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NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, PROPERTY ASSESSMENT DIVISION 

 

2015 Nebraska Legislative Changes 

 

 

Real Property Appraiser Act (LB 139 – Operative Date: August 30, 2015). Eliminates 

inconsistencies in the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Act (Act) and harmonizes the Act with 

federally-imposed requirements. There is a one-year moratorium on enforcement action of the 

Act against mass appraisals done under the authority of the county assessor by employees or 

independent contractors. 

 

Personal Property Tax Relief Act (LB 259 – Operative Date: January 1, 2016). Exempts the 

first $10,000 of personal property for each personal property tax return filed with a county 

assessor.  Failure to timely report tangible personal property is a forfeiture of the exemption for 

that year. County assessors will be required to electronically file a personal property abstract on 

or before July 20 of each year with the Property Tax Administrator. A compensating exemption 

factor will be applied to the value of centrally assessed companies to determine the property tax 

exemption for those companies.  

On or before November 30, the county assessor and county treasurer will be required to file a 

Personal Property Tax Loss Summary Certificate with the Tax Commissioner for reimbursement 

of tax loss related to the exemption.  The Tax Commissioner will determine the personal 

property exempt value and tax loss for centrally assessed companies and distribute that 

reimbursement to the county treasurers according to distribution formulas established by the bill.  

Correction of Centrally Assessed Errors (LB 260 – Operative Date: March 6, 2015). Allows 

the Property Tax Administrator to make corrections of errors affecting the value of centrally 

assessed companies within three years of that value being certified to counties, or tax being 

distributed to counties. 

 

Equalization Adjustment for Air Carriers (LB 261 – Operative Date: August 30, 2015 and 

January 1, 2016). Eliminates obsolete provisions relating to the Property Tax Administrator 

assuming the assessment function in counties. This bill also provides for the equalization 

adjustment for air carriers required by the Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982 

(TEFRA), a federal law which extends the same equalization protection to air carriers that is 

provided for rail transportation properties under the 4R Act. Other sections of this bill are part of 

the Department of Revenue's omnibus bill. 

 

Liens for Special Assessments Made By SIDs (LB 277- Operative Date: August 30, 2015). 

Provides that any county treasurer’s tax deed that has been issued will remain subject to any liens 

for special assessments made by sanitary and improvement districts. 

 

Levy Limits for Fire Districts (LB 325 – Operative Date: July 1, 2016). Restores property tax 

levy authority to fire protection districts if the fire district is located in a county that in the 
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previous year had a levy of at least 40 cents or the county did not authorize any levy authority to 

the fire districts in the previous year. 

 

Rent-restricted Housing (LB 356 – Operative Date: August 30, 2015). Requires use of the 

income approach in valuing rent-restricted housing projects, which are projects consisting of five 

or more houses or residential units receiving an allocation of federal low-income housing tax 

credits under Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code. This bill also establishes the Rent-

Restricted Housing Projects Valuation Committee (Committee). The Committee will develop a 

market-derived capitalization rate to be used by county assessors when using the income 

approach to value rent-restricted housing projects. The Committee may determine a different 

capitalization rate for different areas of the state if it is deemed appropriate. The owner of a rent-

restricted housing project must file an income and expense statement with both the Committee 

and the county assessor on or before October 1 of each year. If the statement is not timely filed, 

the county assessor may use any professionally accepted mass appraisal technique for 

determining actual value of the property. If actual value is not achieved using the income 

approach, the county assessor may present these findings to the county board of equalization, 

which may petition the Tax Equalization and Review Commission (Commission) no later than 

January 31 of each year for use of another professional accepted mass appraisal technique in 

determining actual value. The Tax Commissioner may also file a similar petition with the 

Commission. 

 

Fraternal Benefit Societies Exempt from Property Tax (LB 414 – Operative Date:  January 1, 

2016). Includes fraternal benefit societies (as organized and licensed under Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 

44-1072 to 44-10,109) in the definition of “charitable organization.” Such organizations are 

exempt from property taxes pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-202. 

 

Nameplate Capacity Tax (LB 424 – Operative Date: January 1, 2016). Expands the nameplate 

capacity tax to include any depreciable tangible personal property used directly in the generation 

of electricity using solar, biomass, or landfill gas as the fuel source and has a nameplate capacity 

of 100 kW or more. Depreciable tangible personal property subject to the nameplate capacity tax 

is exempt from property tax. 

 

Tax Incentive Programs Audit Required (LB 538 – Operative Date: August 30, 2015). 

Requires audits of tax incentive programs under the Legislative Performance Audit Act and 

changes tax incentive sunset dates.  It also requires the Legislative Performance Audit Office to 

conduct a performance audit of each tax incentive program at least every three years.  Auditors 

will analyze the economic and fiscal impacts of the tax incentive programs. 

 

Homestead Exemption (LB 591 – Operative Date: January 1, 2016). Includes any carryforward 

of a net operating loss when deducted for federal income tax purposes in the definition of 

household income for the homestead exemption. 

 

Property Tax Credit Act, Funding Increased (LB 657 – Operative Date:  July 1, 2015). 

Provides property tax relief in the amount of $204 million for tax years 2015 and 2016. 
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