounces of marijuana,
■ Seven or more grams of any controlled substance which is sold 

by weight, or
■ Ten or more dosage units of any controlled substance which is 

not sold by weight.

When is the tax due?  
A dealer is required to pay this tax to the Nebraska Department of 
Revenue immediately upon acquisition or possession of marijuana 
or controlled substances in Nebraska.

How much is the tax?
Dealers must purchase a Drug Tax Stamp from the department  which 
is evidence that the tax has been properly paid. The dealer must 
permanently place suffi cient stamps on each container. The stamps 
are not trans ferable, can only be used once, and expire six months 
from the date of purchase.
■ Marijuana:  the tax is $100.00 per ounce or portion of an 

ounce.
■ Controlled substances:  the tax is $150.00 per gram or portion 

of a gram.
■ Controlled substances not customarily sold by weight:  the 

tax is $500.00 for each 50-dosage unit or portion thereof.

Does purchase of the stamps provide 
immunity?
Purchase of the stamps does not provide immunity for a dealer 
from criminal prosecution under state or federal law.
Purchasers are not required to provide their name and address, or 
other identifying information. When information is provided, it is 
confi dential.

What happens if a dealer does not have 
suffi cient drug tax stamps?   
The Nebraska Department of Revenue may take the following   
action:
■ Assess tax,
■ Assess a penalty of 100 percent of the tax, and
■ Place a lien on the dealer’s property.
The dealer may also be subject to prosecution, Class IV felony, for 
violating the Act.

What should law enforcement do when a                
dealer has not purchased suffi cient drug tax 
stamps?          
When a dealer has not purchased suffi cient tax stamps, you are 
requested to complete a Nebraska Drug Assessment Information 
form and submit it, along with a copy of your state lab report, 
to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. The offi cer should 
determine the weight or quantity of the drug through the best means 
available (an example of a properly completed form is shown on 
the back of this guide).
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For more information, 
check our Web site.
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For All Tax Programs Except Motor Fuels

SCOTTSBLUFF
Panhandle State Offi ce Complex

4500 Avenue I, Box 1500
Scottsbluff, Nebraska 69363-1500

Telephone (308) 632-1200

GRAND ISLAND
TierOne Bank Building, Suite 460

1811 West Second Street
Grand Island, Nebraska 68803-5469

Telephone (308) 385-6067
NORFOLK

304 North 5th Street, Suite “D”
Norfolk, Nebraska 68701-4091

Telephone (402) 370-3333

NORTH PLATTE
Craft State Offi ce Building

200 South Silber Street
North Platte, Nebraska 69101-4200

Telephone (308) 535-8250

For Motor Fuels tax programs only call toll free 1-800-554-3835 (Lincoln residents call 471-5730).
Hearing-impaired individuals may call the Text Telephone (TT) at 1-800-382-9309. TDD (Telecommunications Device for the Deaf) is designated by the 
use of “TT,” which is consistent with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

OMAHA
Nebraska State Offi ce Building

1313 Farnam-on-the-Mall
Omaha, Nebraska 68102-1871

Telephone (402) 595-2065

LINCOLN
Nebraska State Offi ce Building

301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4818

Telephone (402) 471-5729

Contact your regional offi ce or    call 1-800-742-7474 (toll free in NE and IA)

  or  1-402-471-5729 
 Nebraska Department of Revenue Web site address: www.revenue.ne.gov

A copy of the Taxpayer Bill of Rights is available by calling any of our regional offi ces or
visiting our Web site.

FOR NEBRASKA TAX ASSISTANCE

Example of a Completed Nebraska Drug Tax Assessment Information Form

1 Complete as much as possible of the requested 
information on the individual(s). If more than one 
person is arrested, identify the primary taxpayer 
and list the others in the section provided below 
for other relevant information.
Enter the date of arrest. If date of possession 
is different, enter in section for other relevant 
information. Both dates must be on or after 
January 1, 1991.
If the dealer is charged with more than one 
possession, a separate form must be completed 
for each occurrence that meets the minimum 
amount for assessment. The quantities involved 
cannot be accumulated in order to meet the 
threshold for assessment.
List the specifi c name of the drug such as 
marijuana or cocaine. Do not use nicknames 
such as grass or coke.
Attach the laboratory report to the form before 
submitting to the department.
If the assessment is to be made before the lab 
report is completed, the form may be mailed or 
FAXED to our offi ce for immediate handling. 
The FAX number is (402) 471-5608. The lab 
report should then be submitted separately as 
soon as it is available.
Enter weight of the drug as accurately as 
possible. For larger quantities, use the best 
means available in obtaining the total weight. 
For example, if marijuana plants are involved, 
the weight of all plants can be submitted. Please 
indicate the weight includes the whole plant. The 
department will then convert the weight to the 
portion subject to tax.
Check the appropriate box to indicate whether or 
not the Nebraska drug stamps were affi xed.
If more than one person was arrested for 
possession of the same drug, list their names, 
social security numbers, and any other identifying 
information as "other relevant information."
The form must be signed by the arresting offi cer 
or other authorized person.
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