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Administration of Property Assessment and Taxation 
 

All property in the State of Nebraska is subject to property tax unless an exemption is mandated 

by the Nebraska Constitution, Article VIII, or is permitted by the Constitution and enabling 

legislation is adopted by the Legislature. Federal law may supersede the Nebraska Constitution 

with regard to taxation of property owned by the federal government or its agencies or 

instrumentalities. All property in the State of Nebraska subject to taxation shall be valued as of 

January 1, 12:01 a.m., of each year.  

 

The assessor is responsible for valuing all real and personal property with the exception of 

railroads, public service entities, and specific personal property of air carrier and rail car line 

companies, which are assessed by the Property Tax Administrator.  

 

The valuation of real property is determined according to mass appraisal techniques, including 

but not limited to the following: (1) comparing sales of properties with known or recognized 

values, taking into account location, zoning, and current functional use (also known as the sales 

comparison approach); (2) the income approach; and (3) the cost approach. The valuation of 

personal property is determined using a statutory method of depreciated values similar to the 

Federal Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System and 150 percent declining balance 

depreciation schedules.  

 

All real property is assessed at or near 100 percent of actual value (except agricultural and 

horticultural land, which is assessed at or near 75 percent of actual value, and agricultural and 

horticultural land receiving special valuation pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §77-1344, which is 

assessed at 75 percent of its special value with is the value of the land for agricultural and 

horticultural purposes). Personal property is assessed at 100 percent of the net book taxable value 

as determined by the statutory method. 

 

Permissive exemptions are allowed for certain organizations such as religious, charitable, 

educational, and agricultural societies pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §77-202. The organization 

must file an application for exemption of real and/or personal property and final approval is 

made by the county board.  

 

There is an exemption for certain business personal property belonging to qualifying companies 

under Nebraska’s tax incentive programs, the Employment and Investment Growth Act and the 

Nebraska Advantage Act.  

 

For individuals, there is the homestead exemption program designed to provide local property 

tax relief to qualifying elderly and disabled individuals who own and live in the home for which 

an exemption application is made. The exemption applies to all or part of the property taxes 

levied against the home, with the state reimbursing local governments from general fund 

revenues for those taxes exempted under the program.  

 

Between January 1 and March 19 of each year, the assessor updates and revises the real property 

assessment roll. Each year between early April and May 15 the Tax Equalization and Review 

Commission has the authority to adjust by a percentage the valuation of classes or subclasses of 

real property in any county in order to achieve equalization of property values. Decisions of the 

Tax Equalization and Review Commission may be appealed to the Nebraska Court of Appeals. 



 

NE Dept. of Revenue PAD 2008 Annual Report  21 

 

The assessor revises the real property assessment rolls for any orders issued by the Tax 

Equalization and Review Commission and notifies property owners of value increases or 

decreases by June 1. Individual protests of real property valuations may be made to the county 

board of equalization. The county board of equalization may adjust the protested value of 

individual properties. Decisions of the county board of equalization may be appealed to the Tax 

Equalization and Review Commission. 

 

Personal property is self reported by the taxpayer on or before May 1. If the assessor makes 

changes to the reported valuation a notice must be sent to the taxpayer. The action may be 

appealed to the county board of equalization. 

 

On or before August 10, the Tax Equalization and Review Commission shall equalize the real 

property of centrally assessed railroad and public service companies with the statewide level of 

assessment. The Property Tax Administrator certifies centrally assessed values to the counties. 

 

On or before August 20, the assessor compiles and certifies the total taxable value (real, 

personal, and centrally assessed) to each local government taxing subdivision for rate setting 

purposes. 

 

Each year, on or before October 15, the county board of equalization levies the necessary taxes, 

within the limits of the law, for operation of all functions of county government, school districts, 

cities, etc.  The tax rates for these various local government taxing subdivisions are determined 

by dividing the subdivision's annual tax request by the current total taxable value within their 

boundaries.  The tax rates are expressed as $1 per $100 dollars of taxable value. 

 

Property taxes are determined by multiplying the property’s taxable value by the total 

consolidated tax rate for the tax district in which the property is located.  The tax district is 

comprised of various governing bodies empowered to levy property taxes for services, such as 

county government, school district, city, etc. 

 

On or before November 22, the assessor transcribes the real property tax list and delivers it to the 

county treasurer for collection of property taxes. All real and personal property taxes, including 

taxes of centrally assessed railroad and public service companies, are due December 31.  The 

first half of the tax becomes delinquent on the following May 1 and the second half becomes 

delinquent on September 1, except in Douglas, Lancaster, and Sarpy counties, where the first 

half is delinquent on April 1 and second half becomes delinquent on August 1. 

 


