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Nebraska Department of

REVENUE DIRECTIVE 15-4

Supersedes Directive 14-1

July 1, 2015

Real Property Tax Credit and
Tax Statements for 2015 and 2016

Purpose. This directive advises county assessors and treasurers of their responsibilities for
implementing the Property Tax Credit Act (Act), Neb. Rev. Stat. 88§ 77-4209 through 77-4212. The
Act provides a real property tax credit (credit) based on the valuation of each parcel of real property
compared to the valuation of all real property in the state. The Act has been funded for two
additional years (LB 657). The total amount of the credit available for statewide distribution is $204
million for year 2015 and $204 million for year 2016.

Procedure and Implementation. The credit must be computed and displayed on the tax list of the
county as prepared by the county assessor or county clerk, pursuant to 8 77-1613 and 8§ 77-1615.
The credit amount must be displayed on the tax statement as a credit, as provided by 8 77-4212(1).
Tax statements are required to display the amount of taxes levied by each political subdivision for
the current year and for the immediate past year on the same parcel, pursuant to 8§ 77-1704.01(1).
The credit cannot be netted against the taxes levied, but must be shown as a credit to the taxes
levied on the tax statement, similar to homestead exemption tax loss amounts in § 77-3509.03.

The credit is applicable to all taxable real property parcels.

e If the real property owner qualifies for a homestead exemption, the homestead owner also
qualifies for the credit to the extent of any remaining liability after applying the
homestead exemption.

e Thecreditis applicable to the total value of a real property parcel that is part of a community
redevelopment project (TIF) which includes both the base and excess valuations.

e Thecreditis applicable to the real property portion of centrally assessed railroads and public
service entities. For centrally assessed companies recorded on the tax list by individual taxing
subdivision, the credit is determined by the county’s total real property value for each
company (for example, each railroad branch line or each public service entity). The total
credit is then apportioned to the respective individual taxing subdivisions based upon the
company’s real property taxes levied computed for each subdivision compared to the total
real property taxes levied for the company. If a centrally assessed company’s value is 100%
personal property, no credit will be received.

e The creditis applicable to the real property value as adjusted by any tax list correction made
to the tax list for years 2015 and 2016.


http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/search_range_statute.php?begin_section=77-4209&end_section=77-4212
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/search_range_statute.php?begin_section=77-1613&end_section=77-1615
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-4212
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-1704.01
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-3509.03
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e The credit is not applicable to real property parcels acquired by the Nebraska Game and
Parks Commission for wildlife habitat and subject to the in lieu of tax, pursuant to § 37-335.

The Property Tax Administrator, county assessor, and county treasurer must take the following five
steps to properly administer the credit. Note: the valuation amounts used in these examples do not
reflect actual certified numbers.

Step 1 — County’s Share of Credit. By September 15, the Property Tax Administrator must
determine the credit amount to be disbursed to each county. The amount disbursed to the counties is
equal to the amount available for disbursement -- $204 million in year 2015 and $204 million in year
2016, multiplied by the ratio of the total real property valuation in the county to the total real
property valuation in the state eligible for the credit. The Property Tax Administrator certifies the
credit amounts to the State Treasurer and the county on or before September 15. The
disbursements to the counties occur in two equal payments: the first, on or before January 31; and the
second, on or before April 1 of years 2016 and 2017, respectively.

Example 1 — Determine the credit amount to be disbursed to each county.

State’s total real property value $215 billion
County’s total real property value $2.5 billion
Amount available for disbursement $204 million

County’s real property value as a percent
of the state’s total real property value
$2.5 billion divided by $215 billion =.0116279

County’s share of credit

$204 million multiplied by .0116279 = $2,372,092

Step 2 — Credit per Parcel Calculation. The county treasurer will then determine the amount of
credit for each parcel in the county based on the ratio of the valuation of the real property parcel to
the total real property valuation in the county. For ease of administration, the credit for each real
property parcel may be determined by using the state’s uniform “rate of credit” as determined by the
Property Tax Administrator. The rate of credit is calculated by taking $204 million divided by the
total real property value in the state eligible for the credit.


http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=37-335
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Example 2A — Determine the amount of credit for each parcel in the county based on the ratio of
valuation of the real property parcel to the total real property valuation in the county.

Real property parcel’s value $100,000
County’s total real property value $2.5 billion

Real property parcel’s value as a percent
of the county’s total real property value

$100,000 divided by $2.5 billion = .00004

Real property parcel’s share of
the county’s credit

$2,372,092 multiplied by .00004 = $94.88

Example 2B — Alternative method. Determine the “rate of credit” for each parcel by taking the
amount of credit money available divided by the total real property value eligible for the credit, for
either the county or the state.

County’s rate of credit
County’s share of credit is $2,372,092
Divide it by the county’s total real property value of $2.5 billion =|.0009488

State’s rate of credit
State’s credit is $204 million.
Divide it by the state’s total real property value of $215 billion = 0009488

Both examples 2A and 2B indicate $94.88 credit per $100,000 of value.

Step 3 — Homestead Exemption. If the real property owner qualifies for a homestead exemption
under 88 77-3501 to 77-3529, the homestead owner also qualifies for the credit to the extent of any
remaining liability after the homestead exemption is applied. If the credit results in a property tax
liability on the homestead that is less than zero, the amount of the credit which cannot be used
by the taxpayer must be returned by the county treasurer to the State Treasurer by July 1 of
the year the credit amount was disbursed to the county.

Step 4 — Disbursements. The credit disbursements to the counties occur in two equal payments:
the first, on or before January 31; and the second, on or before April 1 of years 2016 and 2017,
respectively. After retaining one percent of the credit for costs, the county treasurer allocates the
remaining credit to each taxing unit that levies taxes on taxable property in the tax district where the
real property is located. This allocation is done in the same proportion that the levy of each taxing
unit bears to the total levy on taxable property of all the taxing units in the tax district where the real

property is located, § 77-4212(4).


http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/search_range_statute.php?begin_section=77-3501&end_section=77-3529
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-4212
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Step 5 — Tax List Corrections. For tax list corrections that occur on or before July 1, the county
treasurer should use the unused credit amount to cover those corrections. The amount returned to the
State will be the amount shown on the tax lists as unused credit, plus or minus the corrections on or
before July 1.

After July 1, if additional tax list corrections occur resulting in a need for additional credit amounts
for that tax year, the county treasurer may file a claim form, along with supporting documentation,
with the Risk Management State Claims Board.

See Attachment | for examples of tax due and credit computations.

APPROVED:

Is

Ruth A. Sorensen

Property Tax Administrator

July 1, 2015

APPROVED:

Is

Leonard J. Sloup

Acting Tax Commissioner
July 1, 2015


http://das.nebraska.gov/risk/forms/claim_for_injury_damage.pdf
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Attachment I — Directive 15-4 Examples of tax due and credit computations

Homestead Exemptions

Homestead Example 1. If the parcel’s remaining tax due after the homestead exemption is equal to
or greater than the credit, the parcel gets all of the credit.

Taxable value before homestead exemption $75,000

Homestead value exempted 70,000

Taxable value after homestead exemption 5,000

Tax rate 1.95% or .0195

Tax due prior to homestead $1,462.50 (75,000 x .0195)

Tax exempt due to homestead $1,365.00 (70,000 x .0195)

Tax due after homestead $ 97.50 ( 5,000 x .0195)

Credit $ 71.16 (75,000 x .0009488 rate of credit)
Remaining tax due $ 26.34 (97.50 minus 71.16)

Homestead Example 2. If the credit is larger than the parcel’s remaining tax due after the homestead
exemption, the parcel only receives the portion of the credit that brings its tax bill to zero.

The “unused” portion of the credit is returned to the State Treasurer.

Taxable value before homestead exemption $75,000

Homestead value exempted 74,000

Taxable value after homestead exemption 1,000

Tax rate 1.95% or .0195

Tax due prior to homestead $1,462.50 (75,000 x .0195)

Tax exempt due to homestead $1,443.00 (74,000 x .0195)

Tax due after homestead $ 19.50 ( 1,000 x .0195)

Credit $ 71.16 (75,000 x .0009488 rate of credit)
Credit used to reduce tax due to 0 $ 19.50 (lesser of 19.50 or 71.16)
Remaining tax due $ 0.00 (19.50 minus 19.50)
“Unused” credit to State Treasurer $ 51.66 (71.16 minus 19.50)
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Tax Increment Financing (TIF)

TIF Example 1.

TIF parcel’s base value $5,000

TIF parcel’s excess value 70,000

TIF parcel’s total value 75,000

Tax rate 1.95% or .0195

Tax due on total value $1,462.50 (75,000 x .0195)

Credit for total value $ 71.16 (75,000 x .0009488 rate of credit)
Remaining tax due for parcel $1,391.34 (1,462.50 minus 71.16)

Allocation of TIF taxes for base and excess.

Tax due allocated to base value $97.50
Credit allocated to base value $ 4.74
Remaining tax due on base value $92.76

Tax due allocated to excess value  $1,365.00
Credit allocated to excess value $ 66.42
Remaining tax due on excess value $1,298.58

(5,000 x .0195)
(5,000 x .0009488 rate of credit)
(97.50 minus 4.74)

(70,000 x .0195)
(70,000 x .0009488 rate of credit)
(1,365.00 minus 66.42)



Property Tax Directive 15-4
July 1, 2015
Page 7 of 11

TIF Example 2. TIF parcel with a homestead exemption and the credit.

If areal property parcel in a redevelopment project is granted a homestead exemption, the homestead
exempt value applies to the base value first, and any remaining homestead exempt value applies to
the excess value. The division of the homestead tax loss reimbursement must be proportionate to the
homestead exempt value determined for the base value and excess value (pursuant to Title 350
Nebraska Administrative Code Chapter 18, REG-18-003.03C).

TIF parcel’s base value $ 5,000
TIF parcel’s excess value 70,000
TIF parcel’s total value 75,000
Homestead exempt value 74,000

TIF parcel’s taxable value after homestead 1,000

Homestead exempt value allocated to base 5,000
Homestead exempt value allocated to excess 69,000

Tax rate 1.95% or .0195

Tax due prior to homestead $1,462.50 (75,000 x .0195)

Tax exempt due to homestead $1,443.00 (74,000 x .0195)

Tax due after homestead $ 19.50 (1,000 x.0195)

Credit $ 71.16 (75,000 x .0009488 rate of credit)
Credit used to reduce tax to 0 $ 19.50 (lesser of 19.50 or 71.16)

Tax due after homestead & credit $ 0.00(19.50 minus 19.50)

“Unused” credit to State Treasurer $ 51.66 (71.16 minus 19.50)

Allocation of TIF taxes for base and excess.

Tax due allocated to base value $ 97.50 (5,000 x .0195)

Homestead tax exempt allocated to base $ 97.50 (5,000 of 74,000 exempt value x .0195)
Remaining tax due allocated to base $ 0

Credit allocated to base value $  4.74 (5,000 x .0009488 rate of credit)
“Unused” credit to State Treasurer $ 474

Tax due allocated to excess value $1,365.00 (70,000 x .0195)

Homestead tax exempt allocated to excess $1,345.50 (69,000 of 74,000 exempt value x .0195)
Remaining tax due allocated to excess $ 19.50

Credit allocated to excess value $ 66.42 (70,000 x .0009488 rate of credit)
Credit used to reduce tax due to 0 $ 19.50 (lesser of 19.50 or 66.42)

“Unused” credit to State Treasurer $ 46.92 (66.42 minus 19.50)

Total “unused” credit to State Treasurer $4.74 + $46.92 = $51.66


http://www.revenue.ne.gov/PAD/legal/regs/Chapter18_Community_Redevelopment_Law(TIF)_3-15-2009.pdf
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Railroads and Public Service Entities

Counties use one of two methods to record the centrally assessed property on the tax list, either by
“individual taxing subdivision” or by “consolidated tax district.”

Centrally Assessed Example 1. Credit for centrally assessed property recorded on the tax
list by “individual taxing subdivision.”

First, the “county taxing subdivision’s real property value” for the respective railroad branch line or
public service entity is determined. This is the real property value eligible for the credit. Then,
multiply this countywide value for the company (for example, the railroad branch line or public
service entity) by the state’s rate of credit to determine the total credit. The total credit is then
apportioned to the respective individual taxing subdivisions based upon the company’s real property
taxes levied computed for each subdivision compared to the total real property taxes levied for
the company.

A centrally assessed company’s values are certified to the county by the state below.

Subdivision Total Value Real Value Personal Value
County $11,530,984 $9,431,100 $2,099,884
School District 1 8,593,054 7,322,632 1,630,422
School District 2 2,577,930 2,108,468 469,462
Fire District 1 8,593,054 7,322,632 1,630,422
Fire District 2 2,577,930 2,108,468 469,462
City 347,469 284,192 63,277
Natural Resource District 11,530,984 9,431,100 2,099,884
Educational Service Unit 11,530,984 9,431,100 2,099,884
Community College 11,530,984 9,431,100 2,099,884
Agricultural Society 11,530,984 9,431,100 2,099,884
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Determine the taxes levied for the real property portion of the centrally assessed company and the
percentage each subdivision is to the total real property taxes.

Real Tax Rate Real Property Subdivision’s
Subdivision Property ber Taxes by Real Property Tax
$100 of A % of Total Real
Value Subdivision
Value Property Tax
County $9,431,100 .340 $32,065.74 24.1497%
School District 1 7,322,632 .900 65,903.69 49.6340%
School District 2 2,108,468 1.05 22,138.91 16.6735%
Fire District 1 7,322,632 .035 2,562.92 1.9302%
Fire District 2 2,108,468 .025 527.12 .3970%
City 284,192 .285 809.95 .6100%
Natural Resource District 9,431,100 .023 2,169.15 1.6337%
Educational Service Unit 9,431,100 .015 1,414.67 1.0654%
Community College 9,431,100 .050 4,715.55 3.5514%
Agricultural Society 9,431,100 .005 471.56 .3551%
Total Real Prop. Taxes $132,779.26 100.0000%

Company’s real property value $9,431,100 x .0009488 rate of credit = $8,948.23, company’s total

credit for the county.

The company’s total credit is then apportioned to each individual taxing subdivision based upon the
company’s real property taxes levied by each subdivision compared to the total real property taxes

levied for the company.

Subdivision’s
o Real Property Tax Credit Apportioned
Subdivision % of Total Real to Each Subdivision
Property Tax
County 24.1497% $2,160.98
School District 1 49.6340% 4,441.36
School District 2 16.6735% 1,491.98
Fire District 1 1.9302% 172.72
Fire District 2 .3970% 35.52
City .6100% 54.58
Natural Resource District 1.6337% 145.19
Educational Service Unit 1.0654% 95.33
Community College 3.5514% 317.79
Agricultural Society .3551% 31.78
Company’s Total Credit 100.0000% $8,948.23
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Centrally Assessed Example 2. Credit for centrally assessed property recorded on the tax
list by “consolidated taxing district.”

Consolidated Total Value Real Value Personal Value
Tax District 1 $8,593,054 $7,322,632 $1,630,422
Tax District 2 2,577,930 2,108,468 469,462
Total Taxable Value 11,530,984 9,431,100 2,099,884
Tax District 1 real property value 7,322,632 x .0009488 rate of credit =$6,947.71
Tax District 2 real property value 2,108,468 x .0009488 rate of credit =$ 2,000.52
Company’s total credit =$8,948.23

Reminder: If a centrally assessed company’s value is 100% personal property, with no real
property, no credit will be received.
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Accelerated Tax on Real Property Parcels (Mobile Homes)

Example 1. Mobile home is sold and the acceleration of tax is done in August 2015.

This scenario involves a mobile home with a 2015 value with the 2015 taxes accelerated or
calculated at the 2014 tax rate. The purpose of the Act is to provide property tax relief for
property taxes levied against real property for tax years 2015 and 2016. Here, the 2015
accelerated real property taxes were collected prior to the certification of the rate of credit on
September 15. If the owner of the mobile home desires to receive the 2015 credit for the accelerated
2015 taxes paid, a written claim must be made to the county treasurer, within two years from the date
the tax was due, requesting a refund pursuant to § 77-1734.01.

Example 2. Mobile home is sold and the acceleration of tax is done in February 2016.

In this scenario, the mobile home is listed on the 2015 tax list and the 2015 credit should already be
reflected for the 2015 taxes due. In February of 2016, this mobile home has a 2016 assessed value
with the 2016 taxes being accelerated or calculated at the 2015 tax rate. The 2016 rate of credit will
not be determined until September 15, 2016; therefore, a 2016 credit amount cannot be calculated as
of February. However, the taxpayer may be informed that after September 15, 2016, a written claim
may be made to the county treasurer, within two years from the date the tax was due, requesting a
refund pursuant to § 77-1734.01.

Example 3. Mobile home is sold and the acceleration of tax is done in February 2017.

In this scenario, the mobile home is listed on the 2016 tax list and the 2016 credit should already be
reflected for the 2016 taxes due. In February of 2017, this mobile home has a 2017 assessed value
with the 2017 taxes being accelerated or calculated at the 2016 tax rate. The Act is for property taxes
levied against real property for years 2015 and 2016. The 2017 accelerated taxes are not eligible for a
credit unless legislative changes are enacted to extend the credit to other tax years.



http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-1734.01
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-1734.01
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