
	 NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS

FORM

54

	 Business Name or Doing Business As (DBA)			   Name

	 Street Address (Do Not Use P.O. Box)			   Street or Other Mailing Address

	 City	 State	 Zip Code	 City	 State	 Zip Code

Signature of Owner, Member, Partner, Corporate Officer, 
or Person Authorized by Attached Power of Attorney

Date Daytime Telephone Number

sign
here Title

	 Nebraska Tax Application and Return
for Mechanical Amusement Device Decals

	 11	 Date of First Transaction

			   (3)	 Other, Identify:

	Zip CodeStateCity	Street Address

	 8	 Are you a resident of the State of Nebraska?

			   YES	 NO	

	 9	 Accounting Basis	 (1)	 Cash

			   (2)	 Accrual

			   (3)	 Other

	 5	 Location of Records	 (1)	 Same as Location Address

			   (2)	 Same as Mailing Address

	 3	 County of Business Location in Nebraska 	 4	 For Department Use Only

	 14	 Identify Owners, Members, Partners, or Corporation Officers (One of the Listed Individuals Must Sign as Applicant)

	 OCCUPATION TAX

Social Security Number Name, Address, City, State, Zip Code	 Title			 

	 Under penalties of law, I declare that I have examined this application and return, and to the best of my knowledge and belief,
it is correct and complete.

	 1	 Do you hold, or have you previously held, a Nebraska Identification Number?

			   YES	 NO   If Yes give number

5-103-1975 Rev. 2-2008 Supersedes 5-103-1975 Rev. 10-2005

	 6	 Reason for Filing Application	 (1)	 Original Application	 (2)	 Renewal	 (3)	 Acquired Additional Devices	 (4)	 Other

	 10	 Accounting Period	 (1)	 Calendar Year — January 1 to December 31

			   (2)	 Fiscal Year — 12 Month Basis Ending

			   (3)	 Fiscal Year — 52 or 53 Week Basis Ending

	 15	 Enter operator’s number of devices....................................................................................................................	 15
	 16	 Occupation tax ($35 multiplied by the number of devices on line 15, for one year, January 1 through 
		  December 31; or $20 multiplied by the number of devices on line 15, for one-half year, July 1 through
		  December 31.)....................................................................................................................................................	 16
	 17	 Total  occupation tax and penalty amount (total of lines 16 and 19). Pay in full with return....................................	 17	 $

 •  Read instructions on reverse side

	 2	 Federal Employer Identification or Social Security Number

	 12	 Type of Ownership	 (1)	 Sole Proprietorship	 (4)	 Domestic Corporation	 (7)	 Governmental	 (10)	 Cooperative

			   (2)	 Partnership	 (5)	 Foreign Corporation	 (8)	 Fiduciary (Estate or Trust)	 (11)	 Limited Liability Company

			   (3)	 Nonprofit Corporation	 (6)	 Domesticated Corporation	 (9)	 Nonprofit Organization

	PLEASE DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE

	 13	 Provide a general description of your business operations:

Field 29 =	 FOR DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE USE ONLY

	 18	 Number of mechanical amusement devices not properly registered.................................................................. 	 18	
	 19	 Penalty (line 18 multiplied by $75) (include on line 17)....................................................................................... 	 19	 $

PENALTIES

Mail this form to:  NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, CHARITABLE GAMING DIVISION, P.O. BOX 94855, LINCOLN, NE 68509-4855
Walk-in at: 1800 “O” Street, Suite 100, Lincoln, NE

Please make a copy for your records.

If no, and you are a noncorporate applicant you must designate below a Nebraska resident agent for service of process purposes.

Serial Numbers of Decals Issued	 Issued by	 Date

Signature of Department of Revenue Representative Date

sign
here Title

	 BUSINESS NAME AND ADDRESS

	 7	 Application is made for:	 (1)	 Distributors License – No Fee		 (2)	 Operator’s License – No Fee	 (3)	 Distributor/Operator’s License – No Fee

Name of Resident Agent	 Address

Home Telephone Number
(      )

(      )



 INSTRUCTIONS

WHO MUST FILE. All operators and distributors of 
mechanical amusement devices covered by the Mechanical 
Amusement Device Tax Act must file an application.

WHEN AND WHERE TO FILE. This application, properly 
signed and accompanied by check or money order payable to 
the Nebraska Department of Revenue, must be filed prior to 
the date of the first transaction involving the use or sale of a 
mechanical amusement device. Licenses and occupation tax 
decals expire on December 31 each year, regardless of the date 
of issuance, and must be renewed on or before January 1.

Business Name and Address. If you have mechanical 
amusement devices at multiple locations, you must indicate 
your primary business address in this block.

DEFINITIONS
Mechanical amusement device is any machine which, 
upon insertion of a coin, currency, credit card, or substitute 
into the machine, operates or may be operated or used for a 
game, contest, or amusement of any description, and includes 
but is not limited to the following:

Pinball games
Air hockey games
Pool or billiards games
Shuffleboard
Football and Foosball games
Racing games
Light tennis and ping pong
Baseball games
Bowling games
Radio-ray games such as rifles, tanks, cannons, darts
I.Q. games
Coin-operated automatic musical devices
Game and draw lotteries
Boxing games
Video and electronic games
Crane games

A mechanical amusement device does not include vending 
machines which dispense tangible personal property, devices 
located in private homes for private use, pickle card dispensing 
devices which are required to be registered with the Department 
of Revenue pursuant to section 9-345.03, or devices which are 
mechanically constructed in a manner that would render their 
operation illegal under the laws of the State of Nebraska.
Distributor is any person who sells, leases, or delivers 
possession or custody of a mechanical amusement device 
to operators for a consideration either directly or indirectly 
received.
Operator is any person who operates a place of business in 
which a mechanical amusement device owned by him or her 
is physically located, or any person who places and either 
directly or indirectly manages or controls any mechanical 
amusement device.
Distributor-operator. A distributor who leases or rents a 
device to business owners, but retains control of the device, is 
also considered an operator and subject to the same licensing 
requirements and payment of the occupation tax on each 
mechanical amusement device. 

COMBINED LICENSES. For those operators who are also 
distributors, a combined license will be issued.

PAYMENT OF ADDITIONAL OCCUPATION TAXES. 
This application must be used for paying occupation taxes 
on any mechanical amusement device put into operation after 
the original application has been filed.

DISPLAY DECAL. Every operator shall conspicuously and 
permanently affix to each mechanical amusement device the 
occupation tax decal. The decal shall not be affixed by tape or 
any other means. The backing on each decal must be removed 
in order to permanently affix the decal to the mechanical 
amusement device. Any person who has placed a mechanical 
amusement device in operation in the State of Nebraska without 
the necessary decal conspicuously and permanently affixed 
to it is subject to an administrative penalty of $75 for each 
violation and the mechanical amusement device is subject to 
being sealed by the Nebraska Department of Revenue. If the 
seal is broken prior to payment of the occupation tax upon the 
mechanical amusement device, the device shall be subject to 
forfeiture and sale by the Department.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

LINE 8. If you are a foreign (non-Nebraska) corporation and 
do not have a certificate of authority to transact business in 
Nebraska, please contact the Nebraska Secretary of State’s 
Office at (402) 471-4079 to obtain an application.

LINE 16. The occupation tax shall only be paid by the operator 
who has actual ownership of such mechanical amusement 
device being taxed. The operator must pay sales or use tax 
on each device purchased. The tax must be paid at the time 
the device is purchased and prior to the device being placed 
into operation.

An occupation tax of $35 is assessed  for each mechanical 
amusement device placed in operation on or after January 1 but 
before July 1 of each year. If the device is placed in operation 
on or after July 1, but before January 1 of the following year, 
an occupation tax of $20 is assessed on each device placed 
into operation. Checks written to the Department of Revenue 
may be presented electronically.

An occupation tax decal is issued denoting the payment of 
the tax for each device.

PENALTY ABATEMENT. An operator that has been 
assessed a penalty may request an abatement of the penalty. 
An Application for Abatement of Penalty, Form 21, must 
be completed and filed with the Nebraska Department of 
Revenue. The request for abatement of penalty will not be 
considered until the penalty has been paid.

AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE. This application must be 
signed by the owner, member, partner, or corporate officer 
listed on line 14. Persons who are not listed on line 14 but 
are signing the application must attach a completed power 
of attorney.

If you need additional assistance, contact the Charitable 
Gaming Division, Nebraska Department of Revenue, 1800 “O” 
Street, Suite 100, P.O. Box 94855, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-
4855, or call (402) 471-5937, toll free (877) 564-1315.


